Skip to main content Skip to footer

Wisconsin Paper Caucus Announces New Legislative Leadership

Wisconsin Paper Caucus Announces New Legislative Leadership

Bipartisan Leaders Show State’s Commitment to Future of Paper in Wisconsin


Madison- The Wisconsin Paper Council has announced a new Legislative leadership team for the bipartisan Wisconsin Paper Caucus.


The overarching goal of the bipartisan, bicameral Wisconsin Paper Caucus is to work together in a bipartisan fashion to develop common sense policy solutions which will help sustain and promote the papermaking manufacturing sectors throughout our great state.


The new Legislative leaders of the Wisconsin Paper Caucus are as follows:


State Assembly Leaders:

  • State Representative Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz) – Assembly Chairperson
  • State Representative Lee Snodgrass (D-Appleton) – Assembly Vice-Chairperson


State Senate Leaders:

  • Senator Romaine Quinn (R-Cameron) – Senate Chairperson
  • Senator Brad Pfaff (D-Onalaska) – Senate Vice-Chairperson


“The Wisconsin Paper Caucus is a shining example of bipartisan cooperation amongst thought leaders in our state on matters important to the forest products industry,” said Scott Suder, President of the Wisconsin Paper Council. “Members of the Wisconsin Paper Council applaud this new leadership team’s commitment to discuss challenges and find common-sense solutions to issues affecting papermakers and our entire supply chain.”


The mission of the Wisconsin Paper Caucus is to inform and educate policymakers and the public about the economic and social importance of papermaking, forestry and printing to our great state. Additionally, the caucus works together to highlight the history, diversity and positive environmental contributions of these important industries.


“It is an honor to serve as Chair of the Wisconsin Paper Caucus,” stated Representative Jeff Mursau. “My district has a long history of papermaking, and families in these communities know of the importance of these industries to the local economy. I am looking forward to working across the aisle with my colleagues to educate legislators on the paper industry and find solutions to grow the sector in a sustainable way.”


The bipartisan and bicameral caucus will work to highlight the history and economic importance of the paper, pulp, forestry, and printing sectors and work together to develop workable policy solutions for this important manufacturing segment.


“Senators Romaine Quinn and Brad Pfaff, as well as Representatives Jeff Mursau and Lee Snodgrass know the economic, societal and environmental importance of the papermaking industry to Wisconsin,” stated Suder.  “This first-of-its kind bipartisan organization is committed to working together to keep Wisconsin #1 in paper production in the nation.”


The Wisconsin Paper Council is the premier trade association which advocates for Wisconsin’s paper, pulp, and forestry industries before state and federal elected officials and regulators. The WPC promotes the positive economic, environmental, and social contributions of our industries throughout our state and nation. The Wisconsin papermaking industry employees over 30,000 highly skilled men and women whose efforts continue to make our state the number one papermaker in the United States.



Wisconsin Paper Caucus Leadership Information


State Senate Chairperson – Senator Romaine Quinn (R-Cameron) is serving his first term in the Wisconsin State Senate, and previously served in the Wisconsin State Assembly. He currently chairs the Committee on Housing, Rural Issues and Forestry, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Education, and serves on the Agriculture and Tourism, Shared Revenue, Elections, and Consumer Protection, Utilities and Technology committees.

State Assembly Chairperson – Representative Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz) was elected to the State Assembly in 2004, previously serving as the Mayor of Crivitz. This legislative session he serves as chair of the Forestry, Parks, and Outdoor Recreation Committee, as well as sitting on the Agriculture, Education, Sporting Heritage, and Tourism Committees.

State Senate Vice-Chairperson – Senator Brad Pfaff (D-Onalaska) is serving his first term in the Wisconsin State Senate. He previously served in senior positions with the US Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency in the Obama Administration, and most recently as the Secretary-designee of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. He currently sits on the Agriculture and Tourism, Economic Development and Technical Colleges, Insurance and Small Business, Transportation and Local Government, and Utilities and Technology Committees.

State Senate Assembly Vice -Chairperson – Representative Lee Snodgrass (D-Appleton) was elected to the State Assembly in 2020 and currently serves in leadership as Minority Caucus Sergeant at Arms. Rep. Snodgrass sits on the Campaigns and Elections, Children and Families, Forestry, Parks and Outdoor Recreation, and Jobs, Economy, and Small Business Development Committees.