Chosen for Prestigious, Select Fellowship with Council of State Governments
(MILWAUKEE) – Senator Lena C Taylor (D-Milwaukee) is one of 48 promising state leaders from across the nation selected for the prestigious Toll Fellowship Program sponsored by The Council of State Governments, September 7-12, 2012.
The annual week-long seminar, named in honor of Henry Toll, a Colorado senator who founded CSG in 1933, seeks to develop the next generation of leaders from all three branches of state government.  This year's dynamic program, held in Lexington, Ky., focuses on trends analysis, policy development, media and constituent relations, and leadership and institutional changes. The experience gives these leaders perspectives they would not ordinarily obtain during the course of their regular governmental service.
Senator Taylor was nominated by Senate Democratic Leader, Mark Miller (D-Monona), with endorsements from the Chief Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court, Shirley Abrahamson and Director of State Courts,  A. John Voelker.  Taylor was selected from many outstanding applicants by a committee of state elected and appointed officials as one of the most promising leaders of state government. This year’s applicant pool included state leaders from all three branches and represented 41 states, two US territories and two Canadian provinces. Past Toll Fellowship graduates include governors, US Senators and members of Congress, as well as leaders in state government.  Wisconsin alumni of the Toll Fellowship include Senator Dale Schultz (R-Richland Center), former Senator Brian Rude, former State Treasurer Cate Zeuske, former Rep. Marlin Schneider, and Rep. Pat Strachota (R-West Bend).
Taylor was first elected to the State Assembly in 2003 and won election to the 4th Senate District in 2004.  Taylor has been leader in the Democratic caucus serving on the powerful Joint Committee on Finance throughout her Senate career.  Taylor also led the Justice Reinvestment initiative in Wisconsin and served as a board member for the CSG Justice Center.  The Senator is an attorney in private practice and resides near her childhood home in the Rufus King neighborhood of Milwaukee with her son, Isaiah.
The Council of State Governments is the premier multibranch organization forecasting policy trends for the community of states, commonwealths and territories on a national and regional basis. CSG alerts state elected and appointed officials to emerging social, economic, and political trends; offers innovative state policy responses to rapidly changing conditions; and advocates multistate problem-solving to maximize resources and competitiveness. CSG promotes excellence in decision-making and leadership skills and champions state sovereignty.
For more information about the Henry Toll Fellowship Program, please contact Krista Rinehart at (859)244-8249.

Madison Office - 608-266-5810

Room 5, South Wing
State Capitol , P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882