

JOAN BALLWEG

STATE SENATOR · 14TH SENATE DISTRICT

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sen. Joan Ballweg

June 28, 2023 (608) 266-0751

Ballweg Statement on Senate Passage of State Budget

2023-25 Budget Bill Heads to State Assembly, Then Governor

Madison...State Senator Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) released the following statement upon passage of the 2023-25 Wisconsin State Budget on the Senate floor today:

"I'm proud to vote yes again today on Wisconsin's next state budget. As a member of the Joint Committee on Finance, I believe we created a responsible budget that makes major investments in the priorities of Wisconsinites.

"As the state senator from the 14th Senate District, I'm particularly happy with the investments we've made in the tourism and agricultural industries. Despite being our smallest state agency, the Department of Tourism, in partnership with our local chambers and destination organizations, contributed to tourism's \$23.7 billion economic impact on Wisconsin in 2022. Today's investments will help continue that good work.

"This budget also provides a \$4.4 billion tax cut, increases compensation rates for our corrections employees by \$344 million and ensures Wisconsin will move into the next biennium on sound fiscal ground."

Throughout the budget process, Senator Ballweg provided updates in her Ballweg Budget Bulletin, which are available on her website

(https://legis.wisconsin.gov/senate/14/ballweg/media/ballweg-budget-bulletin-2023-2025-budget/). The 2023-25 budget bill, Senate Bill 70/Assembly Bill 43, will be taken up by the Assembly on June 29 before being considered by the governor.

Follow the 14th Senate District by liking the Wisconsin State Senator Joan Ballweg Facebook page (www.facebook.com/WISenBallweg).

###

To reach Sen. Ballweg with questions or comments please call (608) 266-0751 or email Sen.Ballweg@legis.wi.gov. The 14th Senate District is located in Central Wisconsin, and is composed of parts of Adams, Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Juneau, Marquette, Outagamie, Sauk, Waupaca, and Waushara counties.