

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Date: December 7, 2023

Contact: Rep. Neubauer, 608-237-9166

Assembly Democrats Reject Republicans' Attacks on Universities of Wisconsin

MADISON, Wis. - Assembly Democrats released the following statement:

"We see Republican Legislators' attacks on diversity, equity and inclusion at our universities for what they are — attempts to divide us and foment culture wars at the expense of the wellbeing of all of our students. Attacking DEI initiatives is deeply misguided, will move our universities backwards, and will undermine students' sense of belonging for years to come.

"Our caucus is united in strongly opposing any proposal from Republican Legislators that trades the enumeration of building projects or already approved pay raises for cutting diversity, equity and inclusion and enshrining the far right's agenda in our educational institutions. Throughout his career, Speaker Vos has done everything in his power to undermine our universities and halt progress. We simply cannot allow him to continue.

"We ask university leaders and our GOP colleagues in the Capitol to join us in opposing Speaker Vos' blatant attack on our universities and our students, especially students of color and LGBTQ+ students. Rather than using our students and university system as political pawns, we must work to build a Wisconsin where everyone has the opportunity to thrive — that is our job."

###

Rep. Greta Neubauer Rep. Kalan Haywood Rep. Lisa Subeck Rep. Jill Billings Rep. Clinton Anderson Rep. Jimmy Anderson Rep. Deb Andraca Rep. Samba Baldeh Rep. Mike Bare Rep. Marisabel Cabrera Rep. Ryan Clancy Rep. Sue Conley Rep. Dave Considine
Rep. Steve Doyle
Rep. Dora Drake
Rep. Jodi Emerson
Rep. Evan Goyke
Rep. Francesca Hong
Rep. Jenna Jacobson
Rep. Alex Joers
Rep. Darrin Madison
Rep. Tip McGuire
Rep. Supreme Moore Omokunde

Rep. LaKeshia Myers

Rep. Tod Ohnstad
Rep. Sylvia Ortiz-Velez
Rep. Lori Palmeri
Rep. Melissa Ratcliff
Rep. Daniel Riemer
Rep. Katrina Shankland
Rep. Kristina Shelton
Rep. Chris Sinicki
Rep. Lee Snodgrass
Rep. Shelia Stubbs
Rep. Robyn Vining