December 6, 2023


NEWS RELEASE:                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Contacts:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                                                                                        Senator Robert Cowles – (608) 266-0484

                                                                                                                                                                                    Representative Cindi Duchow – (608) 237-9199


Representative Duchow, Senator Cowles

Celebrate Signing of 2023 Wisconsin Act 43


MADISON – Representative Cindi Duchow (R-Delafield) and Senator Robert Cowles (R-Green Bay) released the following statement after the Governor signed Senate Bill 60, which they authored, into law today as 2023 Wisconsin Act 43:

 “This change in law helps grieving families worry about one less thing.” said Rep. Duchow. “Think of the classic car that they worked on with their fathers, or a grandchild getting their first car so they can go off to college – these individuals wanted to bless their families, not stick them with one more government tax.”

“Among the costs imposed by funeral services, accountants, and lawyers, the death of a loved one can be financially taxing on families as they settle their affairs. I faced a situation similar to this myself, and can understand the frustration Wisconsin’s families go through in the transfer of a vehicle title after a death in the family,” stated Senator Cowles. “Thanks to Act 43, families in mourning won’t have to worry about paying additional fees to the state when they are placed in an emotionally difficult situation.”

Under the law prior to today’s action, for a vehicle to be transferred out of the name of a deceased individual, the new owner must pay a $157 certificate title transfer fee, as well as a $7.50 supplemental fee. These two fees would be waived if the vehicle is transferred to the spouse or domestic partner of the deceased individual. Act 43 extends the waiving of the fees to all immediate family members, including siblings, parents and grandparents, children and grandchildren, stepparents, and stepchildren, as well as their respective spouses.