Statement on Senate Democratic Leadership Election


MADISON, WI – Wisconsin Senate Democrats gathered to elect leaders for the 2019-20 legislative session. Sen. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse) released the following statement after being re-elected Senate Democratic Leader:


“I am honored that my colleagues have once again entrusted me with the responsibility of serving as Senate Democratic Leader. After years of single-party control, Senate Democrats are ready to usher in a new era of Democratic leadership with Governor-elect Tony Evers, Lieutenant Governor-elect Mandela Barnes, and Attorney General-elect Josh Kaul. Today begins a new chapter.


“I am excited to work with all of my colleagues in the Senate and continue serving as a strong voice for the values and ideals of Wisconsin’s hardworking families. Now more than ever, we need to fight for quality schools, safe roads and strong communities. From childcare assistance and student loan debt relief to tax fairness and protecting coverage for preexisting conditions, Democrats will continue to push for solutions to grow our middle class, encourage innovation and expand economic opportunities.”


In addition to unanimously electing Sen. Jennifer Shilling as the Senate Democratic Leader, the following senators were unanimously elected to Democratic leadership posts: Assistant Leader Sen. Janet Bewley (D-Delta), Caucus Chair Sen. Mark Miller (D-Monona) and Caucus Vice-Chair Sen. Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville).