Speaker Vos Announces Members of Task Force on Suicide Prevention
Speaker Robin Vos is announcing the members of the Speaker’s Task Force on Suicide Prevention. The bipartisan task force will make policy recommendations to help reverse the trend of increasing suicide rates in the state. The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention reports on average, one person dies by suicide every nine hours in Wisconsin.

Chair: Rep. Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan)
Vice Chair: Rep. Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska)

Rep. Michael Schraa (R-Oshkosh)
Rep. Paul Tittl (R-Manitowoc)
Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah)
Rep. Rob Stafsholt (R-New Richmond)
Rep. Cindi Duchow (R-Town of Delafield)
Rep. Jesse James (R-Altoona)
Rep. Loren Oldenberg (R-Viroqua)
Rep. Tony Kurtz (R-Wonewoc)
Rep. Melissa Sargent (D-Madison)
Rep. Debra Kolste (D-Janesville)
Rep. Jimmy Anderson (D-Fitchburg)
Rep. Jonathan Brostoff (D-Milwaukee)
Rep. Beth Meyers (D-Bayfield)

According to the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, more than 700 Wisconsinites die by suicide every year. The legislative report is expected to be made to Speaker Vos by this fall.