

NANCY VANDERMEER

STATE REPRESENTATIVE • 70TH ASSEMBLY DISTRICT

For Immediate Release: March 25, 2019 Contact: Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (608) 266-8366

VanderMeer Named to Speaker's Task Force on Suicide Prevention

Madison – Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) has named Representative Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah) to the Speaker's Task Force on Suicide Prevention. The bipartisan task force will make policy recommendations to help reverse the trend of increasing suicide rates in the state. The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention reports on average, one person dies by suicide every nine hours in Wisconsin.

Representative Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) will chair the task force and Representative Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska) will serve as the vice chair.

Representative VanderMeer released the following statement:

"I'm grateful for the opportunity to serve on this very important task force. I hope to be able to build off of the recent successes previous task forces have had in making bipartisan recommendations to the legislature that ultimately get signed into law and make a meaningful impact across the state. I think that last session's task force on foster care is a great example of the impact these task forces can have. The composition and premise behind these task forces are really something that positively resonates with people throughout the district as well.

"The suicide epidemic is unfortunately an ongoing issue in our state that more and more families and healthcare providers need to deal with. I hear it brought up time and time again from the local mental health practitioners I speak with regularly. Something particularly of interest to me moving forward is taking a look at how this issue affects rural residents that live in communities where the population is more sparsely spread out from one another. I'm also particularly interested in looking at how this issue affects our farmers and what can be done to provide resources or remove barriers to tackle this problem."

###

The 70th Assembly District includes portions of Monroe, Jackson, Portage and Wood counties.

Wisconsin State Capitol • P.O. Box 8953 • Madison, WI 53708-8953 • (608) 266-8366 • Fax: (608) 282-3670 • Toll-Free: (888) 534-0070 Rep.VanderMeer@legis.wisconsin.gov