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n Wisconsin, a crime is any conduct prohibited by state law that is punishable by a
fine, a term of imprisonment, or both.! Crimes are classified as either felonies or mis-
demeanors, with the former generally considered more severe than the latter. This
report offers an introduction to identifying and classifying misdemeanors followed by a

complete list of all statutory misdemeanors.

Felony or misdemeanor

Although both felonies and misdemeanors are punishable by fine or imprisonment in
Wisconsin, they are distinguished by the term and place of imprisonment. If a crime is
punishable by confinement in a state prison, it is a felony; all other crimes are misde-
meanors. Sentences of more than one year are served in a state prison and are therefore
felonies.” Sentences of less than one year are served in a county jail and are therefore
misdemeanors. Sentences of exactly one year are misdemeanors if the sentence is to be
served in a county jail. If the place of imprisonment for a one-year sentence is not speci-

fied, the crime is a felony.?

Classes and penalties

Misdemeanor offenses that are located in the Criminal Code, Wis. Stat. chs. 939 to 951,
are categorized into three classes. Each class has a maximum fine and term of imprison-
ment specified under Wis. Stat. § 939.51 (3) (a) to (c):

Misdemeanor class penalties in the Wisconsin Criminal Code

Class Maximum fine Maximum imprisonment
A $10,000 9 months
B $1,000 90 days
C $500 30 days

Misdemeanor offenses outside the Criminal Code generally do not have an assigned
class but may have a specified fine and term of imprisonment. For offenses for which no
penalty is provided, Wis. Stat. § 939.61 (2) prescribes a fine of no more than $500, a term
of imprisonment of no more than 30 days, or both. Additionally, special circumstances
may warrant increased penalties. For example, Wis. Stat. § 939.632 (2) increases the pen-

alties for certain violent misdemeanors committed in a school zone.

1. See Wis. Stat. § 939.12.

2. Note that, as amended by 2023 Wisconsin Act 9, Wis. Stat. § 346.65 (3) provides that a violation of Wis. Stat. § 346.62 (3
is punishable, among other things, by imprisonment for a term of not less than 60 days nor more than two years in a county jail.

3. State ex rel. McDonald v. Douglas Cnty. Cir. Ct., 100 Wis. 2d 569, 302 N.W.2d 462 (1981).


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/939/iv/51/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/939/iv/61/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/939/iv/632/2/
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2023/related/acts/9
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/346/x/65/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/346/x/62/3

List of misdemeanors

The table below comprises all misdemeanors in the 2023-24 Wisconsin Statutes, including
every criminal offense that is explicitly labeled a misdemeanor or lists penalties descriptive
of a misdemeanor. Some penalties apply only to a single statute section or subunit, while

others apply to a range of statute sections. The table is presented in ascending statutory

order and includes the penalty or class associated with each misdemeanor.

Misdemeanors in the 2023-24 Wisconsin Statutes

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

11.1401 (1) ()

12.03 and 12.60 (1) (b)

12.05 and 12.60 (1) (b)

12.07 and 12.60 (1) (b)

12.08 and 12.60 (1) (b)

12.13 (2) (b) 8., (3) (b),
(

) .’
(), (d), (9), (i), (n) to (x),
(ze), (zm), and (zn) and
12.60 (1) (b)

12.13 (5) and 12.60 (1)

(bm)

16.009 (5) (b)

16.845 (1)

16.846 (1) (a)

19.24

19.50 and 19.58 (4)

Various campaign financing violations

Electioneering on election day by certain persons
at certain locations

False representations affecting elections
Election restrictions on employers

Causing another to support a candidate by
threatening to deny government benefits

Certain acts of election fraud

Unauthorized release of records or investigatory
information relating to elections

Contempt of the legislature

Falsified statements on a lobbying expense
statement

Discriminating against any person cooperating
with the Board on Aging and Long-Term Care

Use of state facilities without a permit

Violations of Department of Administration rules
relating to the use, care, and preservation of
property under department control

Refusal by a public officer to deliver to a successor
money and other property belonging to the office

Unauthorized release of investigation or
prosecution records
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max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months
max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $200, 1 year

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $100, 30 days

max. $100, 30 days

max. $100, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/11.1401(1)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.05
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.08
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(2)(b)8.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.13(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(bm)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/12.60(1)(bm)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/13.26
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/13.27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/13.69(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/16.009(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/16.845(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/16.846(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.24
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.50
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.58(4)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

19.58 (1) (a)

20.906 (3)

23.095 (3) (d) 2.

23.22 (8) (b)

23.22 (8) (c)

23.24 (6) (b)

23.33 (13) (b) 2.

23.33(13) (b) 3.

23.33 (13) (9

23.335(23) (c) 2.

23.335 (23) (¢) 3.

23.335(23) (d)

26.14 (5)

26.14 (6)

26.14 (7)

26.19 (1)
26.20 (9) (b)
26.985 (2)

26.985 (3)

29.088 (2)

Intentional violations of the code of ethics for
public officials and employees

Improper use of a receipts form issued by or for a
state agency collecting or receiving money for the
state

Intentional damage or attempt to damage an
archaeological feature or natural resource

Intentional violations of Department of Natural
Resources rules controlling invasive species

Repeat violations of Department of Natural
Resources rules relating to the control of invasive
species

Violations relating to aquatic plant management
(2nd offense in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
utility terrain vehicle (2nd offense in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
utility terrain vehicle (3rd+ offenses in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
utility terrain vehicle causing injury

Intoxicated operation of an off-road motorcycle
(2nd offense in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an off-road motorcycle
(3rd+ offenses in 5 years)

Intoxicated operation of an off-road motorcycle
and causing injury

Failure to totally extinguish a fire (2nd+ offenses)
Causing a forest fire

Setting a fire upon marsh or other land to drive out
game birds or animals

Destruction of forest protection equipment or
notices

Willful violations by a corporation relating to fire
protection devices

Violations relating to the protection of forest lands
and productivity (2nd or 3rd offense in 5 years)

Violations relating to the protection of forest lands
and productivity (4th+ offenses in 3 years)

Taking, capturing, or killing wild animals with the
aid of any explosive or poison gas

$100-$5,000, max. 1 year

unclassified misdemeanor

max. $10,000, 9 months
$1,000-$5,000, 6-9
months

$700-52,000, 6-9 months

$700-$2,000, 6-9 months
$300-$1,100, 5 days-6
months

$600-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

$300-52,000, 30 days-1
year

$300-$1,100, 5 days-6
months

$600-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

$300-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

max. $500, 30 days
max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000

max. $100, 6 months

max. $2,000, 9 months

max. $300, 30 days
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/19.58(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/20.906(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.095(3)(d)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.22(8)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.22(8)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.24(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.33(13)(b)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.33(13)(b)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.33(13)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.335(23)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.335(23)(c)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/23.335(23)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.14(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.14(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.14(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.19(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.20(9)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.985(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/26.985(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.088(2)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
29.314 (7) (a) Shining deer, elk, or bear while hunting or $1,000-$2,000, max. 6
possessing weapons months
29.331 (5) (b) Tampering with lawfully placed animal traps $300-%1,000, max. 90
days
29.341 (2) Failure to follow lawful procedures and duties max. $5,000, 9 months
following an accidental shooting while hunting (negligent) or 1 year
(intentional)
29.501 (10) Violations relating to fur dealers max. $1,000, 9 months
29.601 (1) (b) Use of explosives or stupefactives in state waters max. $500, 90 days

29.601 (3) (c) 2.

29.604 (5) (a) 1.

29.604 (5) (a) 2.

29.967 (1) (b)

29.967 (3)

29.971 (1) (b)

29.971 (1m) (b)

29.971 (5)

29.971 (59)

29.971 (5m)

29.971(7)

29.971 (11)

29.971 (119) (a)

Throwing or depositing deleterious substances in
state waters

Intentionally taking, transporting, possessing,
processing, or selling within the state an
endangered or threatened wild animal

Intentional violations relating to endangered and
threatened plant species

Violations relating to a suspended or revoked
Department of Natural Resources approval (2nd+
offenses in 5 years)

Obtaining a Department of Natural Resources
approval during a period of time when that
approval is revoked

Violations relating to taking, transporting,
acquiring, selling, purchasing, or possessing fish

Violations relating to possession of clams
Violations relating to the sale of wild animals
Violations relating to serving game to guests of
restaurants, clubs, hotels, boarding houses, taverns,
or camps

lllegally taking or possessing lake sturgeon

Hunting with the aid of an aircraft

Deer hunting violations

Elk hunting violations
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max. $200, 90 days

$2,000-55,000, max. 9
months

max. $1,000, 9 months

$500-51,000

max. $200, 90 days

$1,000-$5,000, max. 30
days

max. $5,000, 30 days

$1,000-52,000, max. 6
months

max. $500, 90 days

$1,500, max. 90 days

max. $1,000 (1st offense)
or $2,000, 90 days (2nd+
offenses)

$1,000-52,000, max. 6
months

$1,000-$15,000, max. 6
months (1st offense); max.
$20,000, 1 year (2nd+
offenses)


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.314(7)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.331(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.341(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.501(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.601(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.601(3)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.604(5)(a)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.604(5)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.967(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.967(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(1m)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(5g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(5m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11g)(a)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

29.971 (11m) (a)

29.971 (11p) (a)

29.971 (11r) (@am) 1.

29.971 (11r) (am) 2.

29.974 (1)

29.974 (2) (b)

30.12 (5)

30.80 (2)

30.80 (29) (@)

30.80 (29) (b)

30.80 (6) (a) 2.

30.80 (6) (a) 3.

30.80 (6) (a) 4.

30.80 (6) (a) 5.

30.80 (6) (b)

31.34 (4)

32.29

Bear hunting violations

Entering the den of a hibernating black bear and
harming the bear

Interfering with lawful hunting, fishing, or trapping
(2nd offense in 5 years)

Interfering with lawful hunting, fishing, or trapping
(3rd+ offenses in 5 years)

Determination by a court following a conviction for
a violation relating to wild animals and plants that
the guilty person has a prior conviction within a
period of 5 years

Determination by a court following a conviction for
a violation relating to wild animals and plants that
the guilty person has 3 prior convictions within a
period of 3 years

Unlawful structures and deposits in navigable
waters

Reckless or negligent operation of a boat
endangering life or property

Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the
accident did not involve death or injury to a person)

Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the
accident involved injury to a person but the person

did not suffer great bodily harm)

Intoxicated boating (2nd offense in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating (3rd offense in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating (4th offense in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating (5th+ offenses in 5 years)
Intoxicated boating causing an injury
Violations of water flow and dam regulations
False statements by an employee of a
governmental entity with condemnation

power to an owner of property concerning the
condemnation of such property

$1,000-52,000, max. 6
months (1st offense); max.
$10,000, 9 months (2nd+
offenses)

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100, 6 months

max. $2,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $200, 6 months

$300-51,000, max. 6
months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$300-51,000, 5 days-6
months

$600-52,000, 30 days- 1
year

$600-5$2,000, 60 days-1
year

$600-52,000, 6 months-1
year

$300-52,000, 30 days-1
year

$50-%$1,000

$50-51,000, max. 1 year
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11m)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11p)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11r)(am)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.971(11r)(am)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.974(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/29.974(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.12(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(2g)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(2g)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(a)5.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/30.80(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/31.34(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/32.29

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
34.11 Violations relating to public deposits max. $500, 6 months
36.11 (1) (a) Violations of rules promulgated by the Board of max. $500, 90 days
Regents of the University of Wisconsin System to
protect the lives, health, and safety of persons or
property under its jurisdiction
36.35 (3) Entering campus property without permission max. $500, 6 months
following prior misconduct
42.05 (3) Unlawful auto racing without a properly equipped ~ max. $200, 6 months
muffler
42.07 (2) Ticket scalping for entry to an event under the $10-$100, max. 60 days

44.47 (7) (a) 2.

45.03 (16) (b)

45.06 (2)

46.10 (14) (e) 4.

46.90 (6) (d)

46.90 (9) (d)

46.90 (9) (e)

47.02 (7) (c)

47.03 (3) (d)

48.025 (6) (b)

48.42 (5)

auspices of the state fair park

Tampering with archaeological objects or data
belonging to the state or intentionally interfering
with related work

False statements with the intent to secure veterans
benefits

Withholding from a veteran any discharge paper,
citation, warrant, medal, badge, or evidence that
the veteran is entitled to certain rights

Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline
of an employee by an employer based on an
assignment of certain social services benefits

Requesting or obtaining confidential information
relating to the elder abuse reporting system under
false pretenses

Discriminating against any person for reporting in
good faith under the elder abuse reporting system

Failure to report under the elder abuse reporting
system

Violations relating to vocational rehabilitation

Advertising, selling, or distributing a product as
being blind-made when less than 75% of the labor
involved in creating the product was performed by
visually impaired persons

Intentionally obtaining, using, or disclosing
confidential information relating to a declaration of
paternal interest in matters affecting children

False statements in the course of a proceeding for
the termination of parental rights with an intent
to prevent a person from receiving notice of such
proceeding
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$1,000-55,000

max. $500, 6 months

max. $100, 6 months

max. $500

max. $500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $500, 6 months

max. $500, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/34.11
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/36.11(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/36.35(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/42.05(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/42.07(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/44.47(7)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/45.03(16)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/45.06(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.10(14)(e)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.90(6)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.90(9)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/46.90(9)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/47.02(7)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/47.03(3)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.025(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.42(5)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
48.658 (3) (a) Transporting a child to or from a child care provider max. $1,000, 1 year
in a child care vehicle in which a child safety alarm
has not been installed or is not in good working
order
48.60 and 48.76 Violations relating to child welfare agency licensing  max. $500, 1 year

48.62 and 48.76
48.625 and 48.76

48.63 and 48.76

48.65 and 48.76
48.825 (5)

48.979 (1m) (9)

48.981 (6)

48.981 (7) (f)

49.22 (4)

49.345 (14) (e) 4.

