MADISON – Senator Jeff Smith (D-Brunswick) congratulated Senator-elect Dianne Hesselbein and Senator-elect Mark Spreitzer for winning their senate elections and joining as new members of the Senate Democratic Caucus.

Sen. Smith offered additional congratulations to Senate Democratic Leader Melissa Agard (D-Madison), Senate Democratic Caucus Chair Chris Larson (D-Milwaukee) and Senate Democratic Vice Caucus Chair Dianne Hesselbein (D-Middleton) on their leadership elections today. Senator Smith was also elected as Senate Democratic Assistant Leader. 

“Our new Senate Democratic leadership team is an incredible mix of talent. I look forward to being part of a team that is dedicated to advancing our Democratic agenda and supporting Governor Tony Evers (D).”

“Our caucus is unified and focused to preserve voting rights, support public education, protect our environment and help working families prosper. We have a lot of work to do and a great team to do it.”