

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 17th, 2021

Contact: Senator Pfaff, (608) 266-5490

Sen. Pfaff, Village President Purvis, announce Disaster Recovery Grant award for Village of La Farge

(**La Farge, WI**)—This morning, Senator Brad Pfaff (D-Onalaska) and Village President Cheryl Purvis announced that the Village of La Farge will receive up to \$628,556 as part of the 2021 Community Development Block Grant for Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) Project. This grant will support long-term recovery from flood damage.

Following the announcement, **Sen. Pfaff said**, "When natural disasters hit rural communities, neighbors pull together and rebuild. La Farge residents have shown incredible resilience, and I am pleased that these funds are available to assist with recovery."

"This money will be used prudently to meet the village's needs by the people who understand the situation best—folks who live and work here."

Village President Cheryl Purvis said, "As a small low-income community located along the Kickapoo River, we have lost just under 30 homes since 2008 due to several flooding events. This grant will help us to start rebuilding much-needed affordable housing."

CDBG-DR funds are distributed by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and made available through the Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA).

###

Senator Brad Pfaff represents the 32nd Senate District, which includes La Crosse, Vernon, Crawford, and southern Monroe County.