

P.O. Box 8953 Madison, WI 53708-8953

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Rep. Paul Melotik October 17, 2023 (608) 237-9124

24th Assembly District First Responder of the Year: Carol Barthel

Madison – State Representative Paul Melotik (R-Grafton) presented Southern Ozaukee Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department Emergency Medical Technician Carol Barthel with the <u>2023 "First Responder of the Year" award</u> during the Assembly floor session on Tuesday. The state Assembly honored Carol in a public ceremony with other recipients from across the state.

"Carol embodies all the qualities that come to mind when one thinks of a First Responder: compassion, bravery, and earnestness," Rep. Melotik said. "Mequon, and Wisconsin as a whole, are better off because of her commitment."

Carol started in 1981 as an EMT with the Mequon Ambulance Service that provided emergency medical care to the City of Mequon. As Carol's career progressed, she was promoted to the position of Assistant Ambulance Director in 1992 and served in that position for 18 years until Mequon Ambulance and the Mequon Fire Department merged in 2010.

Carol continued serving as an EMT-Advanced for the Mequon Fire department for 13 years. In January 2023, the Mequon Fire Department and the Thiensville Fire Department consolidated creating the Southern Ozaukee Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department. Carol continued dedicating her time as an EMT until her retirement in July of 2023 after 42 years of distinguished service.

"Wisconsin's first responders are some of the best among us," Rep. Melotik concluded. "While others run from danger, they run towards it with open arms ready to help."

The "First Responder of the Year" award was created in 2019 to recognize the brave men and women who serve in our emergency services. State representatives from each legislative district seek nominations from their communities and select one individual who best exemplifies community service, selflessness and dedication. The list of recipients from this year included dispatchers, police officers, sheriff's deputies, firefighters, and all levels of EMS personnel.

Along with providing each award recipient with a legislative citation recognizing their achievement, the state Assembly also passed a resolution declaring October 17th First Responders Appreciation Day.





State Representative • 24^{th} Assembly District

P.O. Box 8953 Madison, WI 53708-8953



Left, Carol Barthel is pictured with Representative Paul Melotik. Carol was recognized as District 24's First Responder of the Year award.

###

