

President Donald J. Trump White House Office of Intergovernmental Affairs Eisenhower Executive Office Building 1650 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20501

Dear Mr. President:

We are writing to request the removal of the EPA's restrictive ozone standards for southeastern Wisconsin. In 2015, the EPA lowered the federal ozone standard, and as a result, Milwaukee County, Ozaukee County, and parts of surrounding counties were first classified as "marginal" nonattainment and later re-designated as "moderate" in 2021. These areas have now been reclassified to "serious" nonattainment, triggering stricter development limitations which began on January 16, 2025. Meeting this new standard through state-level emission reductions alone is not feasible. Southeastern Wisconsin's ozone pollution is primarily due to emissions from Illinois, Indiana, and vehicle traffic.

The "serious" nonattainment classification will impact both the construction of new facilities and the expansion of existing facilities. Furthermore, the new regulations lower the major source threshold from 100 tons per year of VOCs or NOx to 50 tons per year. This means more businesses will be required to apply for Title V permits, which require additional reporting, record-keeping, and regulatory oversight.

Wisconsin exports of manufactured goods support thousands of jobs and contribute billions to the economy, and these restrictions will hinder business growth and jobs in the state. A coalition has been established in support of removing these restricts, and includes the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce, Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, The New North, Waukesha County Business Alliance, Kenosha Area Business Alliance, Racine County Economic Development Corp., Sheboygan County Economic Development Corp., Sheboygan Chamber of Commerce, National Association for Industrial and Office Parks, and the Commercial Association of REALTORS Wisconsin.

For these reasons, we urge you to consider removing these restrictive standards, as they unfairly penalize Wisconsin businesses and do not address the root cause of the ozone issue.



## Wisconsin Legislature

P.O. BOX 8952 • MADISON, WI 53708

Senator Rob Hutton 5<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Senator Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District Senate Majority Leader

Senator Julian Bradley 28<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District

M. Julier Bradley

Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District

Senator Cory Tomczyk 29th Sentate District

Senator Dan Feyen 20th Senate District Representative Dave Maxey 83<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Representative Robin Vos 33rd Assembly District Assembly Speaker

Representative Bob Donovan 61st Assembly District

Representative Scott Allen 82nd Assembly District

Representative Chuck Wichgers 84th Assembly District

Representative Robert Wittke 63rd Assembly District

Representative Rob Brooks 59th Assembly District



## WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE

P.O. BOX 8952 • MADISON, WI 53708

Senator Steve Nass 11<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Senator André Jacque 1<sup>st</sup> Senate District

Representative Rick Gundrum 58th Assembly District

Representative Jim Piwowarczyk 98<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Representative Daniel Knodl 24<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Representative Barb Dittrich 99<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Amando Gedwassi

Representative Amanda Nedweski 32nd Assembly District

Representative Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District

David I Murphy

Representative Lindee Brill 27th Assembly District

Representative Joe Sheehan 26th Assembly District

Representative Jerry O'Connor 60th Assembly District

Representative Paul Melotik 22nd Assembly District

Representative Elijah Behnke 6th Assembly District

Elisah Bahula

Representative William Penterman 38<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Welliam Penterman



P.O. BOX 8952 • MADISON, WI 53708

cc: Senator Ron Johnson Senator Tammy Baldwin Congressman Bryan Steil Congressman Mark Pocan Congressman Derrick Van Orden Congresswoman Gwen Moore Congressman Scott Fitzgerald Congressman Thomas Tiffany Congressman Tony Wied

Anne Vogel, Administrator EPA Region 5 77 W. Jackson Blvd. Chicago, IL 60604

Environmental Protection Agency Office of the Administrator 1101A 1200 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, DC 20004