

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 6, 2023 Contact: Rep. Greta Neubauer, (608) 266-0634, Sen. Melissa Agard, (608) 266-9170

Legislative Democrats Condemn GOP Attempt to Subvert Democracy

MADISON, Wis. — In response to the threats made by Speaker Vos and legislative Republicans to impeach Justice Janet Protasiewicz, the Assembly Democratic Caucus and the Senate Democratic Caucus released the following statement:

"Earlier this year, Justice Janet Protasiewicz was elected by the people of Wisconsin. Now, legislative Republicans, in an unprecedented attempt to override the will of voters, are threatening to impeach Justice Protasiewicz before she has the opportunity to hear a single case. Legislative Democrats are united in our opposition to this anti-democratic abuse of power.

"Legislative Republicans have threatened to nullify more than a million votes for a duly elected justice in order to hold onto their power and deny Wisconsinites access to reproductive rights. This is an affront to democracy, and it will not stand.

"Attempting to change the rules to hold onto power is nothing new for Speaker Vos and legislative Republicans, as we've seen through their gerrymandered maps, changes to election law, and lame duck session stripping Governor Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul of their powers. However, this impeachment threat demonstrates that we have not yet reached the limit of their willingness to undermine the core values of our republic.

"We will do everything in our power to prevent this egregious effort to undermine our democracy."

###

Rep. Greta Neubauer Rep. Kalan Haywood Rep. Lisa Subeck Rep. Jill Billings Rep. Clinton Anderson Rep. Jimmy Anderson Rep. Deb Andraca Rep. Samba Baldeh Rep. Mike Bare Rep. Ryan Clancy Rep. Sue Conley Rep. Dave Considine Rep. Steve Doyle Rep. Dora Drake Rep. Jodi Emerson Rep. Evan Goyke Rep. Francesca Hong

Rep. Jenna Jacobson Rep. Alex Joers Rep. Darrin Madison Rep. Tip McGuire Rep. Supreme Moore Omokunde Rep. LaKeshia Myers Rep. Tod Ohnstad Rep. Sylvia Ortiz-Velez Rep. Lori Palmeri Rep. Melissa Ratcliff Rep. Daniel Riemer Rep. Katrina Shankland Rep. Kristina Shelton Rep. Chris Sinicki Rep. Lee Snodgrass Rep. Shelia Stubbs Rep. Robyn Vining

Sen. Melissa Agard Sen. Jeff Smith Sen. Chris Larson Sen. Dianne Hesselbein Sen. Tim Carpenter Sen. LaTonya Johnson Sen. Brad Pfaff Sen. Kelda Roys Sen. Mark Spreitzer Sen. Lena Taylor Sen. Bob Wirch