Rep. Jagler Honors First Responders of the Year
Madison...Representative Jagler (R-Watertown) proudly presented the Wisconsin Assembly “First Responder of the Year” award to Sergeant Jeff Meloy from the Watertown Police Department today. This was the first time the Assembly held such a ceremony honoring first responders from all parts of Wisconsin.

“During his 24 years, Sgt. Meloy has provided valuable OWI training to other officers, and recently served as a School Resource Officer for our high school,” Jagler said. “He has served the Watertown community exceptionally and has more than earned this award. It was an honor for me to present him with this recognition today.”
Meloy was nominated for the award by Watertown Police Chief Robert Kaminski, who was present for the ceremony honoring first responders from all 99 Assembly districts.

Wisconsin has approximately 9,400 career firefighters and 9,900 career EMS personnel along with 23,000 volunteer firefighters and EMS providers. There are also more than 13,700 law enforcement officers throughout the state.

“We are fortunate to have so many among us who are willing to be the first to run into harm’s way,” Jagler added. “It takes a special kind of person to do what these brave men and women do on a routine basis. I hope after today the thousands of professional and volunteer firefighters, EMS, and police understand just how much we appreciate what they do for us and for the sacrifices they and their family make every day.”

In addition to today’s ceremony the Assembly passed Senate Bill 266 that provides health insurance benefits to families of fallen officers. The bill now heads to the governor’s desk.

                                                           1st Responde Assembly Parlor-71.JPG