

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Rep. Rob Brooks

July 11, 2018 (608) 267-2369

## **Local Schools Awarded Public Safety Grants**

**Madison, WI**—This week, Attorney General Brad Schimel unveiled a list of fifty-two schools and school districts that were recipients of the Wisconsin Department of Justice's School Safety Grant program. The following schools and school districts within the 60<sup>th</sup> Assembly District were among this round's recipients: First Immanuel Lutheran School (Cedarburg); Living Word Lutheran High School (Jackson); Northern Ozaukee School District (Fredonia); Port Washington-Saukville School District (Port Washington); Saint John XXIII Catholic School (Port Washington); and Saint John's Lutheran School (Newburg).

"I was pleased to learn that several schools and school districts in the Sixtieth Assembly District were recipients of School Safety Grants. Ensuring that all students have access to a safe learning environment, is one of my chief priorities," Representative Rob Brooks (R-Saukville) wrote. "With these additional resources, school districts can begin developing state-of-the-art solutions for ensuring that our students have a safe learning environment."

During the past several months, Attorney General Schimel has awarded grants to schools and school districts throughout Wisconsin. Grant money will be spent on building safety improvements and mental health training for faculty and staff.

"The School Safety Grant program is a first-rate example of schools and law enforcement working together to create a safe environment for students, staff and faculty. Earlier this session, I proudly cast my vote in favor of legislation appropriating \$100 million for school safety," Representative Rob Brooks stated.

For more information regarding the School Safety Grant program, please see the following: <a href="https://www.doj.state.wi.us/office-school-safety/school-safety-grants">https://www.doj.state.wi.us/office-school-safety/school-safety-grants</a>

###