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What has 
changed in 
the law?  

! As of June 2011, voters may no longer use a “corroborating witness” to provide 
their proof of residence.  Voters do not always need to provide proof of 
residence when they register, but if required to provide proof of residence, it 
must be a paper document.

! As of January 1, 2012, a valid photo ID, or acceptable substitute, must be 
provided when voting by absentee ballot or at the polling place, unless you are 
part of a group exempted by statute. There is no exception for Homeless 
Voters in the statute – they must also provide photo ID. 

What
residential
address
should I 
use for 
voting
purposes? 

! Homeless individuals may designate a fixed location as their residence for 
voting purposes if it is an identifiable location in the state of Wisconsin which 
could conceivably serve as a temporary residence.  This location may be a 
homeless shelter, a park bench, or other location where a homeless individual 
may spend time or return to when absent.

! For homeless voters, this means that if they have established a 
residence, they may continue to claim that residence as a voting 
address, even if they no longer physically reside at that location, if they have 
intent to return. This would allow voters who had stayed with friends or family 
to continue using that address for voting purposes. See below for proof of 
residence rules.

! Note that P.O. Boxes are not acceptable – your voting address must be a 
physical location, so election officials can determine which districts you vote 
in, and in which contests you get to vote. 

! Note that a shelter address is an acceptable residence for voting 
purposes, notwithstanding any restriction in the shelter’s rules prohibiting its 
use as a residential address.  “Residence” for voting purposes is distinct from 
other types of residence.  See below for proof of residence rules.

! Note that you may use a physical location that is not a valid mailing 
address. If you can describe the place where you stay so the municipal clerk 
can locate it on a map, a park, street or alley may be used as your “residence” 
for voting purposes. However, you may still have to provide a document for 
proof of residence, and any such document would have to identify that 
physical location.  See below for proof of residence rules.

Can I 
register
without a 
document
that proves 
my 
address?  

! If registering in the municipal clerk’s office 20 days or more before an 
election (open registration), the voter does not have to provide proof of 
residence.

! If registering in the clerk’s office less than 20 days before an election, or 
at the polling place, a voter must provide proof of residence. See the list 
of acceptable documents below.  Often homeless voters are able to produce a 
check or other document from a unit of government, including an affidavit from 
public or private social service agencies. A driver license or state ID card with 
your voting address can also qualify as proof of residence. 
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If I must 
provide
proof of 
residence,
what 
documents 
can I use? 

Acceptable proof of residence documents include:

! An affidavit on public or private social service agency letterhead identifying a 
homeless voter and describing the individual’s residence for voting purposes.

! A current and valid Wisconsin driver license or identification card.
! Any other official identification card or license issued by a Wisconsin 

governmental body or unit.
! Any identification card issued by an employer in the normal course of business 

and bearing a photo of the card holder, but not including a business card.  
! A real estate tax bill or receipt for the current year or the year preceding the 

date of the election.
! A university, college, or technical identification card (must include photo) ONLY 

if the voter provides a fee receipt dated within the last 9 months or the 
institution provides a certified housing list to the municipal clerk.

! A gas, electric, or telephone service statement (utility bill) for the period 
commencing not earlier than 90 days before Election Day. Electronic 
statements may be used only if printed. 

! Bank statement.  Electronic statements may be used only if printed. 
! Paycheck. 
! A check or other document issued by a unit of government. 
! Residential lease. (Not valid if registering by mail).

How do I 
get a photo 
ID to vote?

! The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers free state ID cards if the 
voter indicates they will be using the ID in order to vote. If you cannot 
find this checkbox on the form, you should ask a DMV service representative 
to help you.  Note that you will have to provide the DMV with proof of identity, 
legal presence, name and date of birth, and residency in order to obtain a 
state ID card.  If the ID card contains your voting address, you may also use it 
as proof of residence. 

Can I vote 
by absentee 
ballot?

! If you are registered to vote, you may apply to vote by absentee ballot.  No
excuse is required. You may apply for an absentee ballot in person in the 
municipal clerk’s office, or by mail, email, or fax.

! Absentee voters must provide a copy of their photo ID with their absentee 
ballot request. (If you request a ballot by fax or email, you may provide a copy 
of the photo ID with the absentee application or ballot.)  Once photo ID is 
provided, the voter no longer has to provide photo ID with any absentee ballots, 
until they re-register (their name or address changes).

! Absentee voters may request a ballot for one or more elections, up to one 
calendar year. (January 1 – December 31). Please remember you will have 
to renew your absentee application to continue receiving ballots.

! You may keep your “voting residence” the same even if you move, as 
long as you have the intent to return.  Update your absentee mailing 
address with the municipal clerk in order to keep receiving ballots.

! The postage to return your ballot is paid for by the municipal clerk.  

For detailed information about the Voter Photo ID law, please visit the Government 
Accountability Board website:  http://gab.wi.gov or call 1-866-VOTE-WIS or contact the 
G.A.B. Help Desk at 608-261-2028 or TTY 1-800-947-3529.


