

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 13, 2023

Contact: Senator Mark Spreitzer, (608) 266-2253 Sen.Spreitzer@legis.wisconsin.gov

Blair Hess, CSG Director of Communications bhess@csg.org press@csg.org

State Senator Mark Spreitzer Selected for 2023 CSG Henry Toll Fellowship

Forty-seven outstanding state leaders were chosen for the national leadership development program for government officials

LEXINGTON, KY - The Council of State Governments (CSG) has announced that Wisconsin State Senator Mark Spreitzer has been selected to participate in the 2023 CSG Henry Toll Fellowship. Bringing together 47 individuals representing 29 of the states and U.S. territories and from all branches of state government, the Henry Toll Fellowship is the nation's premier leadership development program for state government officials.

"I am honored to have been selected to participate in the 2023 Henry Toll Fellowship," said Senator Spreitzer. "I look forward to this unique opportunity to learn with leaders from across the country while sharing new ideas on how we can best serve our communities."

Since 1986, CSG has annually convened a new class of CSG Henry Toll Fellows at its national headquarters in Lexington, Kentucky, for an intensive leadership boot camp. The program's sessions are designed to stimulate personal assessment and growth, empower leaders to collaborate and communicate more effectively, and provide nonpartisan networking and relationship-building opportunities.

"While the CSG Henry Toll Fellows come from every region of our nation, from both political parties and all three branches of state government, they share one thing in common— they are all people of purpose with a passion for public service," said CSG Executive Director/CEO David Adkins, a former Kansas state senator and 1993 CSG Henry Toll Fellow alumnus. "Toll Fellows are selected based on their demonstrated commitment to solve problems, to work collaboratively to get things done, and their belief that state government can and must be a force for good."

15th SENATE DISTRICT

Toll Fellows are nominated by their peers and selected by alumni of the program.

The Fellowship honors the founder of CSG, Henry Toll, who, as a former state senator from Colorado, was the driving force behind the creation of CSG in 1933.

There are more than 1,350 graduates of the Toll Fellowship, including five state/territorial house speakers, three sitting state supreme court justices, 10 sitting members of Congress, five sitting governors and more than 200 Toll alumni currently serving as state/territorial legislators.

Wisconsin State Senator Mark Spreitzer was elected to represent Wisconsin's 15th State Senate District in 2022, after serving 4 terms in the Wisconsin State Assembly. The 15th State Senate District includes parts of Rock, Green, and Dane counties, and includes the communities of Albany, Beloit, Brodhead, Brooklyn, Edgerton, Evansville, Footville, Janesville, Monticello, Orfordville, Oregon, and Stoughton.

###