

NANCY VANDERMEER

STATE REPRESENTATIVE • 70TH ASSEMBLY DISTRICT

For Immediate Release: November 8, 2019 Contact: Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (608) 266-8366

VanderMeer's Mental Health Coalition Legislation Passes Assembly

Legislation part of Suicide Prevention Package put together by Speaker's Task Force on Suicide Prevention

Madison – During yesterday's floor session the state Assembly passed a number of bills brought forward by the Speaker's Task Force on Suicide Prevention. Representative Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah) served on the task force and authored one of the bills brought forward by the committee that was passed. Assembly Bill 530, relating to grants for suicide prevention programming, was passed via voice vote.

Following passage of the Suicide Prevention Package, Representative VanderMeer released the following statement:

"I'm extremely pleased that we were able to pass my bill to help local mental health organizations with suicide prevention programming. I'm especially happy that the Monroe County Mental Health Coalition was able to serve as an example of the types of organizations this legislation aims to assist. Members of the local coalition were instrumental in ushering the legislation forward, and I'm grateful that a number of coalition members made time to come to Madison last month to offer their input and expertise.

"I was also happy to support a number of other bills that were brought forward by the Speaker's Task Force on Suicide Prevention today. The legislation will help students, families, and farmers prevent and address suicide prevention issues throughout the state. I'd like to offer my sincere gratitude to everyone that made time to offer their input and expertise to the task force this year as we held hearings across the state. I'd also like to thank my legislative task force colleagues, especially Chair Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) and Vice Chair Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska) for their efforts. It was a privilege to serve on the task force and help call attention to and address this very serious issue."

###
The 70th Assembly District includes portions of Monroe, Jackson, Portage and Wood counties.