

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 4, 2023

County Land Conservation Committee Membership Bill Signed into Law

Contact: Rep. Ellen Schutt

(608) 237-9131

Madison, WI – State law will now guarantee that farmers are represented on county land conservation committees following today's signing of a bill authored by Representative Ellen Schutt (R-Clinton).

"Farmers are our land's greatest stewards," said Schutt. "It was essential to ensure Wisconsin farmers have a seat at the table when important policy decisions relating to water and land conservation and use are being decided."

In November 2021, a USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) attorney made a determination that FSA county commission members in Wisconsin cannot represent the FSA in any official capacity in any "outside groups", including the county land conservation committee. This bill removes the FSA requirement and instead, allows a county board to appoint any person who is engaged in an agricultural use.

"As a person that grew up on a farm, and continues to be involved in agriculture related activities, and as a representative of a largely rural district, I understood the need for eliminating this uncertainty, and allowing for real representation from the agriculture community."

This is Representative Schutt's first bill to be signed into law since taking office in January.

###

The 31st Assembly District includes the City of Elkhorn, portions of the Cities of Beloit, and Whitewater, the Villages of Clinton and Darien, the Towns of Bradford, Clinton, Johnstown, La Prairie, Turtle, Darien, Lafayette, La Grange, Richmond, Spring Prairie, Sugar Creek, and Whitewater, and portions of the Town of Beloit.