May 16th, 2023 

Contact: Sen. Wimberger: (608) 266-5670 / Sen. Cowles: (608) 266-0484

Legislators Introduce PFAS Proposal

MADISON, WI – Senator Eric Wimberger (R-Green Bay) and Senator Rob Cowles (R-Green Bay) issued the following statement after releasing legislation to address PFAS contamination in the state: 

“Since I have taken office PFAS, and addressing the ramifications of DNR-authorized, PFAS-contaminated biosolid spreading, has been a top priority of mine,” said Wimberger. “This legislation encompasses both short and long-term strategies for our state, local governments and landowners to deal with the financial and regulatory burdens associated with treating PFAS contamination. It also looks forward, laying the groundwork for how Wisconsin can address these substances in the future.”

The legislation introduced includes a PFAS Municipal Grant Program to help municipalities with testing and treatment costs and an Innocent Landowner Grant Program to help ease the cost of necessary well replacement, environmental studies, clean water supplies and more. Other provisions in the bill include efforts to reduce the cost of testing, expedite the cleanup of known contamination sites, kick-off additional studies and streamline the regulatory process for communities looking to address PFAS.

“This legislation is a result of work dating back to our information hearing and well before, and is one of the most complete efforts to address PFAS we’ve seen throughout our entire region,” said Cowles. “Since this issue emerged, we’ve heard from homeowners, local government leaders, business owners, and people who enjoy our great outdoors about how PFAS has impacted them and what they’re concerned about moving ahead. We’ve drafted this bill to directly address those real concerns from Wisconsinites.”


Senator Eric Wimberger represents the 30th Senate District, which includes parts of Brown, Oconto, and Marinette Counties. 

Senator Robert Cowles represents the 2nd Senate District, which includes parts of Brown, Outagamie, Shawano and Waupaca Counties.