

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 20, 2025

Contact: Sen. Pfaff 608.266.5490

Senator Pfaff Introduces Right to Repair Legislation

Madison, WI – Today, State Senator Brad Pfaff (D-Onalaska) and State Representative Jenna Jacobson (D-Oregon) introduced Right to Repair legislation to support Wisconsin farmers. This consumer protection proposal creates a right to repair agricultural equipment by requiring manufacturers to make things like repair documentation, data, parts, and necessary tools available to owners and independent servicers at fair costs and terms—without surrendering trade secrets that would harm the manufacturers' legitimate intellectual property rights. The bill is limited to agricultural equipment and protects manufacturers from liability for repair conducted by owners or their independent service providers.

"Wisconsin farmers deserve the right to repair their own equipment or do business with the mechanic of their choosing," **said Senator Pfaff.** "This is about making sure our farmers can do what is best for them and their situation without unnecessary restrictions by large manufacturers. By opening up these monopolistic repair arrangements, Wisconsin can support farmers struggling with rising costs, increase competition among service providers, and create jobs in our local communities."

This Right to Repair legislation is also supported by the Wisconsin Farmers Union:

"Farmers Union members have spoken out time and again that the lack of repair options is hurting their bottom line. Wisconsin Farmers Union supports Fair Repair and Right to Repair legislation that would allow farmers and independent mechanics access to diagnostic software, information, and other tools in order to repair modern equipment. We need to address the monopoly crisis in agriculture and to promote fair and competitive markets. Farmers deserve the Right to Repair their own equipment."

- Darin Von Ruden, President of Wisconsin Farmers Union

###

Senator Brad Pfaff represents the 32nd Senate District, which includes La Crosse County, Vernon County, and parts of Monroe and Trempealeau County.