49.45 (4m) (e)

49.45 (6m) ()

49.688 (9) (c)

49.79 (11) (e)

Violations relating to foster home licensing
Violations relating to group home licensing

Violations relating to child placements in foster
homes or group homes

Violations relating to child care center licensing
Unlawful adoption advertising

Unlawful delegation of powers regarding care and
custody of child

Failure to report abused or neglected children or
abused unborn children

Confidentiality violations of records concerning
the reporting of abused or neglected children or
abused unborn children

Unlawful use or disclosure of information obtained
by the state location service assisting in locating
parents

Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline
of an employee by an employer based on an
assignment of certain public assistance benefits

Unlawful disclosure or retention of information
relating to the financial record matching program
by a financial institution

Refusal by an intermediate care facility or skilled
nursing facility to recover costs reimbursable for
persons eligible for certain Medicare benefits or to
obtain Medicare certification required by federal
law

Violations of Department of Health Services rules
relating to prohibitions on Medical Assistance fraud

Unlawful disclosure or retention of information
relating to applicants for or recipients of food
stamp program benefits by a financial institution
participating in the financial record matching
program

max. $500, 1 year
max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

$25-$500, max. 1 year

max. $500

$50-51,000, 10 days-1

year

$10/day-$100/day

max. $10,000, 1 year

$50-51,000, 10 days-1
year

Misdemeanors in the 2023-24 Wisconsin Statutes


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.658(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.62
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.625
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.63
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.65
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.76
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.825(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.979(1m)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.981(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/48.981(7)(f)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.22(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.345(14)(e)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.45(4m)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.45(6m)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.688(9)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.79(1t)(e)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

49.83

49.853 (3) (c)

49.853 (4) (d)

50.03 (1)
50.032 (6)
50.033 (6)
50.07 (2)

50.49 (8)

50.55 (2)

51.30(10) (a)

51.61(5) (d)

51.61 (7m)

54.62 (8)

55.043 (9m) (d)

55.043 (9m) (e)

59.39

59.66 (2) (c)

Using or disclosing information concerning
applicants to various public assistance programs for
purposes not connected with the administration of
the programs

Disclosure or retention of information unrelated
to matching records by a financial institution
participating in the financial institution matching
option.

Unlawful request of information by a financial
institution participating in the state matching
option to the Department of Health Services

Unlicensed operation of a community-based
residential facility or nursing home

Uncertified operation of an adult family home
Unlicensed operation of an adult family home
Violations relating to uniform licensure

Unlicensed operation of a home health agency

Actions intended to interfere with a Department of
Health Services investigation of licensure violations
by a rural medical center

Intentionally unlawful violations relating to mental
health records (if not for pecuniary gain)

Intentional retaliation or discrimination against a
mental health patient for contacting or providing
information to a state protection and advocacy
agency

Intentionally depriving a mental health patient of
the ability to seek redress for an alleged violation
of rights

Willful or inexcusable failure by a guardian to file a
guardian’s account as required by law or ordered by
a court

Retaliating or discriminating against a person for
reporting an adult at risk in good faith

Failure to report an adult at risk

Violations relating to a coroner or medical examiner
performing funeral services upon the body whose
death is required to be investigated by such office

Violations relating to unclaimed funds in a county’s
public treasury
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$25-$500, 10 days-1 year

$25-$500, 10 days-1 year

$25-$500, 10 days-1 year

max. $500/day, 6 months
(1st offense); $5,000/day,
1 year (2nd+ offenses)
max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $100 (1st offense);
$200 (2nd+ offenses)

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $25,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $250, 10 days

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $500, 6 months

max. $50

$50-$200, 30 days-6
months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.83
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.853(3)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/49.853(4)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.03(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.032(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.033(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.07(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.49(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/50.55(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/51.30(10)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/51.61(5)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/51.61(7m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/54.62(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/55.043(9m)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/55.043(9m)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/59.39
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/59.66(2)(c)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

59.74 (2) (e) 1.

62.23 (8)

63.17

63.20

63.52 (1)

66.0413 (1) (br) 2.

66.0417 (5) (a)

66.0417 (5) (b)

66.0425 (9)

66.0615 (1m) (f) 5.

66.1207 (1) (a)

69.24 (2)

70.40 (2)

70.42 (2)

70.421 (2)

70.47 (18) (b)

Unlawful tampering with a landmark, monument of
survey, corner post of government survey, survey
made by the county surveyor, or survey of public
record

Unlawful structure

Various county civil service system violations

Violation of a subpoena issued by a board of city
service commissioners

Various first class city civil service system violations

Renting, leasing, or occupying a building which
has been condemned for human habitation,
occupancy, or use

Violations relating to local enforcement of certain
food and health regulations

Obstructing a local inspector enforcing food and
health regulation

Violations relating to an obstruction or excavation
beyond a lot line or within a highway

Failure to register with the Department of Revenue
for the room tax

False representations to secure or assist in securing
financial assistance for subsidized housing
accommodations (if the financial assistance is more
than $1,000 but less than $2,500)

Violations relating to the collection of vital statistics
or documents

Willful failure or refusal by any person on whom an
occupational iron ore concentrate tax is imposed
to furnish a true list or statement of all iron ore
concentrates received or handled

Failure or refusal by an operator of a coal dock to
furnish a true list or statement of all coal received
or handled

Failure or refusal by an operator of a refinery to
furnish a true list or statement of all crude oil and
petroleum products refined

Intentional tampering with a public notice of a local
board of review meeting before the expiration of
the time for which the notice was posted

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $500

$50-51,000, 30 days-1
year

unclassified misdemeanor
$50-5$1,000, max. 6
months

$5-$50, max. 30 days for
each week of violation
max. $10,000, 1 year
max. $5,000, 1 year
$25-5500, 10 days-6
months

unclassified misdemeanor

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $1,000

max. $1,000

max. $1,000

max. $200, 6 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/59.74(2)(e)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/62.23(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/63.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/63.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/63.52(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.0413(1)(br)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.0417(5)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.0417(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.0425(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.0615(1m)(f)5.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/66.1207(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/69.24(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/70.40(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/70.42(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/70.421(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/70.47(18)(b)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
71.65 (6) Willfully providing false information to the $25,000
Department of Revenue by a construction
contractor employer to evade income and franchise
tax withholding requirements
71.66 (1) (e) Willfully supplying an employer with false max. $200

71.83(2) (@) 1.

71.83(2) (a) 2.

71.83 (2) (a) 3.

71.83(2) (a) 3m.

71.83 (2) (a) 4.

71.83(2) (a) 5.

71.83 (2) (a) 6.

71.91(8) (e)

75.375

77.27

77.52(12)
77.52 (16)

77.52 (19)

77.53 (8)

77.60 (6)

77.60 (7)

information regarding a withholding exemption

Income and franchise tax violations: failure or
refusal to make, render, sign, or verify a tax return
on time; failure or refusal to make deposits of
withheld taxes; false or fraudulent employer
statements or deposit reports

Willfully making or subscribing false documents
relating to income and franchise taxes

Divulging or circulating confidential information
derived from income and franchise tax documents

Unlawful browsing of another’s confidential
information derived from income and franchise tax
documents

Coercing an employee to prepay taxes

Supplying an employer with a false income and
franchise tax withholding agreement

Failure to file a surety bond with the Department of
Revenue by a construction contractor

Using information provided to a financial institution
in the financial record matching program for
purposes other than administration of the program

Waste on lands subject to a tax certificate

Intentionally falsifying value on a return for the real
estate transfer fee

Operating as a seller without a permit
Sales tax evasion using a resale certificate

Failure to comply with rules relating to permitting
for persons temporarily engaged in selling

Sales and use tax violations: failure to collect the
tax from a purchaser, give a purchaser a receipt, or
display the tax separately from the list price

Failure to provide a required tax return or data to
the Department of Revenue

Sales and use tax evasion through false or
fraudulent reporting or failure to furnish a report
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max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$500, 1-6 months

$100-$500, 1-6 months

$25-5200

max. $500, 6 months

$300-55,000

$25-$500, 10 days-1 year

max. $500, 90 days

max. $1,000, 1 year

unclassified misdemeanor
unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.65(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.66(1)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)3m.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)5.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.83(2)(a)6.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/71.91(8)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/75.375
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.52(12)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.52(16)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.52(19)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.53(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.60(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.60(7)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

77.60 (10)

77.61(5) (9)

77.61 (6) (d)

77.61(9)

77.982 (4)

77.991 (4)

77.9951 (3)

78.68 (6)

78.68 (7)

78.68 (8)

78.73 (1)

78.73 (2)

78.73 (3)

78.73 (4)

83.027 (12)

84.25 (12)

86.01

86.021 (2)

Assisting another in making any false or fraudulent
return or statement relating to the sales and use tax

Various violations relating to administration of sales
and use taxes

Inspection of a return or claim for sales and use
taxes by an unauthorized person

Failure to file, submit, prepare, or retain sales and
use tax documents required by the Department of
Revenue

Failure to register with the Department of Revenue
for the local food and beverage tax

Failure to register with the Department of Revenue
for the local rental car tax

Failure to register with the Department of Revenue
for the state rental vehicle fee

Failure to furnish a return or data relating to vehicle
or general aviation fuel taxes required by the
Department of Revenue

Making a false or fraudulent return or failure to
furnish a return when due to evade vehicle or
general aviation fuel taxes

Assisting another in evading vehicle or general
aviation fuel taxes

Various violations relating to unlawful use or
display of a license to sell vehicle or general
aviation fuel

Selling vehicle or general aviation fuel without a
license

Attempting to assign a license to sell vehicle or
general aviation fuel or failure to display such
license conspicuously at a place of business

Failure to make a report or payment relating to
vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes

Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled-access
county highway (if not through an opening
provided for that purpose)

Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled-access
state highway (if not through an opening provided
for that purpose)

Unlawfully leaving materials in a highway

Highway damage by cultivation or a machine

unclassified misdemeanor

$100-$500, 1-6 months

$100-5500, 1-6 months

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 6 months

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $25, 10 days

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $100, 30 days

max. $100, 30 days

$10-5100

$10-$50, 10-30 days
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.60(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.61(5)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.61(6)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.61(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.982(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.991(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/77.9951(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.68(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.68(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.68(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.73(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.73(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.73(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/78.73(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/83.027(12)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/84.25(12)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.021(2)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

86.022 Obstructing a highway with an embankment or a $10-$100
ditch

86.025 Camping on highways or adjacent lands max. $10, 30 days

86.03 (6) Violations relating to trees or shrubs adjacent to a $25 per damaged tree or
highway shrub

86.03 (7) Cutting of veterans memorial trees $10-$200, max. 30 days

86.06 (2) Unlawfully traveling beyond or tampering with a $10-$100, 10-60 days
highway barrier

86.07 (1) Drawing, painting, printing, or pasting upon a $10-$200, max. 30 days
culvert, bridge, or guard rail

86.07 (2) Unlawfully disturbing or making an alteration to a $50-$500, max. 6 months
highway

86.17 (2) Interference with the free use of water running unclassified misdemeanor
across highways

86.19 (3) Unlawfully erecting a sign on a public highway $10-$100 (1st offense);

$10-$500 (2nd+ offenses)

86.191 (5) Violations of highway advertisement prohibitions $25-$100, max. 30 days

86.192 (2) Tampering with a sign, guide board, mile post, $25, max. 30 days (1st
signal, or marker offense); $100, max. 60

days (2nd+ offenses)
87.17 Tampering with flood control improvements or max. $1,000, max. 1 year

87.30(2) (a)

88.82 (6)

88.91 (2)

89.05 (3)

89.079 (4) (b)

93.12 (6)

93.21 (1)

93.21(2) (a)

personnel

Placing or maintaining a building within a
floodplain in violation of a zoning ordinance

Tampering with a drain constructed by a drainage
district

Placing an obstruction in a lawfully constructed
drainage ditch

Practicing veterinary medicine without a license

Violation of temporary restraining order or
injunction

Operating a laboratory without a certificate of
approval

Failure by a manufacturer of dairy products to
furnish required information to the person from
whom milk is purchased or received

Obstructing an officer performing inspection duties
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max. $50

max. $100

max. $100

max. $1,000 (1st offense);
$3,000 (2nd offense in 3
years)

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

$100-$1,000

max. $200, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.022
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.025
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.03(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.03(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.06(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.07(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.07(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.17(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.19(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.191(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/86.192(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/87.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/87.30(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/88.82(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/88.91(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/89.05(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/89.079(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.12(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.21(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.21(2)(a)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

93.21 (4)

93.21 (6) (@)

93.23 (8)
93.35 (15) (a)
94.46 (4) (b)
94.64 (12) (a)
94.65 (11) (b)

94.71 (1) (a) 2.

94.71 (1) (a) 2.

94.72 (14) (a) 2.

