

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 20, 2024

Contact:

Senator Mark Spreitzer
608-266-2253 or Sen.Spreitzer@legis.wisconsin.gov

**Cody Porter, CSG Press and Communications Manager** *press@csg.org* 

## State Senator Mark Spreitzer to Receive 2024 CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award

MADISON – The Council of State Governments (CSG) has announced that Wisconsin State Senator Mark Spreitzer has been selected as one of 20 state leaders to receive the 2024 CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award. This year's class – representing 16 U.S. states and territories across the nation – is composed of state leaders who exemplify hard work, a dedication to public service, and a commitment to bipartisan and innovative solutions.

"I am delighted and incredibly honored to have been selected to receive this award," said Senator Spreitzer. "I look forward to continuing to learn from and work with other state leaders across the nation to better serve our communities."

"As these exceptional leaders step forward to shape the future of their states, they embody the values that drive our work at The Council of State Governments – civility, collaboration and innovation," said David Adkins, CSG Executive Director/CEO. "The 2024 CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award recipients represent the best of public service, demonstrating that leadership knows no age. Their achievements inspire confidence in the promise of state government to meet the challenges of tomorrow."

CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award recipients are selected from a competitive pool of applicants based on their bipartisan work, leadership, and work within a specific policy area. In addition to being an elected or appointed state official from a U.S. state or territory, nominees must be age 40 or younger on December 31 of the year in which they are selected.

Recipients of the 2024 CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award will be recognized at the CSG National Conference in December 2024 in New Orleans.

## ###

Wisconsin State Senator Mark Spreitzer was elected to represent Wisconsin's 15th State Senate District in 2022, after serving four terms in the Wisconsin State Assembly. The 15th State Senate District includes parts of Rock, Walworth, and Jefferson Counties, and includes the communities of Beloit, Edgerton, Evansville, Footville, Janesville, Milton, Orfordville, and Whitewater. During the 2023-24 legislative session, Senator Spreitzer served as the Senate Democratic Caucus Vice-Chair. In November 2024, Senator Spreitzer was elected by his colleagues to serve as the Democratic Caucus Chair for the 2025-26 legislative session.

## 15th SENATE DISTRICT