STATE REPRESENTATIVE • ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 35

(608) 266-7694 Toll- Free (888) 534-0035

Rep.Callahan@legis.wi.gov P.O. Box 8952 Madison, WI 53708-8952

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Rep. Calvin Callahan

January 13, 2021 (608) 266-7694

## Rep. Callahan Calls for WI DNR to Immediately Initiate Wisconsin Wolf Hunt

Governor Evers' administration has failed the sportsmen of Wisconsin

[Madison, WI] – State Representative Calvin Callahan (R-Tomahawk) is calling on the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to initiate the state's wolf hunt. The Northwoods state representative participated in Wednesday's Joint Informational Hearing regarding the process of reinstating the annual wolf harvesting season.

"The actions or lack thereof by Governor Tony Evers' Department of Natural Resources are extremely disgraceful," stated Rep. Callahan. "In addition to not even showing up to hear the concerns of Wisconsinites, the department's written testimony was unprofessionally submitted to committee members five minutes before the committee meeting was scheduled to begin."

It was announced that the gray wolf would be delisted from the federal endangered species list on November 3, 2020. This change then took effect on January 4, 2021. Following, the Wisconsin DNR was required by 2011 Act 169 to establish an annual wolf harvesting season that runs from October 15<sup>th</sup> to the last day of February. As of yet, the department has not done so.

"The department's excuses in its written testimony are shameful and came off disparaging," continued Rep. Callahan. "The department has had plenty of time to develop harvest quotas, provide and process public applications for hunting licenses, and, furthermore, address concerns about the sustainability of the wolf population in Wisconsin. By not immediately holding the annual wolf hunt this year, Governor Evers and his DNR are blatantly ignoring state statute."

###

The 35<sup>th</sup> Assembly District includes all of Lincoln County and portions of Langlade, Marathon, Oneida, and Shawano Counties.