

BARBARA DITTRICH

STATE REPRESENTATIVE • 38th ASSEMBLY DISTRICT

For Immediate Release Contact: Rep. Barbara Dittrich October 17, 2023 608-237-9138

Rep. Dittrich to Honor Officer Kevin Jansen as First Responder of the Year

Madison – State Representative Barbara Dittrich (*R-Oconomowoc*) has named Village of Johnson Creek Police Officer Kevin Jansen as the 38th Assembly District's 2023 First Responder of the Year. Officer Jansen was chosen from five nominees after demonstrating exemplary selflessness. He was injured in the line of duty while trying to assist in apprehending a fleeing suspect, yet his first thought of was how soon he could get back to work. Officer Jansen noticed an active fire in a dust collection system of a local business and notified his colleagues in the fire department in time to ensure their direct attention to the problem equipment ensuring a better outcome, keeping the public and fellow first responders safe. Additionally, he went beyond the call of duty by rendering life-saving aid in his own personal time when came across a severe car accident scene in which a patient had been thrown from their vehicle, putting his own safety at risk in laying down on the interstate, holding the victim's head to protect them from further injury in order to stabilize the patient, keeping them calm until EMS and fire crews arrived on scene.

"I am so very proud to present this award to Officer Kevin Jansen as our First Responder of the Year. We are all extremely grateful for his service. Despite his youth, he is a shining example of a culture of dedicated, selfless, hard-working first responders who don't stop serving just because they are off-duty. This is true not just in Johnson Creek, but in the entire 38th Assembly District and throughout Wisconsin," shared Rep. Dittrich

The Wisconsin State Assembly honored 99 first responders from various Assembly Districts on the Assembly floor during the legislative session on October 17, 2023. Officer Kevin Jansen was able to attend the event along with family members and members of the Village of Johnson Creek leadership.

###