

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE

P.O. Box 7882 • Madison, WI 53707-7882

March 1, 2021

Governor Tony Evers 115 East, State Capitol Madison, WI 53707

Governor Evers,

The Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSA) of 2021 provided over \$20.8 million in additional Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds. These funds are in addition to the original \$46.6 million in GEER funds included in the CARES Act. Wisconsin's additional CRRSA allocation must be awarded by January 2022.

In the first GEER round of awards, you allowed a significant portion of these funds to go to districts that have provided little, to no in-person instruction during the 2020-21 school year. Don't make the same mistake twice.

We are asking you to direct these funds to districts that have been providing full-time, in-person instruction since the beginning of the 2020-21 school year. These districts have been spending more to keep their schools open for the betterment of their students. They know that this is the best for the students and families of their districts.

Federal K-12 education funding from COVID relief legislation has predominantly been run through the Title I formula. This formula results in an overwhelming amount going to large districts that have shown little interest in getting students back into the classroom. For example, Milwaukee received \$3,174 per student and Madison \$729 per student from the latest round of funding. These districts had little, to no in-person instruction so far this year. This is compared to \$329 for a district like Lomira or \$77 for Kettle Moraine under the Title I formula. These are districts that have been in person since the beginning of the school year.

Not only are districts like Milwaukee and Madison receiving a disproportionate amount of the federal funds, but also they are incurring significant utility and transportation savings by not having students in the classroom. According to a survey of districts, Milwaukee and Madison saved millions in the 2019-20 school year because of shutting down due to COVID. This doesn't include the savings they are accruing from not having to modify and clean classrooms like the schools that are open to in-person instruction.

We as a state should be encouraging schools to open in person. The CDC says it is safe. We have studies showing it is safe. We have a bipartisan consensus supporting reopening to in-person instruction. We have the case studies of districts that have been open during the 2020-21 school year showing it can be done safely.

The science is clear; the best place for our kids is in the classroom. If you care about science, if you care about closing achievement gaps and if you care about equity, then you will get our kids back to school in person.

We request on behalf of the students and families of this state that you use what funds you have at your discretion to award funds to districts that are teaching our students in person. Schools should be rewarded for doing the right thing for their students and families.

Sincerely,

Robin Vos Assembly Speaker Jim Steineke Majority Leader

Tyler August Speaker Pro-Tempore

Mark Born

Joint Finance, Co-Chair

Jessie Rodriguez 21st Assembly District Howard Marklein Joint Finance, Co-Chair

Tyler Vorpagel Majority Caucus Chair

Cindi Duchow Majority Caucus Vice-Chair Jesse James Majority Caucus Secretary

Samantha Kerkman Caucus Sergeant at Arms

e magnatice

Jon Plumer 42<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District Donna Rozar 69th Assembly District

Gae Magnafici 28th Assembly District John Spiros 86<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Joe Sanfelippo 15th Assembly District Jeremy Thiesfeldt

Jeremy Thiesfeldt 52<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Patral Sough

Patrick Snyder 85<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Rick Gundrum 58th Assembly District

John Jagler

37<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Barbara Dittrich 38th Assembly District Chuck Wichgers 83<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Chuck Who

Shae Sortwell

2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Calvin Callahan 35<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Adam Neylon 98th Assembly District

Shannon Zimmerman 30<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Rachael Cabral-Guevara 55<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Mike Kythas

David Steffen 4th Assembly District

Tony Kurtz

50th Assembly District

Mike Kuglitsch 84<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Timothy Ramthun 59th Assembly District

Terry Katsma 26<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Todd Novak 51<sup>st</sup> Assembly District Rob Swearingen 34th Assembly District

HAAR

rat Mearinger

Alex Dallman 41st Assembly District Scott Krug
72<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Robert Wittke 62<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

**David Armstrong** 75th Assembly District

Clint Moses

29th Assembly District

Treig Pronschinske 92<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

albert Darling

Alberta Darling 8th Senate District Rot Rufid

Rob Summerfield 67th Assembly District

James Edming 87th Assembly District

Gary Tauchen 6th Assembly District

Mary Felzkowski 12th Senate District

Dale Kooyenga

5<sup>th</sup> Senate District

Warren Petryk 93<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District

Kathleen Bernier 23<sup>rd</sup> Senate District

Duey Stroebel Joint Finance, Vice-Chair

Dan Knodl 24th Assembly District

Julian Bradley 28th Senate District

Joan Ballweg 14th Senate District