Election Integrity Bills – VETOED


Earlier this week, Governor Evers vetoed seven bills passed by the Republican Legislature that are aimed at ensuring fair and secure elections in Wisconsin. See below for the list of bills. If you would like more information, click on the bill number or send my office an email – we would be happy to answer your questions.


Bills vetoed by Governor Evers on Tuesday, August 10, 2021:

  • AB 170: Relating to election observers and providing a penalty.
  • AB 173: Relating to private resources used for election administration, appointment of election officials, and providing a penalty.
  • AB 179: Relating to absentee voting in certain residential care facilities and retirement homes and providing a penalty.
  • AB 192: Relating to the secure delivery of absentee ballots and providing a penalty.
  • AB 198: Relating to defects on absentee ballot certificates, certain kinds of election fraud, and providing a penalty.
  • AB 201: Relating to absentee ballot applications, unsolicited mailing or transmission of absentee ballot applications and absentee ballots, canvassing absentee ballots, electronic voter registration, and providing a penalty.
  • AB 271: Relating to broadcasting election night proceedings.


Every 10 years, the district maps for Congressional, State Senate, and State Assembly seats are redrawn through a process called Redistricting. The Assembly and Senate will pass legislation in the coming months that will include the new maps for the next decade. That process began this week after receiving the 2020 Census data.


If you would like to see how this process is done or participate in the process by creating a statewide map, regional plan, or community of interest, click on the graphic below. There you will be directed to three different websites that allow anyone to create district maps and gain an understanding as to how the process actually works. The Draw Your District Wisconsin website also allows you to submit your maps to the Legislature for our consideration. Maps may be submitted to the Legislature from September 1, 2021 through October 15, 2021.


Don’t Miss These In-District Events!