

JOAN BALLWEG

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sen. Joan Ballweg

February 15, 2022 (608) 266-0751

## **Senate Advances Legislation Clarifying Housing Statutes**

Madison... Senator Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) authored two bills passed by the Senate today that clarify and distinguish statutes relating to homeowners associations and condominium law. Additionally, the Senate passed three of her resolutions and two of her bills which were recently approved by the Joint Committee on Finance.

<u>Senate Bill 590</u> cleans up the chapter governing condominiums to bring clarity to all parties by requiring the distribution of bylaws and specifying exactly how and what needs to be recorded with the Register of Deeds.

<u>Senate Bill 865</u> establishes a statutory structure for homeowners associations (HOAs) that allows those residing in, or purchasing properties within an HOA, to understand their contractual obligations, among many other things.

"Families shouldn't have to jump through hoops to try and find information on their housing obligations. Both of these bills will bring necessary clarity and certainty to all parties involved in these community associations," said Ballweg.

Additionally, the Senate passed <u>Senate Bill 827</u> and <u>Senate Bill 569</u>. These two bills, relating to funding for the comprehensive agriculture and agribusiness export program and a sales tax exemption for nonprofit organizations, recently passed the Joint Committee on Finance.

Senator Ballweg also authored three resolutions that passed the floor, two of which honor the life and service of former <u>Senator for the 14<sup>th</sup> Senate District, Joseph Leean</u> and <u>Representative for the 42<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District, Dr. Jacob Albert "Doc" Hines, D.V.M.</u> The final resolution recognizes <u>February 2022 as American Heart Month in Wisconsin</u>.

To reach Sen. Ballweg with questions or comments please call (608) 266-0751 or email <u>Sen.Ballweg@legis.wi.gov</u>. The 14<sup>th</sup> Senate District is located in Central Wisconsin, and is composed of parts of Adams, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Juneau, Marquette, Outagamie, Sauk, Waupaca, and Waushara counties.

###