94.77 (1)

95.21 (10) (b)

95.68 (9)

95.69 (9)

95.71 (9)

95.99 (1)

96.17 (3)
97.12 (2) (d) 1.

97.12 (4)

97.18 (6)

Various violations for failing to obey orders relating
to agriculture, trade, and consumer protection

Fraudulent use of official seals of the Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Violations relating to local fairs
Unlawful weather modification

Various violations relating to seeds
Willful violations of fertilizer regulations
Soil and plant additive violations

Pesticide violations by a commercial applicator,
dealer, or distributor

Pesticide violations by a private applicator

Commercial animal feed violations

Various plant industry violations

Refusal by an animal owner to comply with an
order or quarantine

Conducting animal market business after
revocation of a license

Conducting animal dealer business after revocation
of a license

Conducting animal trucking business after
revocation of a license

Various animal health violations

Intentional violation of a Department of
Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection
marketing order or agreement

Violations relating to food regulation enforcement

Interfering with or giving false information to a
food inspector

Violations of oleomargarine regulations

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $10,000, 1 year

max. $200, 6 months
max. $1,000, 6 months
max. $500, 6 months
$250-$5,000, max. 1 year
max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 30 days

max. $1,000, 30
days; $5,000, 1 year
(if manufacturer or
distributor)

max. $1,000 (1st offense);
$500-55,000, max. 6
months (2nd+ offenses)

$100-5$1,000, max. 60
days

$500-51,000, max. 6
months

$500-51,000, max. 6
months

$500-51,000, max. 6
months

max. $1,000 (1st offense);
$500-$1,000, max. 6
months (2nd+ offenses)

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

$100-$500, max. 3
months (1st offense);
$500-$1,000, 6 months—1
year (2nd+ offenses)
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.21(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.21(6)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.23(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/93.35(15)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.46(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.64(12)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.65(11)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.71(1)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.71(1)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.72(14)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.77(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/95.21(10)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/95.68(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/95.69(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/95.71(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/95.99(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/96.17(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.12(2)(d)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.12(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.18(6)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
97.42 (8) Interfering with inspection of animals, poultry,and  max. $5,000, 1 year
carcasses
97.627 (1) Causing fire by tobacco smoking $50-$250, 10 days-6
months
97.638 (1) Failure by hotel to post rates $50-5100
97.638 (2) (d) Failure by hotel to post notice of fee for use of $50-$100

97.65 (5) (a)

97.65 (5) (b)

97.72(1)

98.26 (1)

99.07 (2)

100.07 (5)

100.15 and 100.26 (3)

100.18 (9) and 100.26
(5)

100.182 and 100.26 (7)

100.19 and 100.26 (3)

100.195 (5m) (e)

100.20 and 100.26 (3)

100.2095 (6) (d)

100.235 (11) (b)

100.26 (1)

100.335 (4) (b)

100.37 (8)

100.38 (7)

telephone

Violation of order prohibiting sale or movement of
food

Threatening or providing false information to a
Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer

Protection inspector

Various food regulation violations

Various violations relating to weights and measures

Various violations relating to public warehouses

Milk payment violations
Use of trading stamps

Deceptive advertising

Fraudulent drug advertising
Wasteful distribution methods and practices
Unfair billing for consumer goods or services

Violations relating to methods of competition and
trade practices

Violations relating to labeling and materials of
bedding

Unfair trade practices in procurement of vegetable
crops

Various marketing or trade practice violations
Manufacturing or selling a child’s container
containing bisphenol A or failing to label a child’s
container as not containing bisphenol A

Violations of the hazardous substances act

Selling adulterated or misbranded antifreeze
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max. $10,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

$100-51,000, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$500-$5,000, 30 days-1
year (2nd+ offenses)
max. $10,000, 9 months

$200-$1,000, max. 6
months

max. $200, 6 months
$25-55,000, max. 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months
$25-$5,000, max. 1 year
$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$10,000, max. 1
year

max. $200, 6 months

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

$50-$500


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.42(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.627(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.638(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.638(2)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.65(5)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.65(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/97.72(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/98.26(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/99.07(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.07(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.15
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.18(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.182
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.195(5m)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.2095(6)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.235(11)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.26(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.335(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.37(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.38(7)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
100.383 (5) Selling antifreeze without a bittering agent max. $1,500, 90 days
100.48 (4) (a) Tampering with an hour meter attached to farm max. $5,000, 1 year

100.48 (4) ()

100.70 (2)

101.13 (7)

101.14 (4) (e)

101.149 (8) (c) 1.

101.16 (5) (am)

101.16 (5) (cm)

101.16 (5) (cn)

101.9209 (5) (b)

101.937 (5) (b)

101.94 (8) (b)

101.951 (8)

101.953 and 101.965 (1)

101.954 and 101.965

101.955 and 101.965 (1)

equipment

Tampering with an hour meter attached to a
snowmobile, all- terrain vehicle, utility terrain
vehicle, or boat

Using a title or misrepresenting oneself as having
an environmental, occupational health, or safety
credential without having the proper credential

Use of an accessibility symbol in violation of
standards

Failure to install required fire detection, prevention,
or suppression devices

Tampering with an installed carbon monoxide
detector

Unlawful filling, evacuating, or use of containers for
liquefied petroleum gas; various violations relating
to a failure to provide the Department of Safety and
Professional Services with liquefied petroleum gas
information

Intentional violation of licensing and financial
responsibility requirements by a retail supplier of
liquefied petroleum gas

Intentional violation of licensing and financial
responsibility requirements by a retail supplier of
liquefied petroleum gas who only fills Department
of Transportation cylinders and containers

Intent to defraud during a transfer of interest in a
manufactured home

Rule violations relating to water and sewer service
to manufactured home communities

Violations by a corporation that threaten the health
or safety of a purchaser of manufactured homes
and mobile homes

Violations relating to manufactured home dealers

Violations relating to warranty and disclosure for
manufactured homes

Violations relating to the sale or lease of used
manufactured homes

Violations relating to jurisdiction and venue over
out-of-state manufacturers of manufactured homes

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $1,000

$50

$100-5500

max. $10,000, 9 months

$25-5$2,000, 30 days—6
months

$500-5$1,000, 30 days-6
months (1st offense);
$2,000-$5,000 (2nd+
offenses)

$200-$400, 30 days-6
months (1st offense);
$800-52,000 (2nd+
offenses)

max. $1,000, 30 days

$25-55,000, max. 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

$25-5100

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.383(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.48(4)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.48(4)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/100.70(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.13(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.14(4)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.149(8)(c)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.16(5)(am)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.16(5)(cm)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.16(5)(cn)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.9209(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.937(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.94(8)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.951(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.953
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.954
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.955
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.965(1)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

101.988 (3) Violations relating to elevators, escalators, and max. $1,500, 30 days
other conveyances

102.17 (3) Willfully failing to testify or produce documentsas  $25-$100, max. 30 days
required for a worker’s compensation hearing

102.835 (18) Discrimination by an employer against an max. $10,000, 9 months
employee whose earnings have been subject to a
levy for delinquent uninsured employer payments

102.88 (1) 2nd worker’s compensation-related offense in 5 max. $2,000, 90 days
years

102.88 (2) 3rd or subsequent worker’s compensation-related  max. $10,000, 9 months
offense in 3 years

103.13 (8) Violations by an employer relating to records open ~ $10-$100
to an employee

103.15(2) or (3) and Requiring an HIV test for employment max. $100

103.20

103.16 Failure by an employer to provide seats for $10-$30
employees

103.165 (4) Violations relating to an employee’s cash bonds amount of the bond,

103.17 and 103.20

103.18 and 103.20

103.29 (1)

103.34(12) (a)

103.37 (4)

103.545 (5)

103.61

103.75(2)

103.82 (1) (a)

held in a trust

Failure by a manufacturing employer to mutually
forfeit

Threatening to reduce wages or discharge
employees to influence their votes

Violations relating to employment of minors in
street trades

Repeat offenses relating to traveling sales crews
Requiring an employee to pay for a medical
examination as a condition of employment
Fraudulent advertising for labor

Unlawful payments of wages with time checks
Recruiting strikebreakers

Contempt for violation of a restraining order or
injunction issued by a court

False evidence of age to obtain an age certificate or
altering an age certificate

Repeat offenses of employing a minor for certain
jobs
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10-60 days

max. $100
max. $100
$250-5$5,000, max. 30

days

$250-55,000, max. 30
days

max. $100

max. $2,000, 1 year
$10-$100
max. $2,000, 1 year

max. $25, 10 days

max. $100, 3 months

$250-$5,000, max. 30
days


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/101.988(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.17(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.835(18)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.88(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.88(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.13(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.15(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.15(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.16
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.165(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.18
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.20
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.29(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.34(12)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.37(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.43(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.45
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.545(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.61
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.75(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.82(1)(a)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
103.86 (1) Failure by an employer to make required payments  max. $200
to employee welfare funds
103.87 Disciplining an employee for testifying in a max. $200
proceeding pertaining to a crime of the Children’s
Code or Juvenile Justice Code
104.10 Employer intimidation of a witness in a minimum $25
wage investigation or proceeding
107.02 Violation of mining statement requirements min. $100, max. 3 months
107.15 (6) (a) Violations of reporting requirements for mineral max. $50,000

107.15 (6) ()

108.16 (8) (m) 3.

108.223 (5)

108.225 (18)

108.24 (1) (b) 1.

108.24 (2)

108.24 (2m)

108.24 (3) (a)

111.70 (7m) (c) 2.

exploration

Violations of confidentiality requirements for
mineral exploration

False statements relating to determining
the assignment of unemployment insurance
contribution rates

Unlawful use of debtor information

Discriminating terms and conditions of
employment against an employee whose earnings
have been subject to a levy for delinquent
unemployment insurance contributions

False statements to obtain unemployment
insurance benefit payments

False statements or other information required by
the Department of Workforce Development for
unemployment insurance

Misclassifying an employee by a construction
contractor to evade unemployment insurance
payments

Violations relating to acts against an employee
or former employee concerning unemployment

insurance

Unlawful disclosure or inspection of unemployment
insurance documents

Failure by an employer to pay wages due

Interfering with the Employment Relations
Commission

Strikes, work stoppages, slowdowns, and lockouts
by employees of a public utility

Striking following an injunction against a strike

$50-$50,000, 1-6 months

$50-51,000, 10 days-1
year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$500, max. 90 days

$1,000 per violation, max.
$25,000

$100-51,000, max. 90
days

$25-$500, max. 1 year

max. $500, 90 days

max. $500, 1 year

unclassified misdemeanor

$10
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.86(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/103.87
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/104.10
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/107.02
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/107.15(6)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/107.15(6)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.16(8)(m)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.223(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.225(18)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(1)(b)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(2m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/108.24(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/109.11(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/111.14
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/111.62
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/111.70(7m)(c)2.

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

114.09 (2) (a) 2.

114.09 (2) (a) 3.

114.09 (2) (a) 4.

114.09 (2) (c) 2.

114.103 (3)

118.03 (4)

118.15(5) (a) 1. a.

118.15(5) (@) 1. b.

118.20 (5)

120.13 (35) (b) 1.

125.04 (13)

125.07 (1) (b) 2. b.

125.07 (1) (b) 2. c.

125.07 (1) (b) 2. d.

125.07 (2) (b)

Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number
of prior convictions of causing injury from
intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total
number of other suspensions and revocations
equals 2)

Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number
of prior convictions of causing injury from
intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total
number of other suspensions and revocations
equals 3)

Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number
of prior convictions of causing injury from
intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total
number of other suspensions and revocations
equals 4)

2 or more reckless flying convictions within 4 years

Failure by private security personnel to report to a
law enforcement authority

Various violations relating to aeronautics and
astronautics

Failure by a school administrator to report various
crimes or acts committed by an employee of an
educational agency to the state superintendent of
public instruction

Unlawful textbook pricing

Compulsory school attendance violation (1st
offense)

Compulsory school attendance violation (2nd+
offenses)

Discrimination against applicants for teaching or
administrative positions

Unlawful presence in school buildings that
provokes a breach of peace

Selling or manufacturing alcoholic beverages
without a required license or permit

Facilitating underage drinking (2nd offense in 30
months)

Facilitating underage drinking (3rd offense in 30
months)

Facilitating underage drinking (4th+ offenses in 30
months)

Selling alcohol to an intoxicated person
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$350-5$1,100, 5 days-6
months

$600-52,000, 30 days-1
year

$600-$2,000, 60 days—1
year

$50-$500, max. 1 year

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 90 days

max. $1,000, 6 months

$25-5100

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

$25-$50, 5-30 days

max. $10,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$500, max. 60 days


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(a)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.09(2)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.103(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/114.27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/115.31(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.03(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.15(5)(a)1.a.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.15(5)(a)1.b.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.20(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/120.13(35)(b)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.04(13)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(1)(b)2.b.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(1)(b)2.c.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(1)(b)2.d.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.07(2)(b)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

125.085 (3) (a) 1.

125.105 (2) (a)

125.11 (1)
125.11(3)

125.22 (3) (a)

125.23 (6) (a)

125.28 (5) (d) 1.

125.315(2)

125.33 (7) (d)

125.33 (9) (b)

125.33 (9) ()

125.54 (7) (0) 1.

