

Medical Marijuana (LRB-0250/1) Mechanics of the Bill

- WHO can recommend? Physicians, Physician Assistants, and certified Advanced Practice Nurse Practitioners can choose to be certified to recommend the use of marijuana to patients that they have a bona-fide relationship with.
- WHAT can they recommend? Wisconsin patients who have a qualifying medical condition and recommendation from their qualified primary care provider will have access to marijuana for medical purposes in the form of liquid, oil, pill, tincture, or a form that is applied topically. (See back of sheet for qualifying conditions)
- WHERE can it be purchased? Wisconsin patients will be able to purchase from dispensaries throughout Wisconsin, with the number of dispensaries per county ranging from 3-10, proportional to the county population.
- WHEN will it go into effect? The Medical Marijuana Regulatory Commission at the Department of Revenue will be created within 30 days of this bill being signed into law. The Commission will then begin issuing licenses within 180 days of the Commission's creation.
- WHY are we proposing this? Wisconsinites who have discussed the positive benefits of using marijuana for medicinal purposes with their primary care physicians are currently forced to endure pain and physical agony, traffic drugs into Wisconsin and become criminals, or be held hostage by the FDA approved pain killers that may alleviate their pain, but come with a host of side effects that diminish quality of life.



States where Medical Marijuana is Legal

Qualifying Medical Conditions

Crohn's Disease	Cancer	Seizure Disorders	Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Glaucoma	HIV/AIDS	Multiple Sclerosis	Amyotrophic Later Sclerosis

*Any other medical condition designated as a qualifying medical condition in rules promulgated by the Commission, in consultation with the Medical Examining Board.

FAQs

- Can you grow your own? No, this proposal requires all producers to be licensed by the state and they are prohibited from planting, growing, cultivating, or harvesting marijuana for personal, family or household use.
- How much will licensing and application fees cost? This bill sets a minimum and maximum amount based on the fees in other Midwest states. The Commission will make the ultimate determination.
- How much will a patient/care giver registration fee cost? This fee will be determined by the Commission.
- How much medical marijuana can a patient/care giver possess? That patient/ their care giver can possess up to a 30 day supply of the individual's doses of medical marijuana.
- ➤ Will medical marijuana be taxed? There is an excise tax of 10% when a producer sells the product to a dispensary, but a patient/care giver will not pay a tax when purchasing that product from a dispensary.
- Are primary care providers required to recommend medical marijuana? No, the qualified primary care provider must *choose* to become certified to recommend medical marijuana.

Regulatory Structure

