Capitol Centennial Commission Begins Work

September 28, 2016 - Robin Vos

Madison…The first meeting of the 100th Anniversary State Capitol Commemorative Commission will be on Thursday, September 29th.  The commission will help organize the celebrations marking the Capitol’s 100 years in 2017.

“The Capitol is one of the state’s most valued treasures, which we all should take pride in,” said Speaker Vos. “It’s important that we take the time to recognize and celebrate this milestone.”

The Joint Committee on Legislative Organization established the special commission earlier this year to bring together all facets of state government to find ways to appropriately honor the building’s 100th anniversary and remember the events and people who have served over the past ten decades.

Commission members include the following:

Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester); Senate President Mary Lazich (R-New Berlin); Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau); Assembly Minority Leader Peter Barca (D-Kenosha); Senate Minority Leader Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse); Sen. Fred Risser (D-Madison); Rep. Adam Neylon (R-Pewaukee); Dr. Ellsworth Brown, Director, Wisconsin Historical Society; Chief Justice Patience Roggensack, Wisconsin State Supreme Court; Scott Neitzel, Secretary, Department of Administration; Cindy Torstveit, Administrator, Division of Facilities Management, DOA.

“The goal is to share the stories about this beautiful building and what it has meant to our state over the last 100 years,” said Speaker Vos. 

The commission meeting is being held in the Capitol in room 225 NW on Thursday, September 29th at 1:30 p.m. The public and media are invited to attend.