Ten infants have hunting licenses in Wisconsin

By Express Newsline 

The Department of Natural Resources data showed 1,011 licenses went to 9 year olds, 52 went to children under age five, and 10 of those went to infants less than a year old.

Two weeks after the state eliminated its minimum hunting age, Wisconsin says it has sold over 1,800 licenses to children 9 or younger.

"To allow ... a toddler, a 2-year-old [to carry a gun], and I'm not being hyperbolic because someone will allow it, is unsafe", Rep. Katrina Shankland of Stevens Point said last week in a story that ran in the New York Times.

Gov. Scott Walker signed the NRA-supported bill into law November 11. Until this year, 10 years old was the minimum age for youth to take part in a mentored hunt with a trained and licensed adult.

Tags are typically granted for big game like deer, bear, antelope or elk. In Wisconsin, the most common tags are issued for deer and turkey.

Under the new law, hunters must be 14 years of age or older and pass the state's gun safety courses before being allowed to hunt on their own.

On Nov. 19, one day after the 2017 hunting season began, kindergartner Lexie Harris posed next to a deer she killed under the supervision of her father, Tyler Harris, in the woods near their home in Medford, The Associated Press reported.

DNR records also show that the killing of one deer was registered to a 4-year-old and seven deer were attributed to 5-year-olds, but the data fails to show who actually killed the animals.