Office: (608) 237-9135 Toll Free: (888) 534-0035

Rep.Callahan@legis.wi.gov P.O. Box 8952 Madison, WI 53708-8952

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Rep. Calvin Callahan

April 19, 2023 (608) 237-9135

## Rep. Callahan Celebrates Passage of Loyalty Day Resolution

The proposal now heads to the State Senate for their consideration

[Madison, WI] – During Tuesday's State Assembly Floor Session, the legislative body passed <u>Assembly Joint Resolution (AJR) 27</u>, introduced by State Representative Calvin Callahan (R-Tomahawk), which recognizes May 1<sup>st</sup> as Loyalty Day in Wisconsin. Loyalty Day, which has been celebrated since 1921, was recognized by Congress in 1955, and made an official holiday in 1958. A presidential proclamation has been issued each year by every president since President Eisenhower, regardless of his political party.

"I was proud to bring forward a resolution that honors our heritage of American freedom and those who fought and died for it," stated Rep. Callahan. "The purpose of Loyalty Day is for each and every American to reaffirm their allegiance to our country, something I believe is important for us to do. In school, before our committee meetings, and before a sporting event, we often say the Pledge of Allegiance, but we rarely think about what we're saying or why we're saying it. I encourage all Wisconsinites to take the time to do so this Loyalty Day.

Each year the Wisconsin Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) selects a city in Wisconsin to host the annual Loyalty Day parade and celebration. This year, the 35<sup>th</sup> Assembly District's own Merrill has the honor of hosting the event on Saturday, April 29<sup>th</sup> with the parade stepping off at 10:30am. This year's theme is 'Loyalty – The Path Forward.'

"We owe a great debt to those who fought to protect the freedoms we have today," continued Rep. Callahan. "While we, unfortunately, can never fully repay that debt, we can ensure that their sacrifices were not in vain. We will continue to preserve the great American legacy of freedom for generations to come."

###

The 35<sup>th</sup> Assembly District includes all of Lincoln and Langlade Counties, as well as portions of Marathon, Oconto, Oneida, and Shawano Counties.