Skip to main content Skip to footer

Historic Shared Revenue Bill Passes Assembly

Madison – Rep. Joy Goeben (R-Hobart) voted yes on legislation aiding local governments.

“After listening to my constituents, and after numerous meetings with officials from towns and villages thoughout District 5, I heard again and again – ‘fix shared revenue!’ Yesterday, I helped to do just that. This bill makes historic investments in local government,” Rep. Goeben said. “The legislation focuses on public safety and also innovation by directing funds to help every rural community town, village, and city in Wisconsin meet their financial challenges of the next decade, and beyond.”

The legislation voted on today is the largest increase in state history for shared revenue, with every local government seeing at least a 10% increase in shared revenue, with many receiving much more.

The state will allocate a significant portion of funds to support law enforcement, fire, EMS, public works, and transportation in smaller communities. Additionally the state is providing financial incentives to local governments who work together to provide services more efficiently by sharing their resources, encouraging efficiencies, cost savings, and consolidation of services where it makes sense to do so.

“The bill contains numerous other provisions, but my focus was on addressing the needs of the communities in my district with their financial concerns.” She continued, “Public safety has been, and continues to be, a top priority for me.” said Rep Goeben, “Last night, I voted “yes” to make sure we keep our communities safe, ensuring that EMS, Fire, and law enforcement services will be properly maintained and not subject to cuts, especially in the rural areas of my district, and across Wisconsin.”

The bill now heads to the state Senate for consideration.



The 5th Assembly District encompasses portions of Outagamie and Brown Counties, including the communities of Hobart, Kaukauna, Freedom, Ashwaubenon, and Little Chute.