

STATE REPRESENTATIVE • 70TH ASSEMBLY DISTRICT

For Immediate Release: July 10, 2019 Contact: Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (608) 266-8366

Assembly Health Committee Holds Hearing on Compact Re-Authorization Act

Madison – Today the Assembly Committee on Health held a public hearing on Assembly Bill 70, the Medical Licensure Compact Re-Authorization Act, authored by Representative Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah).

Representative VanderMeer introduced legislation re-authorizing the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact with Representative Debra Kolste (D-Janesville) earlier this year. The compact, a voluntary process for expediting physician licensure across state lines, was originally authored by VanderMeer and signed into law in 2015.

When the compact was signed into law, it included a sunset after five years to trigger legislative review of Wisconsin's participation in the compact. The goal of the sunset was not to terminate Wisconsin's participation, but to review the benefits and re-evaluate the need to continue Wisconsin's participation in this interstate agreement. The Compact Re-Authorization Act addresses and removes the sunset clause in the original legislation.

Representative VanderMeer released the following statement:

"I was happy to have the opportunity to move the compact forward one more step in the legislative process today. Committee work is so important to the legislative process and I'm happy that I was able to share the merits of this legislation with the health committee.

"As part of testimony today, medical providers and healthcare stakeholders were able to come in and speak to the legislation. Chris Schmitz, Vice President of Human Resources from Stoughton Hospital down by Madison, echoed some of my sentiments in testimony, stating that this compact is all about creating access, and that means access for patients to obtain quality care throughout the state. That's critically important to individuals and families throughout the 70th district, and it's critically important to me."

###

The 70th Assembly District includes portions of Monroe, Jackson, Portage and Wood counties.