

N LEGISLA]

P. O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707-7882

January 31, 2023

DELIVERED ELECTRONICALLY

Senator Devin LeMahieu Room 211 South State Capitol

Dear Majority Leader LeMahieu,

Today, we are calling on you to remove Bob Spindell from his position on the Wisconsin Elections Commission. Bob Spindell has been provided ample time to resign, but instead he has doubled down on his anti-democratic rhetoric, making it even more clear that he is unqualified to serve as a commissioner.

As you know, it recently surfaced that Bob Spindell considered lower voting rates among Black and Hispanic people a political victory. Free, fair, and accessible elections are a cornerstone of our democracy and anyone celebrating successful voter suppression efforts, especially in one of Wisconsin's most diverse cities, is clearly unfit to serve on the Wisconsin Elections Commission.

Spindell does not reflect Wisconsin's values and is actively working to thwart our democratic ways, and as Senator Johnson stated on January 18, we should not have to request that you remove Spindell from the Commission.

As Senate Majority Leader, you have the power and responsibility to ensure that your appointee to the Wisconsin Elections Commission will fairly administer our state's election laws. Spindell's words and actions show that, unfortunately, he is not able to do so. There are a great number of Republicans who believe in democracy and will work to ensure that eligible voters are able to fairly cast their ballots. Now is the time for you to appoint one of them to the Wisconsin Elections Commission in Spindell's place.

Spindell's motives are clear and for the sake of our democracy, he has no business serving on the commission charged with administering Wisconsin's elections. We request that you use the power delegated to you as Senate Majority Leader to immediately remove Bob Spindell from the Wisconsin Elections Commission.

Thank you for your consideration of this request, and we look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Senator Melissa Agard

Senator Chris Larson

Mark Spr Senator Mark Spreitzer

Senator Tim Carpenter

Senator Dianne Hesselbein

Senator Kelda Ro

Senator LaTonya Johnson

Senator Bob Wirch

Senator

Senator Lena Taylor