Senator Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse)
Senate District 32


Jennifer Shilling is serving her first full term as the State Senator for the 32nd Senate District after being elected in a 2011 special election. She previously served as the State Representative for the 95th Assembly District and worked as a legislative aide to State Representative Mark Meyer and Congressman Ron Kind. She is a proud graduate of UW-La Crosse and a former La Crosse County Supervisor.

Jennifer was elected by her colleagues as the Senate Democratic Leader. She has served as a ranking member on the Joint Committee on Finance, which is primarily responsible for crafting the state's biennial budget and reviewing state appropriations and revenues. She has also served on the Senate Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications and the ranking Democratic member of the Senate Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges.

Locally, Jennifer serves as a member of the UW-La Crosse Alumni Association Board of Directors (past President), the UW-La Crosse Chancellor’s Community Council, the La Crosse Area Habitat for Humanity Women Build (Honorary Chairwoman), the La Crosse Area Chamber of Commerce, the La Crosse County Local Emergency Planning Committee, the La Crosse County League of Women Voters, the La Crosse County Democratic Party, the Vernon Women’s Alliance, and the Viroqua Chamber Main Street.

Jennifer is also the recipient of numerous awards, including these honors:


  • 2015 Friend of Family Farmers from the Wisconsin Farmers Union
  • 2014 Legislator of the Year Award from the Wisconsin Child Support Enforcement Association
  • 2014 Environmental Champion Award from the Sierra Club
  • 2014 Conservation Champion from Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
  • 2014 Friend of Family Medicine Award from the Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
  • 2014 Government Leadership Award from the Wisconsin Rehabilitation Association 
  • 2013 Children’s Champion of Policy from the Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
  • 2012 Friend of Housing Award from the Wisconsin Builders Association
  • 2011 Wisconsin Dental Association Dental Academy Award
  • 2010 Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters Conservation Champion Award
  • 2010 La Crosse Area Development Corporation Triangle of Achievement Award
  • 2010 Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists Excellence in Government Award
  • 2010 UW-La Crosse Student Association Advocate of the Year Award
  • 2010 Wisconsin Counties Association Friend of County Government Award
  • 2010 Ken Kolb Great Kids Start With You Award
  • 2009 UW-La Crosse Alumni Association Rada Distinguished Alumni Award
  • 2009 Cancer Control Champion Award from the Wisconsin Cancer Council
  • 2007 Wisconsin Dental Association President's Award of Honor
  • 2007 Independent Living Legislative Advocacy Award
  • 2006 Friend of Agriculture Award from the Wisconsin Farm Bureau
  • 2006 La Crosse County Conservation Alliance Outstanding Leadership in Conservation Award
  • 2006 Gaylord Nelson Human Services Award from the Wisconsin Community Action Program Association
  • 2006 Scales of Justice Award from the State Bar Association
  • 2004 YWCA Outstanding Government Achievement Award
  • 2003 Phi Delta Kappa Education Award for Lay Contributor of the Year
  • 2003 Domestic Violence Diva Award from the Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence




Follow Senator Jennifer Shilling:

Contact Senator Jennifer Shilling

Phone: (608)266-5490
District Phone: (608)782-2785