

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Date: October 26, 2023

Contact: Chandra Munroe, (608) 266-9170

Senator Agard Introduces Firearm Safety Bills with Legislative Democratic Colleagues

MADISON – Today, Senate Democratic Leader Melissa Agard (D-Madison) joins her Legislative Democratic colleagues today in introducing two firearm safety bills to implement a 48 hour waiting period on handgun purchases and create a voluntary self-exclusion program in Wisconsin. These pieces of legislation are in addition to a number of other bills introduced by Legislative Democrats to address gun violence in Wisconsin. Senator Agard released the following statement:

"Every Wisconsinite should have the freedom to live, work, and play without fear of violence. The bills my Democratic colleagues and I are introducing today are crucial towards putting an end to the gun violence epidemic plaguing our state and our nation. We have the power to create a better, safer future for Wisconsin.

"Restoring a 48 hour waiting period on handgun purchases and creating a voluntary self-exclusion program are proven and effective ways to mitigate deaths by firearm. These measures stop individuals from possessing lethal weapons in moments of crisis, preventing suicides and crimes of passion. As legislators, our priority is to keep Wisconsinites safe and secure – doing nothing to curb the devastation and death resulting from inaction on common-sense firearm reforms is not an option.

"Everyone deserves to feel safe in their communities. While one policy will not put an end to gun violence, we must start somewhere to enact comprehensive, life-saving changes. We cannot continue to stand idly by as our community members lose their lives to suicide and gun violence every single day. We must have the courage and political will to do the right thing. We must choose as a society to support policies that save lives."

###

Senator Melissa Agard was elected by her colleagues to serve as Senate Democratic Leader in November of 2022. Senator Agard represents the 16th Senate District, encompassing Sun Prairie, Cottage Grove, Monona, Fitchburg, McFarland, and parts of Madison.