April 11, 2010

Honorable Members of the Wisconsin State Assembly:

We write to you in our capacity as local economic development officials, local elected officials, highway commissioners and professionals who deal directly with local businesses and infrastructure development to ask that you support Senate Bill 399 / Assembly Bill 605.

Creating access to low-cost capital for businesses is one way to help generate private economic activity and encourage job growth. Unfortunately, the current credit markets are making it difficult for businesses to gain access to the inexpensive financing they need to purchase new inventory, expand their facilities or hire new workers.

Under current law, through a process called "conduit bonding," a local governmental unit can act as a "conduit" for private business to access the tax-exempt municipal bond market. This process benefits all parties: The business benefits from inexpensively financing their operating and expansion activities; the community benefits from increased economic activity. The risk lies solely with the business, with no exposure for the local government and no cost to the taxpayer.

Unfortunately, issuing conduit bonds is a time-consuming, expensive and complicated process. This is primarily why so few local governments in Wisconsin take advantage of this important economic development tool. However, you are in a position to help streamline the process by supporting SB 399 / AB 605, which authorizes the creation of a joint powers authority, or Commission, that would work with local governments to find financing for private business.

In essence, this Commission will be created by local governments, for local governments and would lend support to all of our communities, including those requiring assistance in accessing bond allocations under existing programs such as Midwestern Disaster Area Bonds. The Commission will do this by serving as a conduit issuer at our request and on our behalf to connect private borrowers with low-cost capital through the municipal bond market. Ultimately, we believe this Commission would position the state as a leader in finding solutions for local communities to rebuild and recover in these difficult economic times.

Senate Bill 399 / Assembly Bill 605 will have a direct and positive impact on our ability to connect private businesses with low-cost capital; increase local economic activity; and, reduce the time and expense associated with accessing the municipal bond market on behalf of private businesses.

For these reasons, we respectfully request your support for this legislation so that we may better assist in the growth of the businesses in our communities.

Sincerely,

Barbara Petkovsek, Adams County Administrative Coordinator Ron Chamberlain, Adams County Highway Commissioner John West, Adams County Supervisor Jess Miller, Barron County Board Chair Mark Abeles-Allison, Bayfield County Administrator John Blahnik, Bayfield County Board Vice-Chairman Tom Hinz, Brown County Executive Alice Connors, Calumet County Vice-Chairman Tom Laughrin, Calumet County Supervisor Marilyn Schuh, Calumet County Supervisor Wayne Hendrickson, Clark County Board Chair Charles Harwick, Clark County Supervisor Debra Wopat, Columbia County Board Chair Harlan Baumgartner, Columbia County Supervisor John Tramburg, Columbia County Supervisor Andy Ross, Columbia County Supervisor Jeremy Levin, Dane County Supervisor Michael Serpe, Door County Administrator Steve Rasmussen, Dunn County Board Chair Daniel Fedderly, Dunn County Supervisor Erhard Huettl, Forest County Board Chair Tom Tallier, Forest County Board Vice-Chairman John Patcle, Grant County Board Chair Larry Wolf, Grant County Supervisor Marge Bostelmann, Green Lake County Clerk Dan Priske, Green Lake County Board Vice-Chairman Dennis Eberhardt, Jackson County Board Chair Linda Sinkula, Kewaunee County Board Vice-Chairman Bruce Heidmann, Kewaunee County Supervisor Kaye Shillin, Kewaunee County Supervisor Janice Swoboda, Kewaunee County Supervisor Charles Wagner, Kewaunee County Supervisor Phyllis Benz, Kewaunee County Supervisor Steve O'Malley, La Crosse County Administrator Margaret Wood, La Crosse County Supervisor Jill Billings, La Crosse County Supervisor Robert Lussow, Lincoln County Board Chair Jim Brey, Manitowoc County Board Chair Dave Eckman, Marathon County Development Corporation/Wausau Chamber of Commerce Keith Langenhahn, Marathon County Board Chair Brent Miller, Marquette County Administrator Donna Seddon, Marquette County Clerk Paul Wade, Marquette County Board Vice-Chairman

Ron Corn, Menominee County Administrative Coordinator George Bousley, Mayor, City of Niagara Kevin Hamann, Oconto County Administrative Coordinator Ron Korzeniewski, Oconto County Supervisor Anne Strauch, Outagamie County Supervisor Jim Pleuss, Outagamie County Supervisor/Grand Chute Town Board Supervisor Mark Cronce, Ozaukee County Board Vice-Chairman Sandra Kraft, Rock County Board Vice-Chair Randy Tatur, Rusk County Board Chair Marty Krueger, Sauk County Board Chair Marshal Giese, Shawano County Board Chair Adam Payne, Sheboygan County Administrator Pat Drinan, Sheboygan County Economic Development Corporation Michael Vandersteen, Sheboygan County Board Chair Barb Semb, Tremplealeau County Board Chair Steve Favorite, Vilas County Board Chair Kathleen Rushlow, Vilas County Board Vice-Chairman Ron De Bruyne, Vilas County Board 2nd Vice-Chairman Mike Keefe, Washburn County Administrative Coordinator Don Quinton, Washburn County Supervisor Charlene Brady, Washington County Supervisor Dick Koeppen, Waupaca County Board Chair James Loughrin, Waupaca County Board Vice-Chair John Penney, Waupaca County Supervisor Michael Norton, Winnebago County Supervisor Tom Widener, Winnebago County Supervisor Jerry Finch, Winnebago County Supervisor Lance Pliml, Wood County Board Chair William Clendenning, Wood County Supervisor