For Immediate Release                                                                          Contact:  Rep. Todd Novak

February 11, 2019                                                                                                (608) 266-7502

Rep. Novak Named Chair of Water Quality Task Force

Members of Speaker’s Task Force on Water Quality Announced


MADISON –Rep. Novak (Dodgeville) has been named Chairman of the Speaker’s Task Force on Water Quality. Novak will lead the bipartisan, 16-member committee consisting of legislators from both the State Assembly and Senate.

“It is an honor to be selected to chair the Speaker’s Task Force on Water Quality,” said Novak. “Clean water is essential to the health of our rural communities, and really, every community in Wisconsin. Ensuring that we have clean water is not a Republican or Democrat issue, it is a state of Wisconsin Issue.”

The task force has been directed to travel the state and conduct hearings in order to better understand the variety of water quality challenges facing different communities around our state. Upon completion, the task force will compile a list of recommendations for the Speaker of the Assembly on ways to both assess and improve the quality of both surface water and ground water.

“Our priority is to listen to a diverse group of stakeholders and dig deep into the unique problems around Wisconsin,” said Novak.

The scope of the task force includes but is not limited to examining best practices for soil mapping and data collection, determining the sources of contaminates, runoff management, and well and septic system construction.

Joining Rep. Novak on the committee are Representatives Kitchens (Sturgeon Bay), Tranel (Cuba City), Krug (Rome), Felzkowski (Irma), Summerfield (Bloomer), Ramthun (Campbellsport), Kurtz (Wonewoc), Brooks (Saukville), Shankland (Stevens Point), Pope (Mt. Horeb) and Gruszynski (Green Bay) as well as Senators Testin (Stevens Point), Cowles (Green Bay), Jacque (DePere), and Miller (Monona)

More information on the Water Quality Task Force can be found at

Members of the public are encouraged to submit their comments to