

STATE REPRESENTATIVE • 70TH ASSEMBLY DISTRICT

For Immediate Release: September 17, 2019

Contact: Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (608) 266-8366

VanderMeer Frustrated with Governor's Decision to Remove District Attorney Position from Monroe County

Madison – Today, Governor Evers announced the allocation of new assistant district attorney positions throughout the state, funded in the 2019-2021 biennial budget. This comes after the governor vetoed provisions in the legislature's budget that allocated the positions to counties in need all across the state.

Under the newly revealed allocation, Monroe County will now only receive one assistant district attorney, not two positions as the legislature originally allocated. Milwaukee County will now receive three additional positions and Dane County will receive an additional assistant district attorney as other counties were stripped of additional positions as well.

Representative Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah), released the following statement:

"I think that unfortunately what we're seeing here from the governor is a pattern developing that empowers Madison based personnel to inordinately influence decisions where local input is valuable, and also a priority being placed on Dane and Milwaukee County versus the rest of the state. This is good if you live in Dane or Milwaukee County, but not so much if you don't.

"We saw it locally when money devoted to helping fix the Elroy-Sparta and 400 State Bike Trails was taken away with one of the governor's budget vetoes, and we also saw these themes reflected in the governor's budget vetoes as it pertained to transportation where he removed \$15 million of local road aid funding that would have helped improve roads in the 70th Assembly District.

"What's especially perplexing about the decision to take the position away from Monroe County is that the most recent District Attorney Workload Analysis put together by the Legislative Audit Bureau during the 2015-2017 legislative session showed that Monroe County was staffed at 41% of need, whereas Milwaukee County was at 115%."

###

The 70th Assembly District includes portions of Monroe, Jackson, Portage and Wood counties.