FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                                                                                      March 9, 2020

Contact: Representative Ron Tusler (608) 266-5831

Calumet County Receives Second Circuit Court Judge

After 20 years of waiting, Calumet County Awarded Second Circuit Court Branch

Madison, WI – Representative Tusler (R – Harrison) was pleased to see the Director of State Courts announce that Calumet County will receive an additional Circuit Court Branch. This announcement came less than a week after Governor Evers signed Assembly Bill 470, authored by Representative Tusler, which adds 12 new circuit court branches across the state: four in 2021, four in 2022, and four in 2023.

“Calumet County has been ready for a second judge for over two decades,” said Representative Tusler. “The county built a second courtroom in 1997, and it has been sitting empty, collecting dust ever since.”

Calumet County, a one-judge county, has seen more than a 40 percent increase in criminal case filings from 2015 to 2018 and heroin and methamphetamine referrals have nearly tripled, according to the Calumet County District Attorney.

“With the second highest population growth in Wisconsin, Calumet County has desperately needed of a second judge for years. Other counties across Wisconsin with smaller populations already have numerous circuit court branches, but until today, Calumet County only had one. Today’s announcement will align Calumet County with other counties throughout Wisconsin and help ease caseload backlogs in Calumet County,” added Representative Tusler.

“I authored this legislation because too many of my constituents in Calumet County oftentimes had to wait months to see their day in court,” said Representative Tusler. “This legislation has been my top priority this session, and I am proud to see the benefits a second judge will have on Calumet County.

Ron Tusler represents Wisconsin’s 3rd Assembly District which covers portions Calumet and Outagamie Counties.