

WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE

P.O. Box 7882 • Madison, WI 53707-7882

June 11, 2024

To: Wisconsin Congressional Delegation

RE: Opposition to EPA Rule on "Multi-Pollutant Emissions Standards for Model Years 2027 and Later Light-Duty and Medium-Duty Vehicles."

Dear Wisconsin Senators and Representatives,

As members of the Wisconsin State Legislature, we urge your support of House Joint Resolution 136 and Senate Joint Resolution 75, "providing for disapproval under Chapter 8 of Title 5, United States Code, of the rule submitted by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) relating to 'Multi-Pollutant Emissions Standards for Model Years 2027 and Later Light-Duty and Medium-Duty Vehicles.'"

The final rule issued by the EPA will have long lasting and disastrous effects for Wisconsinites. With a target of up to 56% of new light-duty and 32% of medium-duty vehicles produced between 2030 and 2032 to be electric vehicles, auto manufacturers will need to make significant investments into the required manufacturing infrastructure to meet this mandate. This investment will take away key resources for the production of regular gas powered vehicles, as well as electric-hybrid vehicles, leading to fewer and more expensive options for consumers. Electric vehicles are significantly more expensive than their gas-powered and hybrid counterparts. With inflation already straining households across the U.S., this mandate is out of touch with average Americans, including our shared constituents.

Wisconsin is not a suitable environment for mass electric vehicle usage. Our cold winters significantly decrease the range and power of electric vehicles. Additionally, many electric vehicles do not heat themselves with electricity, rather, they must be equipped with a generator that runs on petroleum-based fuels. One example of this is the new electric school busses entering the market. They are equipped with a diesel generator to heat the interior, thus rendering moot the "zero-carbon" goal.

The Alliance for Consumers (AFC) states in its comment opposing the rule, "Make no mistake, this is a proposal to forcibly remove from the market a majority of the cars that everyday consumers currently buy and use." The AFC goes on to say, "The current EPA proposal is an unlawful EV mandate masquerading as a tailpipe regulation." This is one of many comments opposing this rule. Others object to the rapid implementation of this mandate, and others are rightfully concerned about the dependence on China for the materials used in electric vehicle batteries. It is clear that the EPA did not do its due diligence before finalizing this rule.

This rule is a radical weaponization of the EPA's authority and targets middle and it working class consumers who cannot afford and do not want this change in the automotive industry. Families

should be allowed to choose the vehicle that makes sense for them. Please use your authority under Chapter 8 of Title 5, Untied States Code, to oppose and prevent the implementation of this harmful rule.

Thank you for your kind attention and support of this request.

Sincerely,

OZAR

Representative Donna Rozar 69th Assembly District

Representative Calvin Callahan 35th Assembly District

Teny Connar

Representative Jerry O'Connor 52nd Assembly District

Alian Venterman

Representative William Penterman 37th Assembly District

Jundrum

Representative Rick Gundrum 58th Assembly District

Representative John Macco 88th Assembly District

Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District

Representative Alex Dallman 41st Assembly District

Karen Hurd

Representative Karen Hurd 68th Assembly District

Representative Joy Goeben 5th Assembly District

Representative Wichgers 82nd Assembly District

Senator Dan Knodl 8th Senate District

Representative Shae Sortwell 2nd Assembly District

David Murphy

Representative David Murphy 56th Assembly District

Representative Angie Sapik 73rd Assembly District

mary f. Felskowski

Senator Mary Felzkowski 12th Senate District

Representative David Steffen 4th Assembly District

gul Bronatin

Representative Janel Brandtjen 22nd Assembly District

hab Moreaningen

Representative Rob Swearingen 34th Assembly District

Rot hufrd

Representative Rob Summerfield 67th Assembly District

Representative Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District

Senator André Jacque 1st Senate District

Peter Schr

Representative Peter Schmidt 6th Assembly District

ame w. Eam

Representative James Edming 87th Assembly District

RCZ

Representative Dave Maxey Assembly District 15

Representative David Armstrong 75th Assembly District

mall V Turken

Representative Ronald Tusler 3rd Assembly District

Representative Nate Gustafson 55th Assembly District

Elijah Bahuh

Representative Elijah Behnke 89th Assembly District