



STATE REPRESENTATIVE • 26th Assembly District

Phone: (608) 266-0656 Toll-Free: (888) 529-0026 **Rep.Katsma@legis.wi.gov**

P.O. Box 8952 Madison, WI 53708-8952

For Immediate Release January 7, 2019

Contact: Rep. Terry Katsma (608) 266-0656

Rep. Katsma Begins Third Term in State Legislature

Madison—Representative Terry Katsma (R–Oostburg) has begun serving his third two-year term representing Wisconsin's 26th Assembly District in the state legislature.

"I am honored that the people of Sheboygan County have chosen me again to be their voice," said Rep. Katsma. "Their needs and their issues continue to be my highest priority."

Rep. Katsma took the oath of office in the Assembly chambers of the State Capitol this afternoon at the official commencement of the 104th Wisconsin State Legislature.

"Wisconsin's future has never looked brighter," said Rep. Katsma. "Our economy is the strongest it has been in decades. Our people's tax burden—the share of their income that they pay in state and local taxes—is the lowest it's been in nearly 50 years. Our government is entering 2019 with a budget surplus and a healthy rainy day fund. We have been moving steadily in the right direction, and I am eager to keep building on these successes in the upcoming session. I have worked across the aisle on many occasions to move past politics and find solutions that the people of Wisconsin pay us to find; I am committed to working with all my legislative colleagues and the new administration to keep doing exactly that."

Rep. Katsma was first elected to the State Assembly in 2014. In the 2019-20 legislative session, he will serve on the state's budget-writing Joint Finance Committee and will continue serving as a member of the Assembly Financial Institutions Committee. His private-sector experience prior to government service includes more than 30 years in senior positions in the banking industry.

###

Representative Terry Katsma represents the 26th Assembly District including the cities of Sheboygan and Sheboygan Falls; the villages of Adell, Oostburg, Random Lake and Cedar Grove; and the towns of Lima, Holland, Sherman and Wilson.