125.545 (7) (a)

125.545 (7) (b)

125.65 (9)

125.66 (1)

125.66 (4)

Falsification of proof of age to show that an
underage person has attained the legal drinking
age

Impersonating an inspector of the Department of
Revenue or Department of Justice with the intent
to mislead

Various violations relating to alcoholic beverages

Refusing to permit an examination of premises

Failure of a common carrier to obtain a permit prior
to commencing delivery of alcohol beverages

Failure of a fulfillment house to obtain a permit

Violations relating to fermented malt beverage
wholesalers’ permits

Evading provisions of law by giving away
fermented malt beverages

Violations by fermented malt beverage retail
licensees relating to retail purchase credit

Campuses purchasing or possessing fermented

malt beverages in an amount exceeding 4,320 fl. oz.

in one month from anybody other than a licensed
wholesaler

Class “B” licensee or permittee purchasing or
possessing fermented malt beverages from a Class
“A” licensee for resale

Violations of wholesaler requirements

Distributing wine directly to a retailer rather than a
wholesaler by a winery or manufacturer

Preferential treatment to a Wisconsin winery or
manufacturer or discrimination against an out-
of-state winery or manufacturer by a cooperative
wholesaler

Violations relating to permits for wholesale sales
for future delivery to solicit orders of intoxicating
liquor

Selling intoxicating liquor without a required
license or permit

Selling of intoxicating liquor by a Class A liquor
licensee to a Class B liquor licensee for resale

Evading provisions of law by giving away
intoxicating liquor

$300-$1,250, 10-30 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days
$50-$500, 10-90 days

max. $10,000

max. $10,000

max. $10,000

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100

max. $10,000

max. $10,000

max. $10,000

$100-$500, 30 days-6

months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100

max. $10,000, 9 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.545(7)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.545(7)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.65(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.66(1)
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/125.67

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

125.68 (8) (a)

125.68 (9) (9)

125.69 (4) (d)

125.69 (6) (b)

125.69 (6) ()

126.87 (2) (b)

132.01 and 132.03

132.02 and 132.03

132.032

Selling diluted intoxicating liquor as undiluted
intoxicating liquor

Intoxicating liquor violations relating to labels,
contents, and packaging

Violations by intoxicating liquor retail licensees
relating to retail purchase credit

Campuses purchasing intoxicating liquor from
anybody other than a licensed wholesaler (if the
total volume of liquor in 1 month is more than 12
liters)

Purchasing of intoxicating liquor by a Class B liquor
licensee from a Class A liquor licensee for resale

Various violations relating to agricultural producer
security

Violations relating to labeling marks

Violations relating to duplication or reproduction of
labeling marks

Fraudulent labeling mark filing

Willfully and unlawfully converting a labeling mark
to one’s own use

Possession of unlabeled convict-made products for
the purpose of sale

Unlawful use of registered organizations’insignia
or names

Unauthorized wearing of certain badges
Unlawful use of gaseous compounds in containers
Use of a labeling mark without authority

Price discrimination with the intent to destroy
competition

Unfair trade practices through secret rebates

Willfully or maliciously causing injury to the
reputation or trade of a business

Blacklisting and coercion of employees
Preventing pursuit of work

Sale of certain merchandise by employers to
employees
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$150-$500, 60 days-6
months

$500-51,000, 3 months-1
year

max. $1,000

$1,000-510,000

max. $100

max. $10,000, 1 year

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 6 months

max. $10,000, 6 months

$100-$500, max. 90 days

max. $100, 60 days

max. $20, 30 days
max. $1,000, 1 year
max. $100, 3 months

max. $25,000, 1 year

max. $25,000, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

$100-$500
max. $100, 6 months
$100-5500 (1st offense);

$500-51,000 (2nd+
offenses)
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/126.87(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.02
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.032
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.13(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.16(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.17
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.18(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/132.19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/133.04(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/133.05(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.02(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.04(2)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

134.05 (4) Bribery of an agent or employee with intent to max. $10,000, 9 months
influence business action

134.06 Bonus to chauffeurs for purchases max. $25

134.10 (1) Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or $50-$200, max. 6 months
insurer by persons engaged in financing

134.11 (1) Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or $50-$200, max. 6 months
insurer by persons engaged in selling property

134.15 (1) Issuing and using counterfeit money max. $100, 6 months

134.17 (1) Unlawful use of a corporate name with the intentto  max. $1,000, 1 year
obtain credit

134.19 Fraud on exemption laws $10-$50

134.21 Unauthorized presentation of dramatic plays $5-$100, max. 60 days

134.25 (1) (a) and
134.32

134.26 (1) and 134.32

134.27 (1) and 134.32

134.28 and 134.32
134.30 and 134.32
134.31 and 134.32
134.33 (8)

134.35 (2)

134.405 (5) (ad)

134.405 (5) (ah)

13441 (1)

134.45 (3) (a)

Misbranding of gold articles

Misbranding of sterling silver articles
Misbranding of coin silver articles

Misbranding of base silver articles

Misbranding of gold-plated articles
Misbranding of silver-plated articles

Unlawful platinum stamping

Violation of endorsed time of filing on telegrams

Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or giving
preference in the transmission of such messages

Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or
forging the name of the intended receiver

Fraudulent knowledge of a telegraph dispatch or
injury or interference with wires

Violations relating to the purchase and sale of
certain scrap material (1st offense)

Violations relating to the purchase and sale of
certain scrap material (2nd offense)

Poles and wires on private property without the
owner’s consent

Entering into a contract to restrict days for
exhibiting motion picture films

$25-$500, max. 3 months

$25-$500, max. 3 months
$25-$500, max. 3 months
$25-$500, max. 3 months
$25-$500, max. 3 months
$25-$500, max. 3 months
max. $1,000, 6 months

unclassified misdemeanor

max. $500, 1 year

max. $500, 1 year

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $25

$25-$300 (1st offense);
$300-$500 (2nd+
offenses)
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.05(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.06
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.10(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.11(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.15(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.17(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.21
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.25(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.26(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.27(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.28
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.30
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.31
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.33(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.35(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.36
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.37
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.39
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.405(5)(ad)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.405(5)(ah)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.41(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.45(3)(a)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
134.50 (3) Violations relating to poultry dealing $10-$100 (1st offense);
$25-$500, max. 90 days
(2nd+ offenses)
134.50 (4) Giving a false name or address to a poultry dealer 30 days-1 year
by any person selling poultry
134.52 (4) Unlawful shipment of chickens $10-$50, 10-30 days
134.53 (4) Transporting cattle without documents containing  max. $500, 3 months
required information
134.57 Failure by an employer or its employed detective to  $100-5500, 3 months-1
submit facts of a case relating to settlement with an  year
employee
134.60 Unlawful cutting or transportation of evergreen $10-$100
trees
134.60 Unauthorized signing, lending, transferring, use, $100-$500
or soliciting of a consent form or certified copy
relating to cutting or transportation of evergreen
trees
134.65 (5) Violations relating to cigarette and tobacco $25-$100 (1st offense);
products retailer licenses $25-$300, max. 60 days
(2nd+ offenses)
134.69 Peddling finger alphabet cards $25-$100, max. 90 days
134.715 (3) Selling certain merchandise without proof of max. $500, 30 days
ownership at a flea market
134.97 (4) (b) Possession of a record that was disposed of by max. $1,000, 90 days

138.05 and 138.06 (2)

138.051 and 138.06 (2)

138.052 and 138.06 (2)

138.09 (10)

138.10 (14)

138.12 (3) (a)

138.14 (15) (a)

138.20 (2)

a financial institution, medical business, or tax
preparation business

Violations relating to the maximum lending rate,
prepayment, and disclosure

Violations relating to residential mortgage loans
Violations relating to residential mortgage loans
Violations relating to licensed lenders

Receiving interest or charges greater than
permitted by a pawnbroker

Engaging in the business of financing insurance
premiums without a license

Violations relating to payday loans

Discrimination in granting credit or loans
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$25-%$500, max. 6 months

$25-$500, max. 6 months
$25-$500, max. 6 months
max. $500, 6 months

max. $500, 1 year

max. $200

max. $500, 6 months

max. $1,000


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.50(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.50(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.52(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.53(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.57
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.65(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.69
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.715(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/134.97(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.05
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.06(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.051
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.06(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.052
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.06(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.09(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.10(14)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.12(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.14(15)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/138.20(2)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

139.03 (5) ()

139.05 (7) (d)

139.05 (7) (f)

139.25 (6)

139.25(7)

139.25 (8)

139.25 (10)

139.44 (2)

139.44 (2m) (a)

139.44 (3)

139.44 (4)

139.44 (5)

139.44 (6)

139.44 (8) (a)

139.44 (8) (am)

139.85 (1)

140.02 (1) (k)

Entering the state in unlawful possession of
intoxicating liquor or wine

Shipping into the state or knowingly receiving
fermented malt beverages from a brewer without a
valid license

Shipping into the state, receiving, or selling within
the state fermented malt beverages produced

in a state with laws discriminating against any
production ingredient

Failure to furnish data or returns relating to
beverage taxes to the Department of Revenue

Evading beverage taxes through fraudulent
reporting

Assisting another in evading beverage taxes
through fraudulent reporting

Various violations relating to beverage taxes

Making or signing a fraudulent report relating to
cigarette and tobacco taxes

Evading, attempting to evade, or aiding or abetting
the evasion or attempted evasion of an excise tax
imposed on cigarettes, tobacco products, and
electronic vaping devices (if amount of tax is more
than $2,500)

Failure to keep required records relating to
cigarette and tobacco taxes

Refusal by a cigarette or tobacco retailer to permit a
state inspector to examine records

Various violations relating to cigarette and tobacco
taxes

Various violations of Department of Revenue rules
relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes

Possession of cigarettes without proper payment of
cigarette tax (if the number of cigarettes does not
exceed 200)

Possession of cigarettes without proper payment
of cigarette tax (if the number of cigarettes exceeds
200 but does not exceed 3,000)

Violations relating to tobacco tax records or returns

Violations relating to actions of a notary public (1st
offense)

$25-$500, max. 90 days
(1st offense); $100-$500,
max. 6 months (2nd+
offenses)

unclassified misdemeanor

unclassified misdemeanor

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

$50-$500, 10-90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-5500, max. 6
months

max. $500, 90 days
$100-51,000, 10-90 days
$100-$500, max. 6

months

max. $200, 6 months

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.03(5)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.05(7)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.05(7)(f)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.25(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.25(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.25(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.25(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/139/ii/44/2m/a
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(8)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.44(8)(am)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/139.85(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/140.02(1)(k)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

145.12 (1)

145.12 (2)

145.12 (3)

145.26 (6)

146.085 (2)

146.60 (9) (ag)

146.60 (9) (am)

146.60 (9) (b)

146.84 (2) (a)

153.45 (5) and 153.78

1)

153.50 and 153.78 (1)

153.75(1) (a) and
153.78 (1)
154.15 (1)

154.29 (1)

154.29 (3)

154.30 (10)

155.80 (1)

155.80 (2)

155.80 (3)

Acting as a plumber or automatic fire sprinkler
contractor without a license

Various violations relating to plumbing, fire
protection, or swimming pools

Falsely representing an apprentice to be a
journeyman by a master plumber

Violations relating to public swimming pool plan
reviews

Charging an admission fee to use a toilet

Failure to provide notice of a release of genetically
engineered organisms into the environment (1st
offense)

Failure to provide notice of a release of genetically
engineered organisms into the environment (2nd+
offenses)

Confidentiality violation relating to records for
notices of a release of genetically engineered
organisms into the environment

Violations relating to patient health care records

Unlawful release of certain health care information
by the Department of Health Services

Patient confidentiality violations relating to health
care information

Violations of Department of Health Services rules
relating to certain health care information

Intentionally tampering with a declaration to
physicians without the consent of the declarant

Willfully tampering with the do-not-resuscitate
bracelet of another person without that person’s
consent

Intimidating another into signing a do-not-
resuscitate order

Intentionally tampering with an authorization for
final disposition of another without the declarant’s
consent

Intimidating another into executing a power of
attorney for health care instrument

Intentionally tampering with a power of attorney
for health care instrument

Falsifying a power of attorney for health care
instrument
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$100-$500, 30 days

max. $500, 3 months

max. $25, 30 days

$100-5$5,000

$10-$50

$100-$25,000, max. 1

year

max. $50,000, 9 months

$50-$50,000, 1-6 months

max. $25,000, 9 months

max. $15,000, 1 year

max. $15,000, 1 year

max. $15,000, 1 year

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 9 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/145.12(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/145.12(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/145.12(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/145.26(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.085(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.60(9)(ag)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.60(9)(am)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.60(9)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.84(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.45(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.78(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.78(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.50
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.78(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.75(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/153.78(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/154.15(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/154.29(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/154.29(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/154.30(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/155.80(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/155.80(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/155.80(3)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
155.80 (4) Intentionally withholding knowledge of the max. $1,000, 9 months
revocation of a power of attorney for health care or
of the falsification of a power of attorney for health
care instrument
155.80 (5) Attempting to act as a health care agent basedona max. $1,000, 9 months
false power of attorney for health care
157.60 Making a public easement in a cemetery max. $3,000, 1 year
157.64 (2) Various violations relating to the disposition of max. $5,000, 90 days
human remains (1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)
157.70 (10) (e) Disturbing a burial site for commercial gain not max. 2x value gained or
related to use of the land where a burial site is lost, 1 year
located
165.55 (13) Neglect by an officer to comply with certain arson $25-$200
investigation requirements
165.77 (5) Intentionally disseminating a biological specimen max. $500, 30 days
in an unauthorized manner
167.07 (5) Violations relating to the manufacture, storage, or $5-$25 (1st offense); min.
distribution of matches $25 (2nd+ offenses)
167.10 (9) (@) Violation of a court order enjoining the sale, use, max. $10,000, 9 months
storage, or handling of fireworks
167.151 Unlawful operation of corn shredders $25-$100
167.18 Failure to cover or secure threshing machine joints ~ $2-$50
167.20 (2) Failure to provide stairway guards $25-$100, 30 days-6
months
167.25 (1) Discarding or abandoning a refrigerator without its  max. $50, 30 days
door removed
167.26 (6) Leaving unguarded ice holes max. $100, 6 months
167.27 (7) Violations relating to capping and filling wells or $10-$200, max. 6 months
similar structures
167.30 (1) Use of firearms near a public park, square, or $1-$25, max. 60 days

167.31 (3) ()

168.12 (6) (f)

168.12 (6) (9)

169.45 (2) (b)

enclosure

Unlawful transport of a firearm, bow, or crossbow
on an aircraft

Signing or verifying a fraudulent claim for aviation
fuel allowance

Assisting another in making a fraudulent claim for
aviation fuel allowance

Unlawfully selling or purchasing a live wild animal

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

$100-52,000, max. 6
months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/155.80(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/155.80(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/157.60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/157.64(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/157.70(10)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/165.55(13)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/165.77(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.07(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.10(9)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.151
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.18
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.20(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.25(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.26(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.27(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.30(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/167.31(3)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/168.12(6)(f)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/168.12(6)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/169.45(2)(b)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

169.45 (2) (d)

169.45 (2) (e)

169.45 (2) (q)

169.45 (5) (a)

169.45 (8) (a) 2.

