Miller, Mason Introduce Water Sustainability Act 

Madison – Today Senator Mark Miller (D-Monona) and Representative Cory Mason (D-Racine), along with a long list of co-authors and supporters, introduced the Water Sustainability Act.


“We have a responsibility to develop sustainable environmental policies that ensure our precious natural resources will be around for future generations.  Businesses, homeowners, and municipalities all rely on groundwater resources to thrive in daily life,” said Representative Mason.


We know that our water supplies are not infinite. In some parts of the state, over use of groundwater is drying up rivers and lakes. This bill would establish a way for all users of our resources to have sustainable access to our water ensuring that our rivers and lakes are available not just for today, but for future users as well.


“In the Central Sands, we are facing a water crisis,” said Bob Clarke, President of Friends of the Central Sands. “The Water Sustainability Act offers a scientific approach to managing our resources.” 


Current laws and regulations are inadequate to protect the public resource and to reduce conflict. Court decisions that direct the Department of Natural Resources to protect the waters of the state have been ignored by the Walker Administration. 


“The Legislature needs to act now. The science exists for Wisconsin manage our water resources so the reasonable use doctrine is fully realized; that every person has a right to use water but not to the point where it denies others,” added Senator Miller.


Organizations that support the legislation include Friends of the Central Sands, River Alliance of Wisconsin, The Nature Conservancy, Clean Wisconsin, Wisconsin Wildlife Federation, Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters, Sierra Club John Muir Chapter and Wisconsin Lakes.


Legislative authors include Senators Mark Miller, Chris Larson, Dave Hansen, Kathleen Vinehout, Janis Ringhand, Bob Wirch and Representatives Cory Mason, Gary Hebl, Nick Milroy, Sondy Pope, Jill Billings, Amanda Stuck, Josh Zepnick, Lisa Subeck, Evan Goyke, Chris Taylor, Tod Ohnstad, David Crowley, Dana Wachs, Dave Considine, Debra Kolste, Eric Genrich, Jonathan Brostoff, Terese Berceau, Melissa Sargent, Gordon Hintz, Christine Sinicki, Jimmy Anderson, Mark Spreitzer, and David Bowen.


LRB 1902/1 & 1170/1, the Water Sustainability Act, is circulating in the Legislature for co-sponsorship until Friday, January 20, 2016.