November 29, 2016


Iowa County Is First Certified Broadband Forward! County

Madison, WI — State Senator Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green) joined Angie Dickison, State Broadband Director, to present Iowa County with official Broadband Forward! certification today.  Iowa County is the first county in Wisconsin to achieve this certification.

“I am proud that Iowa county is the first county to be certified through the Broadband Forward! program,” Marklein said. “This legislation was an important first step to help communities demonstrate willingness and preparation to partner with telecommunications companies. Broadband Forward! communities are ready and eager for investment.”

Governor Scott Walker signed The Broadband Forward! Community certification bill into law as 2015 Act 278 on March 24, 2016.  Sen. Marklein authored Senate Bill (SB) 699, the companion bill to Assembly Bill (AB) 820 which was signed into law. AB 820 was co-authored by Representative Todd Novak (R-Dodgeville), Representative Ed Brooks (R-Reedsburg) and Representative Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City).

Broadband Forward! certification distinguishes a municipality or county as supportive of increased broadband access by taking steps to reduce obstacles for private and public investment.  Steps to certification include adopting a model ordinance that streamlines administrative procedures by appointing a single point of contact for all matters relating to a broadband network project, adhering to a timely approval process, charging only reasonable fees for reviewing applications and issuing permits, imposing only reasonable conditions on a permit and not discriminating between telecommunications service providers.

“I encourage rural Wisconsin communities to review the Broadband Forward! certification process and consult with their local telecommunications providers,” Marklein said. “This certification program may be a very helpful first step in encouraging more investment in broadband infrastructure.”