172.015

173.41 (15) (a)

175.05 (5)
175.09 (3)

175.10 (2)

175.15 (2)

175.15(3)

175.20 (3)

175.25 (5)

17532 (5)

175.35(3) (a) and (b) 1.

175.37 (2)

175.44 (3) (b)

Unlawfully taking bear or deer from the wild
Unlawfully taking a harmful wild animal from the
wild

Obtaining a license relating to captive wildlife
during a period of revocation

Repeat violations relating to captive wildlife within
a period of 5 years

Engaging in activity authorized by a captive wildlife
license during a period of revocation or suspension

Permitting livestock on highways

Operating an animal shelter or dog dealer without
alicense

Violations relating to dogs

Willfully entering upon certain posted premises
without permission

Going upon closed or restricted highways
Failure to use standard time in a place of business

Sale of certain merchandise to employees by state
agencies or any political subdivision thereof

Attending an endurance contest lasting more than
16 hours in any 24 hour period over a period of
more than 6 days in 1 month

Operating an endurance contest lasting more than
16 hours in any 24 hour period over a period of
more than 6 days in 1 month

Operating an amusement place without a required
license

Violations relating to the storage of junk
automobiles

Failure to report a threat to the health or safety of a
student or school employee or the public

Intentional violations relating to waiting periods for
the purchase of handguns

Failure to provide to the buyer of a firearm a written
warning before transferring the firearm

Intentional failure to report noncompliant use of
force by a law enforcement officer
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$1,000-52,000, max. 6
months

$500-55,000, max. 6
months

max. $200, 90 days
max. $100, 6 months

$500-51,000

max. $200

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 60 days

max. $50, 30 days

max. $50, 10 days
$25-$500, 10-30 days

$100-$500, 30-90 days

$5-%25, max. 10 days

$100-$500, 10 days-1
year

max. $10,000, 9 months

$10-$50, max. 30 days

max. $1,000, 6 months

$500-510,000, max. 9

months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 6 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/169.45(2)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/169.45(2)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/169.45(2)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/169.45(5)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/169.45(8)(a)2.
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/174.15
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.05(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.05(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.09(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.10(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.15(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.15(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.20(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.25(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.32(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.35(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.35(3)(b)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.37(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.44(3)(b)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

175.44 (4) (c)

175.60 (17) (aq)

175.60 (17) (ar)

175.60 (17) (b)

175.60 (17) (e)

177.1204 (1) (<)

182.0175 (3r)
185.94 (2)
186.03 (4)

191.13 (6)

192.292

192.327 (8)

193.105 (2)

193.311 (6) ()

195.286 (6)

196.171 (3)

196.525 (3)

196.60 (1) (b)

196.604

196.65 (1)

Intentional failure to intervene or report an
intervention to prevent or stop another law
enforcement officer from noncompliant use of force

Violations relating to the maintenance, use and
publication of records relating to licenses to carry a
concealed weapon

Use of excessive force by a law enforcement officer
based solely on an individual’s status as a licensee
to carry a concealed weapon

Carrying a concealed weapon in certain places

Failure to relinquish or deliver a revoked or
suspended license to carry a concealed weapon

Filing a false or fraudulent report relating to
unclaimed property

Damage to transmission facilities
Improper use of the term “cooperative”
Improper use of the term “credit union”

Falsely representing a temporary railroad to be
something other than a temporary railroad

Trains obstructing highways

Violation by a railroad company to comply with
an order from the Office of the Commissioner of
Railroads relating to transport of railroad workers
by motor vehicle

Misuse of the term “cooperative”

Agricultural product and commodity marketing
contract interference

Interference with advance warning signs for
railroad highway crossings

Obstructing an officer performing inspections
duties for meters, pipes, fittings, wires, and works

Unlawful loans to officers or directors of a public
utility and loans to and investments in securities of
holding companies

Discrimination in services or charges by an officer
of a public utility

Unlawful rebates, concessions, and discriminations
from a public utility service

Violations by an officer of a public utility relating to
information and records

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

$1,000-$25,000, max. 6

months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $100

max. $5,000

max. $500, 6 months

max. $500, 15 days

max. $500

max. $250

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $25

max. $25

max. $10,000

$50-$2,500

$50-55,000

$100-$2,500
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.44(4)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.60(17)(ag)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.60(17)(ar)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.60(17)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/175.60(17)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/177.1204(1)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/182.0175(3r)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/185.94(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/186.03(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/191.13(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/192.292
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/192.327(8)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/193.105(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/193.311(6)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/195.286(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/196.171(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/196.525(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/196.60(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/196.604
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/196.65(1)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

196.65 (1) Violations by an agent of a public utility relatingto ~ $100-$5,000
information and records

196.65 (1) Violations by an employee of a public utility $100-$1,000
relating to information and records

196.65 (3) (b) Violations by telecommunications workers relating ~ $100-$25,000

196.65 (3) ()

196.67 (3)

196.69 (1)

199.105 (3)

199.14 (3)

200.35 (6) (b)

215.11 (7)
215.21(23)

215.26 (6)

218.0147 (3)
218.02 (10)
218.04 (12)

218.05 (15)

218.11 (5m)

218.205 (1)

to information and records

Violations relating to information and records
under the direction of a telecommunications
provider

Failure by a public utility to place warning signs
near certain overhead electrical supply lines

Interference with Public Service Commission
equipment

Interfering with the utility service of another who
contributes to the Citizens Utility Board

Corrupt practices and conflicts of interest with the
Citizen Utility Board

Failure to comply with a requirement by the
Metropolitan Sewerage District Commission to
remove obstructions

Violating a restraining order or injunction

Offering for sale nonstandard hose couplings,
fittings, or apparatus fittings for fire hoses

Failure to furnish a surety bond
False statement in a loan application

Acting on behalf of any unauthorized savings and
loan association

Business with or for an unauthorized investment
association

Unlawful sale of a motor vehicle to a minor
Violations relating to adjustment service companies
Violations relating to collection agencies

Violations relating to community currency
exchanges

Violations relating to recreational vehicle dealers

Conducting the business of a motor vehicle salvage
dealer without a license
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$500-525,000

$50-$5,000

max. $5,000, 30 days

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

$100

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

$100-$500

$10

max. $1,000, 6 months
$100-$500

$100-$1,000, 3 months-1
year

max. $200, 6 months
max. $500, 90 days

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $2,000, 9 months

$25-5100

$500-$5,000, max. 60
days


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/196.65(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/196/65/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/196/65/3/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/196/65/3/c
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/196/67/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/196/69/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/199/105/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/199/14/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/200/ii/35/6/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/202/i/06/6/c/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/213.15
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/215.11(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/215.21(23)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/215.26(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/216.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.0147(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.02(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.04(12)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.05(15)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.11(5m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.205(1)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

218.23 (3) (a) Violations relating to the sale of a vehicle to motor ~ $25-$200, max. 60 days
vehicle salvage dealers and maintenance of records

218.23 (3) (b) Violation relating to junking or wrecking a motor max. $250 (1st offense);
vehicle $750 (2nd offense); $1,500

(3rd+ offenses)

218.24 (4) Failure to lawfully display a salvage dealer license $25-5200, max. 60 days
number on trucks and truck-tractors

218.305 Auctioning motor vehicles at wholesale without a $25-$200, max. 60 days
license

218.33 (3) Violations relating to conducting the businessofa  $25-$200, max. 60 days
motor vehicle auction dealer

218.43 Violations relating to moped dealers $25-5100

218.53 Violations relating to motor vehicle salvage pools $1,000-$10,000, max. 90
and buyer identification days

220.06 (3) (b) Redisclosure of information in examination reports ~ $100-$1,000, max. 6
possessed by a bank months

221.0525 Failure to certify transferred stock max. $100

221.0610 (5) (c)

223.08

224.03

224.06 (7)

224.07

224.80 (1)

230.43 (3)

231.02 (6) (a)

236.31 (1)
236.32

236.33

236.35 (2)

False entries in the minute book for meetings of the
board of directors of a bank

Unlawful use of the word “trust”

Unlawful banking without a charter

Violations relating to fidelity bonds for bank officers
and employees

Violation of requirements to clear checks at par

Various violations relating to mortgage bankers,
loan originators, and mortgage brokers

Obstruction or falsifications of civil service
examinations

Conflicts of interest for members of the Wisconsin
Health and Educational Facilities Authority

Transfer of lots without a recorded plat
Disturbing or not placing monuments

Unlawfully dividing land into small parcels in cities
of the first class

Sale of lands abutting on a private way outside the
corporate limits of a municipality

$100-$500, 30 days-6
months

$300-51,000, 60 days-1
year

$300-$1,000, 60 days-1
year

$100

unclassified misdemeanor

max. $25,000, 9 months

$50-51,000, max. 1 year

$50-$1,000, max. 30 days

max. $500, 6 months
max. $250, 1 year

$100-$500, max. 6
months

max. $200, 30 days
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.23(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.23(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.24(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.305
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.33(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.43
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/218.53
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/220.06(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/221.0525
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/221.0610(5)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/223.08
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/224.03
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/224.06(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/224.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/224.80(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/230.43(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/231.02(6)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/236.31(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/236.32
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/236.33
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/236.35(2)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
241.025 Contracts for employment unclassified misdemeanor
250.04 (7) Violations of Department of Health Services rules $10-$100

250.045 (5) (a)

250.045 (5) (b)

252.06 (4) (b) 2.

252.15(9)

252.25

254.30 (2) (b)

254.59 (2)

254.59 (4)

254.59 (5)

254.92 (2m) (b)

254.92 (2m) (<)

254.92 (2m) (d)

255.04 (10) (a)
256.30 (7)
256.35 (10) (a)

256.35 (10) (b)

280.97

283.91 (3)

283.91 (4)

governing the duties of local health officers
Violations relating to pharmaceutical drugs and
order authority of the Department of Health
Services

Obstructing a Department of Health Services
employee in performing duties relating to
pharmaceutical drugs

Unauthorized entrance into isolation or quarantine
premises

Unlawful disclosure of the results of an HIV test
causing bodily or psychological harm

Various violations relating to communicable
diseases

Various violations relating to toxic substances and
environmental health

Maintaining certain human health hazards

Refusal to allow a local health officer to enter into
and examine a place to ascertain health conditions

Maintaining certain human health hazards

Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (2nd
offense in 30 months)

Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (3rd
offense in 30 months)

Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (4th+
offenses in 30 months)

Unlawful use of information from cancer reporting
Refusal or delay of emergency service
Unlawfully dialing “911”

Unlawful use of information from emergency
medical services

Various violations relating to pure drinking water

Various violations relating to pollution discharge

False statements in pollution discharge elimination
documents
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max. $10,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $50,000, 9 months

max. $500, 30 days

$100-5$5,000

max. $300, 90 days

$10-$100

max. $300, 90 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $15,000, 1 year
max. $1,000
$100-$600, max. 90 days

max. $10,000

$10-$100, max. 30 days

$10-$25,000, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$10-$50,000, 1 year

(2nd+ offenses)

$10-$10,000, max. 6
months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/241.025
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/250.04(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/250.045(5)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/250.045(5)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/252.06(4)(b)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/252.15(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/252.25
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.30(2)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.59(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.59(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.59(5)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.92(2m)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.92(2m)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/254.92(2m)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/255.04(10)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/256.30(7)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/256.35(10)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/256.35(10)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/280.97
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/283.91(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/283.91(4)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
285.87 (2) (a) Various violations relating to air pollution max. $25,000, 6 months
291.97 (2) (a) False statements or tampering with hazardous $100-$25,000, max. 1
waste management documents year
293.87 (2) False statements in a metallic mining application $1,000-$5,000
295.37 (1) False statements in an application relating to oil $1,000-$5,000
and gas
295.79 (3) False statements in a mining permit application $1,000-$5,000

299.53 (4) (c) 2.

