

For Immediate Release: December 21, 2020 Contact: Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (608) 266-8366

VanderMeer Re-Named Chair of Rural Development Committee

Madison, WI – On Friday, it was announced that Representative Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah) will continue to Chair the Assembly Committee on Rural Development for the 2021-2022 Legislative Session.

"This last legislative session was a good one for the Rural Development Committee. We took up and passed nine pieces of legislation that were later passed on the floor of the Assembly, and most were also passed in the Senate and signed into law by the governor. All nine pieces of legislation passed out of committee with bipartisan votes and the issues addressed ranged from continuing to expand access to broadband internet services for rural residents, water quality legislation recommended by the speaker's task force, and a piece of agriculture related legislation that creates a volunteer animal identification program within the Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection (DATCP)," VanderMeer said.

"Additionally, we again held informational hearings with state, federal, and local leaders including service providers, related to broadband internet expansion and also brought in economic and real estate development professionals from across the state to examine workforce housing access in rural areas. A continued focus on broadband access, health care access, and workforce development will remain in the upcoming legislative session," VanderMeer continued.

VanderMeer was first appointed Chairperson of the Assembly Committee on Rural Development for the 2017-2018 Legislative Session. Information on Rural Development Committee activity during the current legislative session can be found here: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/committees/assembly/2066

She will continue to serve as the Vice Chairperson of the Assembly Committees on Labor and Integrated Employment and Veterans and Military Affairs for the 2021-2022 Legislative Session. Additional committee assignments will be announced early this week.

Friday's announcement from Speaker Vos can be found here: http://www.thewheelerreport.com/wheeler docs/files/121820vos.pdf

###

The 70th Assembly District includes portions of Monroe, Jackson, Portage and Wood counties