

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Rep. Chanz Green (608) 237-9174

November 6th, 2023

Rep. Green Honors First Responders of the Year

Madison – Representative Chanz Green (R-Grand View) presented Ashland Police Sergeant Matt Albertus, Ashland Police Officer Nicholas Ovaska, and Ashland County Sheriff's Deputy Andy Seitz with the 2023 "First Responder of the Year" award during a ceremony at the Ashland Police Department this afternoon.

"These three fearless officers responded courageously to a burning home and saved a handicapped woman from inside earlier this May," Rep. Green said. "Because of their commitment to making the City of Ashland better, the city and the state of Wisconsin are better off with these three serving their community."

The "First Responder of the Year" award was created in 2019 to recognize the brave men and women who serve in our emergency services. State representatives from each legislative district seek nominations from their communities and select one individual who best exemplifies community service, selflessness, and dedication. The list of recipients from this year included police officers, sheriff's deputies, firefighters, and all levels of EMS personnel.

"Wisconsin first responders are courageous and the most committed among us," said Rep. Green. "I am honored to present this award to these three officers on behalf of the 74th Assembly District."

With each officer receiving a legislative citation recognizing their achievement, back in October, the state assembly also passed a <u>resolution</u> declaring October 17th, First Responders Appreciation Day.

Constituents can contact our office by emailing <u>Rep.Green@legis.wisconsin.gov</u> or by calling (608) 237-9174. Please feel free to contact our office with any questions or concerns.

###

The 74th Assembly District covers all of Ashland, Bayfield, Iron, and Price counties, and it includes parts of Douglas and Sawyer counties.