299.62 (3) (b)

299.83 (10)

299.85 (10)

301.12 (14) (e) 4.

301.45 (6) (a) 2.

301.45 (6) (aq) 2.

301.45 (6) (am)

301.47 (3) (b)

301.475 (2) (a)

302.07

302.375 (1m)

302.375(2)

302.375(3) (a)

321.62 (5) (d)

321.62 (11) ()

False statements in a use oil fuel notification

2nd violation relating to unlawful transport of oil or
hazardous material in bulk on certain waterways

False statements relating to the Green Tier Program

False statements relating to the Environmental
Compliance Audit Program

Using an assignment of child support to
discriminate against an employee

Failure to provide information for sex offender
registration

Unlawful establishment or change of residence by
a sex offender

Failure to keep confidential information relating to
sex offender registration

Sex offender name changes

Sex offender on school premises without providing
notice

Failure to obey commands to maintain order in a
prison

Selling or giving a prisoner liquor or dangerous
drugs

Use of intoxicating liquor by a prisoner

Allowing prisoners of different sexes to participate
together in treatment or activities

Making or using a false affidavit relating to service
members civil relief

Taking part in the eviction of family of a service
member during a period of state active duty
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max. $25,000, 1 year

$10,000-$25,000, max. 6
months

$10-$10,000, max. 6
months

$10-$10,000, max. 6
months

max. $500

max. $10,000, 9 months
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $500, 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/285.87(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/291.97(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/293.87(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/295.37(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/295.79(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/299.53(4)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/299.62(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/299.83(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/299.85(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/301.12(14)(e)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/301.45(6)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/301.45(6)(ag)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/301.45(6)(am)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/301.47(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/301.475(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/302.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/302.375(1m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/302.375(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/302.375(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/321.62(5)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/321.62(11)(c)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

321.62 (12) (c) 2.

321.62 (14) (e)

321.62 (15) ()

322.048

323.60 (11) (d)

341.45 (6) (a)

341.45 (6) (b)

341.60

342.15 (5m) (b)

342.15 (6) (b)

342.16 (4) (b)

343.05 (5) (am) 1.

343.05 (5) (am) 2.

343.05 (5) (am) 3.

343.05(5) (b) 1.

343.12 (9) (a)

343.12 (9) (b)

343.12(9) (9

343.14 (9)

Causing a foreclosure, sale, or seizure of property
for any breach of terms occurring within 90 days
after a service member’s period of active duty

Seizing or retaining personal property belonging to
a service member who lawfully terminates a lease

Enforcing a lien for storage of household goods or
furniture of a service member during a period of
state active duty

Contempt before a military judge

Releasing certain trade secrets relating to
hazardous substances entitled to protection

False information in a form relating to the
regulation of importation in vehicle tanks

Failure or refusal to make a report or payment
relating to the regulation of importation in vehicle
tanks

Fraudulent application for a vehicle registration or
license

Fraud relating to a transfer of interest in a vehicle
Failure to apply for a new certificate of title
immediately upon transfer of a vehicle with intent

to defraud

Transferring a motor vehicle without disclosing
certain information with intent to defraud

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (1st
offense)

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (2nd
offense in 3 years)

Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (3rd+
offenses in 3 years)

Operating a non-commercial motor vehicle without
a required license

Operating a school bus without authorization (1st
offense)

Operating a school bus without authorization (2nd
offense in 3 years)

Operating a school bus without authorization (3rd+
offenses in 3 years)

Committing fraud in an application for a motor
vehicle license or identification card
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max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100, max. 30 days

$100-520,000, max. 1
year

max. $500, 6 months

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $200, 6 months

max. $5,000

max. $1,000, 30 days

max. $5,000

$200-$600, max. 6
months

$300-51,000, 5 days-6
months

$1,000-$2,000, 10 days-6
months

max. $300, 30 days (2nd
offense); $500, 6 months
(3rd+ offenses)

$200-$600, max. 6
months

$300-51,000, 5 days-6
months

$1,000-$2,000, 10 days-6
months

max. $1,000, 6 months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/321.62(12)(c)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/321.62(14)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/321.62(15)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/322.048
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/323.60(11)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/341.45(6)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/341.45(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/341.60
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/342.15(5m)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/342.15(6)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/342.16(4)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.05(5)(am)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.05(5)(am)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.05(5)(am)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.05(5)(b)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.12(9)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.12(9)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.12(9)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.14(9)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
343.16 (7) (a) Securing the services of another person to takean  $100-$200, max. 6
examination for a vehicle license months
343.16 (7) (b) Taking an examination for a vehicle license in the $100-$200, max. 6
place of another person months (1st offense);
$200-$500, max. 1 year
(2nd+ offenses)
343.19 (4) False statements relating to duplicate motor vehicle max. $1,000, 6 months

343.245 (4) (b)

343.28 (4)

343.315(1m)

343.43 (3) (a)

343.43 (3) (b)

343.43 (3) (¢)

343.43 3m)

343.44 (2) (ar) 2.

343.44 (2) (ar) 2m.

343.44 (2) (ar) 3.

343.44 (2) (ar) 4.

343.44 (2) (br)

344.48 (2)

licenses or identification cards

Allowing certain unauthorized employees to
operate a commercial motor vehicle

Failure to comply with requirements for courts to
forward records of convictions to the Department
of Transportation

Employers allowing drivers to operate a commercial
motor vehicle during a period of disqualification

Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (1st offense)

Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (2nd
offense in 3 years)

Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (3rd+
offenses in 3 years)

Violations relating to operating a “Class D" or “Class
M”vehicle (2nd+ offenses in 3 years)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (if the revocation did not
result from causing bodily har m)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (2nd+ offenses)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (if the operator causes great
bodily harm to another person and does not know
his or her operating privileges have been revoked)

Operating a vehicle while operating privilege is
revoked or restricted (if the operator causes the
death of another person and does not know his or
her operating privileges have been revoked)

Operating a commercial vehicle while license is
disqualified

Forged proof relating to financial responsibility of
avehicle

$2,750-$25,000, max. 90
days

max. $100, 6 months

max. $5,000, 90 days
$200-$600, max. 6
months

$300-5$1,000, 5 days-6
months

$1,000-52,000, 10 days-6
months

max. $300, 30 days (2nd
offense); $500, 6 months
(3rd+ offenses)

max. $2,500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 1 year

$5,000-$7,500, max. 1
year

$7,500-$10,000, max. 1
year

max. $2,500, 1 year

max. $10,000, 9 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.28(4)
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
345.37 (6) Failure to forward records of convictions to the max. $100
Department of Transportation
346.17 (21) Knowingly resisting a traffic officer by failing to stop max. $10,000, 9 months
a vehicle after receiving a visible or audible signal
to stop
346.17 (5) (b) Failing or refusing to comply with an order from max. $10,000, 9 months

346.22 (1) (b) 2.

346.43 (1) (b) 3. b.

346.49 (1) () 2.

346.60 (3m) (a) 2.

346.65 (1) (b)

346.65 (2) (am) 2.

346.65 (2) (am) 3.

346.65 (2) (f) 1.

a traffic officer or disobeying the instructions of a
traffic sign where persons engaged in highway or
railroad maintenance or construction, utility work,
or emergency response are present, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Failing to yield the right-of-way at an intersection
with a yield sign where persons engaged in
highway or railroad maintenance or construction,
utility work, or emergency response are present,
resulting in bodily harm to another person

Committing certain traffic violations while
operating a vehicle where persons are engaged in
highway or railroad maintenance or construction,
utility work, or emergency response, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Committing certain traffic violations while
operating a vehicle where persons are engaged in
highway or railroad maintenance or construction,
utility work, or emergency response, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Committing various speed violations while
operating a vehicle where persons are engaged in
highway or railroad maintenance or construction,
utility work, or emergency response, resulting in
bodily harm to another person

Two or more reckless driving convictions

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations within 10 years
equals 2)

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior
convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations equals 3)

Operating a vehicle under the influence of an
intoxicant or other drug (if there was a minor
passenger in the motor vehicle at the time of the
violation)
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max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$100-$1,000, max. 1 year

$350-5$1,100, 5 days-6
months

$600-$2,000, 45 days-1
year

$350-51,100, 5 days-6
months


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/345.37(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/346.17(2t)
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/346.65(2)(am)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/346.65(2)(am)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/346.65(2)(f)1.

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

346.65 (2j) (am) 2.

346.65 (2j) (am) 3.

346.65 (2q)

346.65 (3)

346.65 (3m)

346.65 (4)

346.65 (5m) (b)

346.74 (5) (a)

346.74 (5) (b)

347.50 (1m)

347.50 (1s)

347.50 (2)

349.25 (1)

350.11 (3) (a) 2.

Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration
of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 (if the number of
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations equals 2)

Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration
of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 (if the number of
prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated
operation of a vehicle plus the total number of
other suspensions and revocations equals 3 or
more)

Operation of a vehicle by a person who has not
attained the legal drinking age with an alcohol
concentration of more than 0.0 but less than 0.08 (if
accompanied by a minor under 16 years of age)

Causing bodily harm to another by the negligent
operation of a vehicle

Causing injury to another by operating a vehicle
under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug
(if the driver has a prohibited alcohol concentration
under 0.08 or detectable controlled substance in
his or her blood)

Employment of drunken operators

Negligent operation of a vehicle where persons are
engaged in highway or railroad maintenance or
construction, utility work, or emergency response,
resulting in bodily harm to another person

Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking a
person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident did
not involve death or injury to a person)

Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking a
person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident
involved injury but not great bodily harm)

Operating a vehicle equipped with a transmitter
emitting a signal to activate an emergency
preemption device

Tampering with an ignition interlock device or
immobilization device

Tampering with an odometer or airbag

Operating a vehicle for hayrack, sleigh, boxsled, or
bobsled rides without a license

Intoxicated snowmobiling (2nd offense in 5 years)

$300-51,000, 5 days-6
months

$600-52,000, 45 days-1
year

$400

$600-54,000, 60 days-2
years

$300-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

$50-$500, max. 6 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$300-51,000, max. 6
months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 1 year

$150-$600, max. 6
months (1st offense);
$300-51,000, max. 6
months (2nd+ offenses)

max. $5,000, 1 year
max. $100, 30 days

$300-51,000, 5 days-6
months
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

350.11 (3) (a) 3.

350.11 (3) (b)

351.08

425.401 (1)

425.401 (2)

440.03 (14) (f)
440.032 (9)

440.21 (4) (b)

440.26 (8)

440.311 (2)

440.495

440.52 (8) (i)

440.52 (13) (b)

440.86 (1)

440.95 (1)

440.95 (2)

440.95 (3)

440.95 (4)

440.981 (2)

Intoxicated snowmobiling (3rd+ offenses in 5 years)

Causing injury to another by intoxicated
snowmobiling; refusal to stop for a law
enforcement officer

Operation of a motor vehicle by a habitual traffic
offender or repeat habitual traffic offender

Various violations relating to consumer transactions

Intentional violation of requirements to notify law
enforcement about repossessing certain motor
vehicle collateral or goods

Violations relating to practicing certain therapies
Violations relating to sign language interpreting
Violating a temporary restraining order or
injunction issued by a court relating to engaging

in a practice without a credential required by the
Department of Safety and Professional Services

Acting as a private detective, investigator, or private
security person without a license or permit

Using the title “behavior analyst” without a license
Violating Department of Safety and Professional
Services rules relating to transportation network

companies

Various violations relating to soliciting students for
courses

Intentional issuance or manufacturing of a false
academic credential

Various violations relating to crematory authorities

Knowing failure by a cemetery authority to be
licensed

Failure by a cemetery salesperson to register with
the Department of Safety and Professional Services

Violations relating to cemetery authorities and

cemetery salespersons

Violations relating to cemetery preneed sellers

Using the title “licensed midwife” without a license
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$600-52,000, 30 days-1
year

$300-5$2,000, 30 days-1
year

max. $5,000, 180 days

max. $2,000

max. $500

max. $200, 6 months
max. $200, 6 months

$25-$5,000, max. 1 year

$100-$500, 3-6 months

max. $250, 3 months

max. $1,000

max. $500, 3 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $100

$25-%$200, max. 6 months

max. $5,000, 6 months
(1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)

max. $5,000, 90 days
(1st offense); $10,000, 9
months (2nd+ offenses)

max. $250, 3 months
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/440.981(2)

Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

440. 9965 Violations by an athlete agent intending to inducea max. $10,000, 9 months
student athlete to enter into an agency contract

441.13(1) Various violations relating to nursing regulation max. $250, 1 year

44211 Violations relating to practicing as a certified public  max. $500, 1 year
accountant without the required credentials

443.18 (1) (a) Violations relating to practicing as an architect or $100-$500, max. 3
engineer without the required credentials months

443.18 (3) Various violations relating to architects, engineers,  max. $500, 3 months
designers, and surveyors

444.16 Various violations relating to the regulation of unclassified misdemeanor
unarmed combat sports

445.15 (1) Various violations relating to funeral directors max. $5,000, 30 days-3

months

445.15 (1m) Requirements by a funeral director or operator max. $5,000
for a client who enters into a burial agreement to
purchase a life insurance policy used to fund the
agreement from a specified insurance intermediary

