Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians: Announces “Friends of Family Medicine”


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Becky Wimmer, Deputy Executive Director
(262) 512-0606; academy@wafp.org

Designation bestowed on select group of legislators

(Thiensville, WI) – June 11, 2014 – The Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians (WAFP) unveiled a list of state legislators selected as “Friends of Family Medicine” for the 2013-14 legislative session. At the end of each two-year legislative session, the WAFP designates an exclusive group of lawmakers based on their exceptional efforts to promote effective health care policy and support Family Medicine. The 2013-14 “Friend of Family Medicine” recipients are:

•Rep. Peter Barca (D-Kenosha)
•Rep. Terese Berceau (D-Madison)
•Rep. Kathy Bernier (R-Chippewa Falls)
•Rep. Gary Bies (R-Sister Bay)
•Rep. Ed Brooks (R-Reedsburg)
•Sen. Tim Carpenter (D-Milwaukee)
•Rep. Mary Czaja (R-Irma)
•Rep. Chris Danou (D-Trempealeau)
•Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills)
•Sen. Jon Erpenbach (D-Middleton)
•Sen. Paul Farrow (R-Pewaukee)
•Sen. Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau)
•Rep. Eric Genrich (D-Green Bay)
•Sen. Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay)
•Rep. Gary Hebl (D-Sun Prairie)
•Rep. John Jagler (R-Watertown)
•Rep. LaTonya Johnson (D-Milwaukee)
•Rep. Dean Kaufert (R-Neenah)
•Rep. Debra Kolste (D-Janesville)
•Sen. Chris Larson (D-Milwaukee)
•Sen. Frank Lasee (R-De Pere)
•Rep. Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green)
•Sen. Terry Moulton (R-Chippewa Falls)
•Rep. Dave Murphy (R-Greenville)
•Rep. Lee Nerison (R-Westby)
•Rep. John Nygren (R-Marinette)
•Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Ripon)
•Rep. Al Ott (R-Forest Junction)
•Rep. Jim Ott (R-Mequon)
•Rep. Sandy Pasch (D-Shorewood)
•Rep. Kevin Petersen (R-Waupaca)
•Sen. Jerry Petrowski (R-Marathon)
•Rep. Warren Petryk (R-Eleva)
•Rep. Daniel Riemer (D-Milwaukee)
•Rep. Jessie Rodriguez (R-Franklin)
•Rep. Joe Sanfelippo (R-West Allis)
•Sen. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse)
•Rep. Erik Severson (R-Star Prairie)
•Rep. Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna)
•Rep. Pat Strachota (R-West Bend)
•Rep. Chris Taylor (D-Madison)
•Rep. Paul Tittl (R-Manitowoc)
•Rep. Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City)
•Sen. Leah Vukmir (R-Wauwatosa)
•Rep. Robin Vos (R-Burlington)
•Rep. Dana Wachs (D-Eau Claire)
•Sen. Bob Wirch (D-Somers)
•Rep. Mandy Wright (D-Wausau)

“The Legislature on the whole made great strides to improve the quality and delivery of health care in Wisconsin during the last legislative session,” stated WAFP President David Eitrheim, MD. “However, a select group of lawmakers have distinguished themselves in their efforts to promote the role of Family Medicine in the health care system and deserve special recognition. The WAFP is pleased to present these legislators with the ‘Friend of Family Medicine’ distinction.”

The WAFP represents the interests of 2,700 members statewide, making it the largest physician specialty professional group in Wisconsin. The mission of the WAFP is to promote excellence in health care and to improve the health of the people of Wisconsin through the advancement of the art and science of Family Medicine, the specialty of Family Medicine and the professional growth of Family Medicine physicians.