Economic Development Governance & Priority Topics of International Visit

(MADISON) - Senator Lena C. Taylor (D-Milwaukee) announced today that her office has been selected by the Legislative Fellows Program of the American Councils in conjunction with the US State Department for a legislative exchange with the Republic of Armenia.  The Legislative Fellows Program was created in 2005 to promote learning and training in the American political process and legislative procedure.  Sen. Taylor’s chief of staff, Eric Peterson, will travel to Armenia in May for the outbound portion of the exchange.  Taylor’s office hosted Paruyr Jangulyan, the head of Regulatory Management Division of the Ministry of Economy for Armenia in October and November in Madison.

“I am very proud that our office was able to host Dr. Jangulyan this past fall and promote a better understanding of Wisconsin’s legislative and political processes.  In May, my chief of staff, Eric Peterson, will travel to Armenia, to spend time working with members of Parliament, their staff, ministers of agencies, and senior level managers on effective governance issues.  It is a testament to the work that my office has engaged in to be selected for this prestigious honor and I look forward to continuing working with this exchange in the future.”  Senator Taylor commented on the announcement.

Peterson will work closely with Dr. Jangulyan and others in Armenia on issues related to the economic development agencies role in effective policy making.  This would include better economic impact statements for proposed legislation as well post enactment economic reporting.  In addition, considerable time will be given to exploring different models of economic development agencies & governance, such as Wisconsin’s WEDC and other states public and quasi-public models.  The exchange is slated to begin May 13th of this year.

More information about the Legislative Fellows Program is available at:  Taylor’s office will post information about the exchange in real time at

Madison Office - 608-266-5810

Room 5, South Wing
State Capitol , P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882