446.07 Various violations relating to the practice of max. $10,000, 9 months
chiropractic

447.09 Various violations relating to the practice of max. $1,000, 1 year
dentistry

448.09 (1) Billing a patient for a test performed by the state max. $250
laboratory of hygiene by a Medical Examining
Board licensee

448.09 (1) Various violations by any person relating to the max. $10,000, 9 months
Medical Examining Board

448.09 (1m) Various violations by a physician relating to the max. $25,000, 9 months
Medical Examining Board

448.59 Various violations relating to the Physical Therapy max. $10,000, 9 months
Examining Board

448.69 (1) (@) Various violations relating to the Podiatry Affiliated  max. $10,000, 9 months
Credentialing Board

448.69 (1) (b) Billing a patient for a test performed by the state max. $250
laboratory of hygiene by a Podiatry Affiliated
Credentialing Board licensee

448.94 Various violations relating to the Dietitians max. $1,000, 6 months
Affiliated Credentialing Board

448.959 Various violations relating to the Athletic Trainers max. $10,000, 9 months

Affiliated Credentialing Board
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
448.9695 (1) Various violations relating to the Occupational max. $10,000, 9 months
Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board
448.9709 Various violations relating to the Genetic max. $10,000, 9 months
Counselors Affiliated Credentialing Board
448.979 Various violations relating to the Physician Assistant max. $10,000, 9 months
Affiliated Credentialing Board
449.11 Various violations relating to the Optometry $50-$200, max. 3 months
Examining Board (1st offense); $200-5500,
3-6 months (2nd+
offenses)
450.11 (9) (@) Violations relating to prescription drugs and max. $500, 6 months

450.155 (2) (b)

450.16 (3)

450.18

452.137 (5) (b)

452.17 (1)
452.17 (3)

454.16

454.295

455.11

456.09 (2)

458.30

458.45

460.15

463.18

devices

Exhibition, display, or advertisement of certain
vending machines by use of material harmful to
minors

Sale of contraceptives in a public school

Various violations relating to the Pharmacy
Examining Board

Various violations relating to acupuncture

Various violations relating to out-of-state brokers
and salespersons

Acting as a broker or salesperson without a license

Various violations relating to real estate practice

Various violations relating to the Cosmetology
Examining Board

Various violations relating to barbering

Various violations relating to the Psychology
Examining Board

Violations relating to nursing home administration

Various violations relating to the Real Estate
Appraisers Board

Various violations relating to real estate appraisal
management companies

Various violations relating to massage therapy and
bodywork therapy

Violation of laws relating to body art
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max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months
$50-$100, 30-90 days
$100-$1,000, max. 90
days

max. $5,000 or 1 percent
of purchase price or lease/
rental value

max. $5,000, 6 months

max. $5,000, 6 months

$100-$5,000, 10-90 days

$100-$5,000, 10-90 days

max. $200, 6 months

max. $1,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $10,000

max. $1,000, 90 days

max. $500, 30 days
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
466.09 Various violations relating to naturopathic medicine max. $10,000, 9 months
470.09 (2) Various violations relating to the Examining Board max. $10,000

of Professional Geologists, Hydrologists, and Soil

Scientists
480.26 (1) Various violations relating to the Auctioneer Board ~ max. $1,000, 6 months

562.025 and 562.13
(2) (c)

562.05 (1) and 562.13
2) ()

562.06 (5) and 562.13
(2) ()

562.11 (1) and 562.13
(2) (c)

562.13 (2)

563.73 (1)

563.73 (2)

563.99 (1)

565.02 (2m) and 565.50

(1)

565.05 and 565.50 (1)

565.10 (3m) and 565.50

(1)

565.17 and 565.50 (1)

565.25 (3m) and 565.50

)

565.32 (1), (2) (b), or (3)
and 565.50 (1)

565.50 (3)

565.50 (4)

Conflicts of interest relating to racing and pari-
mutuel wagering

Engaging in racing or pari-mutuel wagering
activities without a license

Accepting a wager or making a payout on a wager
to a minor

Violations relating to certain racing or pari-mutuel
wagering activities

False statements in an application for a license
relating to racing and pari-mutuel wagering

Violations relating to restrictions on the conduct of
bingo

Various violations relating to bingo and raffle
control

Various violations relating to raffles

False statements in applications for positions
administering state lottery operations

Conflicts of interest for employees administering
the state lottery

False statements by retailers applying for a state
lottery retail contract

Violations relating to limitations on state lottery
ticket and share sales and purchases

False statements in proposing to contract for a
major procurement for the state lottery

Violations relating to advertising and ticket and
share contents for the state lottery

Possessing an altered, forged, counterfeit, or
illegally obtained lottery ticket or share or a
winning lottery ticket or share for which the prize
has been claimed with intent to defraud

Transferring a lottery ticket or share to another
person, presenting a transferred lottery ticket or
share for payment of a lottery prize, or claiming a
lottery prize from a transferred ticket with intent to
avoid withholding of taxes or other payments

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $5,000, 90 days

max. $1,000, 30 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
610.70(7) (a) Willfully obtaining information about an individual ~ max. $25,000, 9 months
from an insurer under false pretenses
647.07 Various violations relating to continuing care max. $10,000, 9 months
contracts
708.03 Designation of an attorney by a lender for a max. $100
mortgagor
756.255 Use of jury duty service by an employer for a max. $200
discriminatory action
757.22 (5) Judge acting as an attorney or attorney having max. $100
office in the same room with a judge
757.295 (4) Barratry max. $500, 6 months
757.30 (1) Practicing law without a license $50-$500, max. 1 year
757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys max. $500, 6 months
765.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws max. $10,000, 9 months
765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license  max. $10,000, 9 months
765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage $100-$500, max. 6
months
765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties ~ $10-$200, max. 3 months
to the marriage
765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage $10-$50
767.75 (6) () Use of a child or family support assignment by an max. $500

768.07

778.16

778.30 (4)

779.02 (7)

779.42

779.49 (2)

782.38

employer to discriminate against an employee or
applicant

Various violations relating to the abolishment
of actions for breach of promise, alienation of

affection, or criminal conversation

Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform
forfeiture collection duties

Use by an employer of an order assigning
an employee’s income to pay forfeitures to
discriminate against the employee

Wrongful use of materials by a contractor

Obtaining a mechanic’s services by
misrepresentation of interest in personal property

Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam
(animal)

Reimprisonment
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max. $10,000, 9 months

$50-$300, 3-6 months

max. $500

max. $300, 3 months

max. $200, 6 months

max. $10, 60 days

max. $1,000, 6 months
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of max. $1,000, 6 months
habeas corpus
784.10 Failure to deliver books or papers unclassified misdemeanor
784.13 Usurping, intruding into, or unlawfully holdingany ~ max. $2,000
office, franchise, or privilege
785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure max. $5,000, 1 year
785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure max. $500, 30 days

800.095 (1) (c) 11.

800.12 (3)

813.12(8) (a)

813.122 (11)

813.123 (10)

813.125 (7)

813.128 (4)

813.1283 (11m)

813.1285 (8)

823.12

846.40 (10) (d) 1.
846.45 (6) (e)
856.05 (3)

885.11 (3)

939.32 (1) (bm)
939.615 (7) (b) 1.
940.19 (1)

940.195 (1)

Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to
pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against
the employee

Contempt of court including misconduct in the
presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to
appear

Violation of a temporary domestic abuse
restraining order or injunction

Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining
order or injunction

Violation of a temporary restraining order or
injunction for individuals at risk

Violation of a temporary harassment restraining
order or injunction

Violation of a condition of a foreign protection
order

Intentional violation of a Canadian domestic
violation protection order

Violation of court order to surrender a firearm

Violation of various injunctions relating to
nuisances

Fraud relating to foreclosure reconveyances
Violations relating to foreclosure consultants
Failure to deliver a will or suppression of a will

Inexcusable failure by a witness to attend a court of
record

Attempt to commit a Class | felony
Violation of a condition of lifetime supervision
Battery

Battery to an unborn child

max. $500

max. 7 days

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

$200-51,000, 3-6 months

max. $50,000, 1 year
$25-5$10,000, max. 1 year
max. $500, 1 year

max. $200
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

940.22 (3) (d) Failure by a therapist to report sexual exploitation A
by another therapist

940.22 (4) (d) Failure to maintain confidentiality of reports A
and records relating to sexual exploitation by a
therapist

940.225 (3m) 4th degree sexual assault A

940.285 (2) (b) 4. Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under A
circumstances causing bodily harm

940.285 (2) (b) 5. Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under B
circumstances not causing bodily harm

940.291 (1) Failure by a law enforcement officer to render first A
aid

940.291 (2) Law enforcement officer permitting another to fail A
to render first aid

940.295 (3) (b) 4. Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents A
at community residential facilities under
circumstances causing bodily harm

940.295 (3) (b) 5. Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents B
at community residential facilities under
circumstances not causing bodily harm

940.315 (1) Violations relating to use of global positioning A
systems

940.34 (1) (a) Failure to summon law enforcement for a victimof ~ C
a crime causing bodily harm

940.34 (1) (b) Failure by a private detective to notify law C
enforcement of a crime

940.34 (1) (¢) Failure by a private security person to notify law C
enforcement of a crime

940.42 Intimidation of witnesses A

940.44 Intimidation of victims A

941.01 (1) Negligent operation of a vehicle endangering A
another’s safety

941.10 (1) Negligent handling of burning material A

941.12 (2) Interfering with fire fighting A

941.12 (3) Interfering with accessibility to a fire hydrant C

941.13 Intentionally giving a false alarm A

941.20 (1) Endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon A
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

941.23 (2) Unqualified carrying of a concealed weapon A

941.231 Carrying a concealed knife A

941.235 (1) Unqualified carrying of a firearm in a public A
building

941.237 (2) Carrying a handgun where alcoholic beverages A
may be sold and consumed

941.26 (2) (c) Possession of a bomb A

941.26 (4) (b) Intentional use of pepper spray to cause bodily A
harm

941.26 (4) (j) Selling pepper spray without adequate labeling A

941.26 (4) (L) Possession of pepper spray by a felon A

941.299 (3) (@) Directing a laser pointer at law enforcement B

941.315(2) Possession or inhalation of nitrous oxide A

941.316 (2) Possession or abuse of hazardous substances A

941.36 (1) Fraudulent tapping of electric wires, gas, water, C
meters, or pipes

941.37 (2) Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel A

941.38 (3) Violation of a court order to refrain from contacting A
a criminal gang member

941.39 (2) Violation of a court order prohibiting contact with A
victims

941.40 (1) Disturbing telecommunications or electricity lines B
by affecting a structure

941.40 (2) Intentional disturbance of telecommunications or B
electricity lines

941.40 (3) Intentionally causing an electrical connection with A
telecommunications or electricity lines

942.01 (1) Defamation A

942.03 Giving false information for publication A

942.05 Opening letters A

942.06 (3) Use of polygraphs and similar tests B

942.07 (4) Use of genetic tests B

942.08 (2) Invasion of privacy A

942.09 (3m) (a) Posting or publishing certain depictions of persons A
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
942.09 (4) (b) Soliciting an intimate or private representation of A
a child if the person soliciting the representation is
aged 18 or older but under age 21 and the child is
less than 3 years younger in age
942.09 (5) (a) Capturing a representation of a nude person in a A
locker room
942.10 Use of a drone with the intent to photograph, A
record, or observe an individual where the
individual has a reasonable expectation of privacy
943.01 (1) Damage to physical property A
943.014 (2) Demolition of a historic building without A
authorization
943.017 (1) Graffiti A
943.07 (3) Throwing or shooting at railroads B
943.07 (4) Depositing dangerous debris on a railroad track B
943.11 Entry into a locked vehicle A
943.125 (1) Entry into a locked coin box A
943.125(2) Possession of a device intended for breakingintoa A
coin box
943.14 (2) Criminal trespass to dwellings A
943.145 (2) Criminal trespass to a medical facility B
943.15 (1) Entry onto a construction site or into a locked A
building, dwelling, or room
943.20 (3) (a) Theft (if the value of the property does not exceed A
$2,500)
943.204 (3) (a) Theft of fewer than 10 pieces of mail A
943.207 (3m) (a) Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds (if involving A
fewer than 1,000 recordings that do not exceed
$2,500 in value)
943.208 (2) (a) Recording a performance without the consent A
of the performance owner (if involving fewer
than 1,000 sound recordings or 100 audiovisual
recordings during a 180-day period and the value
of the recordings does not exceed $2,500)
943.209 (2) (a) Failure to disclose the manufacturer of a recording A

(if involving fewer than 100 recordings during a
180-day period and the value of the recordings
does not exceed $2,500)
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

943.21 (3) (am) 1.

