Lassa, Shankland honor UWSP, SPASH basketball seasons

By Nathan Vine, Stevens Point Journal

MADISON – Two local basketball teams will be honored by the Wisconsin Legislature for bringing championship trophies home to Stevens Point.
Sen. Julie Lassa, D-Stevens Point, and Rep. Katrina Shankland, D-Stevens Point, introduced joint resolutions on Thursday congratulating the basketball teams of the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and Stevens Point Area Senior High for their 2014-15 seasons.
"The UWSP men and SPASH boys made Stevens Point the new 'Titletown' this season, and it's a privilege to be able to tout their accomplishments before the entire State Legislature," Lassa said. "These two fine groups of student athletes have brought honor to their schools, our community, and our state."
The UWSP men's basketball team won the NCAA Division III national championship, becoming one of only four collegiate programs to have won four Division III championships in men's basketball. The Pointers finished the season with a 27−5 record, won all but one of their NCAA tournament games by a double−digit margin, and ended the season ranked first in the Division III poll.
The SPASH boys basketball team won the WIAA Division 1 state championship, their first since 1994. The Panthers finished the season with a 27−1 record, including a 12−0 record in the Wisconsin Valley Conference. The team set a state tournament record with 11 three−pointers in the semifinal game.
"We, along with the Stevens Point community, were excited to follow the Pointers and the Panthers during their seasons and cheer for them in the championship games," said Rep. Shankland. "These teams made their hometown proud and soon the entire Wisconsin State Legislature will join us in recognizing their successes."