943.215 (1)

943.23 (3m)

943.23 (4m)

943.23 (5)

943.231 (3)

943.24 (1)
943.26 (1)

943.34 (1) (a)

943.37

943.38 (3)

943.392

943.395 (2) (a)

943.41 (8) (a)

943.41 (8) (c)

943.45 (3) (a)

943.45 (3) (b)

943.45 (3) (d)

943.455 (4) (b)

943.455 (4) ()

Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper, recreational
attraction, taxicab operator, or gas station (if the
value of the service is $2,500 or less)

Absconding without paying rent

Operating a vehicle without the owner’s consent
for less than 24 hours

Riding as a passenger in a vehicle operated without
the owner’s consent

Removal of minor parts of a vehicle without the
owner’s consent

Riding as a passenger in a vehicle operated by a
person carjacking the vehicle

Issuing worthless checks for $2,500 or less
Removing or damaging encumbered real property

Receiving stolen property (if the value of the
property does not exceed $2,500)

Alteration of property identification marks

Forgery; falsely making or altering objects and
certain writings or documents

Fraudulent data alteration

Fraudulent insurance and employee benefit
program claims (if the value of the claim does not
exceed $2,500)

Making false statements to procure a financial
transaction card; theft by taking a card or signing
another’s card

Fraudulent use of a financial transaction card (if the
value of the money, goods, services, or property
does not exceed $2,500)

Theft of telecommunications service (1st offense)

Theft of telecommunications service (2nd+
offenses)

Theft of telecommunications service (for direct or
indirect commercial advantage or private financial
gain)

Theft of commercial mobile service (2nd+ offenses)

Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct or
indirect commercial advantage or private financial
gain)
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class

943.46 (4) (a) Theft of cable television service (1st offense) C

943.46 (4) (b) Theft of cable television service (2nd+ offenses) B

943.46 (4) (c) Theft of cable television service (for direct or A
indirect commercial advantage or private financial
gain)

943.47 (3) (b) Theft of satellite cable programming (2nd+ B
offenses)

943.47 (3) (c) Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct or A
indirect commercial advantage or private financial
gain)

943.49 (2) (b) 1. Use of a recording device in a movie theater A
without written consent

943.50 (4) (a) Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise does A
not exceed $500)

943.61 (5) (a) Theft of library material (if the value of the library A
materials does not exceed $2,500)

943.62 (4) (a) Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan A
for another (if the value of the payment does not
exceed $2,500)

943.70 (2) (b) 1. Computer crimes; offenses against computer data A
and programs

943.70 (3) (b) 1. Computer crimes; offenses against computers, A
computer equipment, or supplies

943.74 (3) (a) Theft of farm-raised fish A

943.75 (2) Unauthorized release of animals C (1st offense); A (2nd

offense)

943.76 (3) (a) Infecting livestock with a contagious disease A
through reckless conduct

943.76 (3) (b) Infecting wild deer with a contagious disease A
through reckless conduct

943.81and 943.91 (1)  Theft from a financial institution (if the value of the A
money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or property
does not exceed $500)

943.82 (1) and 943.91 Fraud against a financial institution (if the value A

(1) of the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or
property does not exceed $500)

943.83and 943.91 (1)  Loan fraud (if the value of the loan does not exceed A
$500)

943.84and 943.91 (1)  Transfer of encumbered property (if the value of A

the property does not exceed $500)
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

943.895 (3) (a)

944.15 (2)
944.17 (2)
944.20 (1)

944.21 (5) (b)

944.23

944.25 (2)

944.30
944.31 (1)
944.33 (1)

944.36

945.02

945.04 (1m)

945.07 (1)

945.08 (2)

946.06 (1)
946.16

946.17

946.32 (2)
946.40 (1)
946.41 (1)

946.42 (2)

946.425 (1m) (a)

Money laundering (if the total value of the
proceeds in the transaction does not exceed
$2,500)

Public fornication

Public sexual gratification

Public lewd or lascivious behavior

Obscene material or performance (if the person has
1 prior obscenity conviction)

Making lewd, obscene, or indecent drawings in
public

Sending obscene or sexually explicit electronic
messages

Prostitution

Patronizing prostitutes (1st or 2nd offense)
Pandering

Solicitation of drinks by an entertainer or employee
of a licensee, permittee, or bartender of a retail
alcohol beverage establishment

Gambling

Permitting premises to be used for commercial
gambling

Gambling by participants in a contest

Agreeing to being bribed as a participantin a
contest

Improper use of the flag
Judicial officer collecting claims

Corrupt means to influence legislation; disclosure
of interest

False swearing

Refusing to aid an officer

Resisting or obstructing an officer

Escape from custody

Failure to report to jail (for a person who receives a

stay of execution of imprisonment of less than 10
days)
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

946.425 (1r) (a)

946.45 (1)

946.46

946.49 (1) (a)

946.495

946.50 (6)

946.52

946.645 (2)

946.67 (1)

946.70 (1) (a)

946.70 (1) (b)

946.70 (1) (c)

946.70 (1) (d)

946.71 (2)

946.72 (2)

946.73

946.74 (1)
946.75
946.78 (2)

946.90 (2)

946.92 (3) (a) 1.

946.93 (2)

Failure to report to jail (for a person who is subject
to a confinement order as the result of a conviction
for a misdemeanor)

Negligently allowing escape

Encouraging a violation of probation, extended
supervision, or parole

Bail jumping (if the offense with which the person
is charged is a misdemeanor)

Violation of a nonsecure custody order
Absconding (if the person was adjudicated
delinquent for committing a misdemeanor if
committed by an adult)

Failure to submit required biological specimen
Picketing or parading at the residence of a judge
with the intent to obstruct justice or influence a
judge’s discharge of duty

Compounding crime

Impersonating a peace officer with intent to

mislead others

Impersonating a fire fighter with intent to mislead

others

Impersonating an emergency medical services
practitioner with intent to mislead others

Impersonating an emergency medical responder
with intent to mislead others

Unlawful use of a license for carrying concealed

weapons

Tampering with public notices

Violation of laws governing state fair park or any
state or county charitable, curative, reformatory, or
penal institution while within the same grounds
Aiding escape from mental institutions

Denial of right of counsel

False statements regarding military service

False statements in Wisconsin Works application

Food stamp program fraud (if the value of the
benefits does not exceed $100)

A

False statements in application for public assistance A

48  LRB REPORTS, vol. 9, no. 3


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.425(1r)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.45(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.46
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.49(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.495
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.50(6)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.52
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/946/v/645/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.67(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.70(1)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.70(1)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.70(1)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.70(1)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.71(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.72(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.73
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.74(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.75
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.78(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.90(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.92(3)(a)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/946.93(2)

Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

946.93 (3) (e) 2.

946.93 (3) (e) 3.

946.93 (4)
947.01 (1)
947.011 (3) (a)
947.012 (1)

947.0125 (2)

947.013 (1r)

947.02

947.04 (1)

947.06 (3)

947.07 (2)

947.20

947.21

948.09

948.093

948.10 (1) (b)

948.11 (2) (b)

948.21 (3) (f)

Various public assistance fraud offenses (if the value
of the payment or benefit is more than $300 but
does not exceed $1,000)

Various public assistance fraud offenses (if the value
of the payment or benefit is more than $1,000 but
does not exceed $2,000)

Obtaining public assistance through a third party
Disorderly conduct

Disrupting a funeral or memorial service
Unlawful use of a telephone

Unlawful use of computerized communication
systems

Harassment accompanied by a credible threat that
places the victim in reasonable fear of death or
great bodily harm

Vagrancy
Drinking in common carriers

Intentional failure or refusal to withdraw from an
unlawful assembly which the person knows has
been ordered to disperse

Causing violence or a breach of peace by damaging
or destroying a U.S. flag

Violation of right to work laws
Violation of labor peace agreements prohibition

Sexual intercourse with a child aged 16 or older,
if defendant is aged 19 or older when violation
occurs

Sexual contact with a child aged 15 or sexual
intercourse with a child aged 15 or older if
defendant is under age 19 when violation occurs

Exposing genitals or pubic area to a child, or
causing a child to expose genitals or pubic area, for
purposes of sexual arousal or sexual gratification
(when the actor is a child)

Intent to expose a child to harmful material
Neglecting a child, if natural and probable

consequences would be harmful although no harm
occurred
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
948.22 (3) Intentional failure to provide spousal, grandchild, or A
child support (for less than 120 consecutive days)
948.23 (3) () 1. Failure to report the disappearance of a child (when A
no bodily harm occurs to the child)
948.25 (1) Unauthorized interstate placement of a child A
948.40 (4) Contributing to the delinquency of a child A
948.45 (1) Contributing to truancy C
948.50 (3) Strip search of a pupil by a school employee B
948.51 (3) (a) Hazing (if the act results in or is likely to result in A
bodily harm to another)
948.53 (2) (b) 1. Child left unattended in a child care vehicle (when A
no bodily harm occurs to the child)
948.55 (2) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within the reach A
or easy access of a child (if the child discharges the
firearm causing bodily harm or death)
948.55 (3) Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within the reach C
or easy access of a child (if the child possesses or
exhibits the firearm in a public place)
948.60 (2) (a) Possession of a dangerous weapon by a person A
under 18
948.61 (2) (a) Possession of a dangerous weapon other than a A
firearm on school premises
948.62 (1) (a) Intentionally receiving stolen property from a child A
(if the value of the property does not exceed $500)
948.63 Receiving property from a child A
949.165 (14) Violations relating to payment to and max. $500, 30 days
establishment of escrow accounts
949.17 (2) Misrepresentation associated with the crime victim  max. $500, 6 months
compensation program
949.37 (2) Misrepresentation associated with awards for max. $500, 6 months

951.02 and 951.18 (1)

951.025 and 951.18 (1)

951.03 and 951.18 (1)

951.04 and 951.18 (1)

951.05 and 951.18 (1)

sexual assault forensic examination compensation
Mistreating animals

Killing an animal by means of decompression
Dognapping and catnapping

Leading an animal upon a highway from a motor
vehicle

Transportation of animals in a cruel manner
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Wis. Stat. §

Summary of misdemeanor

Penalty or class

951.06 and 951.18 (1)

951.07 and 951.18 (1)

951.08 (2m) and 951.18

(2)

951.08 (3) and 951.18
(2)

951.09 and 951.18 (1)

951.095 and 951.18
(2m)

951.097 (1) (b) 1. 0r (2)

(@) and 951.18 (2s)

951.097 (1) (b) 2., (2) (b),

or (3) (a) and 951.18 (2s)

951.10 and 951.18 (1)

951.11 and 951.18 (1)

951.13 and 951.18 (1)

951.14 and 951.18 (1)

951.15and 951.18 (1)

961.41 (3g) (b)

961.41 (39) (¢)

961.41 (3g) (d)

961.41 (39) (e)
961.41 (3g) (em)

961.41 (4) (bm)

961.435 and 961.38 (5)

961.573 (1)

961.574 (1)

Exposing a domestic animal to poisonous or
controlled substances

Using certain devices on animals to ready them for
an exhibition, competition, rodeo, circus, or other
performance

Owning an animal within 5 years of conviction for
instigating fights between animals

Spectating a cockfight, dog fight, bullfight, or other
fight between animals

Shooting at caged or staked animals

Harassment of police and fire animals (when no
injury is a consequence)

Reckless harassment of service dogs

Intentional harassment of service dogs or recklessly
injuring a service dog

Unlawful sale of baby rabbits, chicks, and other fowl
Artificially coloring animals

Failure to provide proper food and drink to
confined animals

Failure to provide proper shelter to confined
animals

Abandoning animals

Possession of a controlled substance not included
in schedule | or Il that is a narcotic drug

Possession of cocaine and cocaine base (1st
offense)

Possession of certain hallucinogenic and stimulant
drugs (1st offense)

Possession of tetrahydrocannabinols (1st offense)
Possession of synthetic cannabinoids (1st offense)

Manufacture, delivery, distribution, or dispensation
of imitation controlled substances

Use or prescription by a practitioner of a controlled
substance in schedule |, I, lll, or IV

Possession of drug paraphernalia

Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia

A

A

unclassified
misdemeanor

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $5,000, 1 year

max. $1,000, 6 months
max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $500, 6 months

max. $500, 30 days

max. $500, 30 days

max. $1,000, 90 days
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Wis. Stat. § Summary of misdemeanor Penalty or class
961.575 (1) Delivery of drug paraphernalia to a minor max. $10,000, 9 months
961.576 Advertisement of drug paraphernalia max. $500, 30 days
961.69 (2) Use of a masking agent max. $500, 30 days
961.69 (3) Manufacture or delivery of a masking agent max. $1,000, 90 days
961.69 (4) Advertisement of a masking agent max. $500, 30 days

968.075 (5) (a) 2.

968.255 (4)
968.26 (4) (d)

968.34 (3)

968.49

973.05 (5) (9)

973.07

976.03 (11)

979.01 (2)
979.10 (4)

985.03 (2)

995.67 (2) (b)

Contact with an alleged victim immediately
following an arrest for a domestic abuse incident

Intentional violation of strip search requirements
Violation of a secrecy order

Unlawful use of a pen register or trap and trace
device

Failure to attend as a grand juror after being
lawfully summoned without a sufficient excuse

Use by an employer of an assignment for an
employee’s failure to pay certain fines, surcharges,
costs, or fees to discriminate against the employee

Failure to pay a fine, fees, surcharges, or costs or to
comply with certain community service work

Officer delivering a person in custody to an
extradition agent of another state

Violations relating to reporting deaths

Unlawful cremation without a permit

Causing a legal notice to be published in an
ineligible newspaper or failure to cause such legal

notice in any eligible newspaper

Disclosure by a domestic abuse services
organization of the location of certain people

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $1,000, 90 days
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $40

max. $500

max. 6 months

max. $1,000, 6 months

max. $1,000, 90 days
max. $10,000, 9 months

max. $100

max. $500, 30 days

52 LRB REPORTS, vol. 9, no. 3


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.575(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.576
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.69(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.69(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.69(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.075(5)(a)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.255(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.26(4)(d)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.34(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.49
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/973.05(5)(g)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/973.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/976.03(11)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/979.01(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/979.10(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/985.03(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/995.67(2)(b)

